We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who Knew?!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Charles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Cape Charles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
“Who Knew?!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I'm not really one to remember details, so it would be impossible for me to write about the million little details that made our Cape Charles House stay so perfect.

We felt right at home when we arrived... well, except that our home is nowhere near as clean and we didn't have our mile-long to-do list in tow. Bruce & Carol greeted us with a warm, inviting smile and showed us to our room. They even gave us a complimentary upgrade, as Bruce assured me he could tell I would be his favorite that weekend. ;-) He probably says that to all the guests, but I certainly felt special.

We spent a lot of time exploring the town - we walked everywhere because everything was very close. We attended a wedding, so our time in the house was short on the first day. On the morning of our departure, we lounged on the gorgeous front porch, coffee-in-hand. Carol made muffins from scratch - I've never had a muffin so delicious in my life?! She is quite the chef. I'd like to go back just for breakfast.

Robert and I got engaged just a few days after our stay at Cape Charles House. We look forward to coming back for a small-town weekend together.

Room Tip: Whatever Bruce & Carol recommend: you can trust them. There isn't a bad room in the house. J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimElizabethHolloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
196
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our second visit to the Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast was just as pleasant as the first. The Julia Wilkins room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The flower beds were lovingly tended. The breakfasts were filling and delicious and often included fresh herbs from the herb garden. Bruce and Carol were the most gracious hosts and made us feel like family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasualObserverMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had a wonderful & relaxing three day stay in the Julia Wilkins room! Breakfast was delicious & added treat of wine & cheese in the evening! Carol & Bruce made us feel very comfortable & suggested points of interest in the area. Would love to visit again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

From the moment we arrived until the time we left we felt like family. We were in Cape Charles all weekend for a wedding and really enjoyed relaxing between functions whether sitting on the front porch with a glass of wine or in the den with soothing music. The food was exceptional and the rooms were cozy. Bruce and Carol really understand how to treat their guest. Breakfast was perfect and it allowed for a nice opportunity to meet the other guest. Stay, relax, and enjoy you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We felt like members of the family. It was a beautiful house and the food was incredible! I would recommend The Cape Charles House to any and everyone!
To recap: Great people, great food, great house, and a great atmosphere...stay here every time you visit Cape Charles!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

House is comfie and quiet, breakfast exceptional, and Carol and Bruce more than accommodating to any need, including secure parking for my boat on trailer at the house they also own across the street.

Room Tip: As far as I could see all the rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H Turney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a wonderful time! Bruce and Carol were great! The food was wonderful as were the rooms. We are "cat people" and we loved hearing the interesting story of how they got their very nice cat. Bruce and Carol helped enhance our stay by making recommendations of places to eat and places to see. A nice Bed and Breakfast in a nice historic town.

Room Tip: We stayed in the smallest room and it was fine for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurajt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Charles
4.4 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#3 of 7 in Cape Charles
168 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
85 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
153 reviews
20.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
24.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 645 Tazewell Ave, Cape Charles, VA 23310-3313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recepients of the Governor's Award and as seen on HGTV. Escape to romance and comfortable elegance in a small Victorian town on the Chesapeake Bay where you can enjoy beach fun by day and stunning sunsets in the evening.Guest rooms with sitting areas, individual climate control, private bathrooms, some with Jacuzzi. Afternoon wine-down with handcrafted Boursin cheese, sumptious gourmet breakfasts. Rent a golf cart to discover quaint shops, town harbor, galleries and restaurants. Visit near-by boutique wineries and taste their award winning wines. For the more adventurous, consider a wine tour by kayak. Discover the tucked away gardens of Eyre Hall, beleived to be the oldest coutinuously maintained garden in Virginia. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing