We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Carrollton Smithfield
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrollton
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Booked a room at this hotel during the holidays and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. The rate was reasonable, the rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly. The location of the hotel is great, there were many things to do within close proximity. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ria2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickP739, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Carrollton Smithfield, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your holiday visit! We appreciate your business and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff will continue to work hard to meet the expectations of our future guests. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Carrollton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    9
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
5
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I have stayed at this Econo Lodge numerous times. They went through a remodel recently and I happened to stay in the lodge during this time. It was awful. Workers started at 8am on a Sunday morning. I turned on the a/c and the insulation from outside blew into my room. I reported all of this to management. I decided I would give them another try since previous visits were ok. The remodel had been done so it was back to a pleasant stay. Its not the Hyatt, but its cheap (during off season, rates are too high during the summer in my opinion for what you get.\) and it's near where I am visiting. I most likely will be back if rates stay low.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Summerandschera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickP739, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Carrollton Smithfield, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We really appreciate that you decided to give us another chance after the cosmetic remodeling and hope you do return again to enjoy the new room updates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surry
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a night out. Staff was friendly. Must have chosen the perfect night, very peaceful. Had a great stay! Had stayed in the hotel years before renovation. Renovation was well worth it. Really enjoyed the stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickP739, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Carrollton Smithfield, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay and hope to keep up to our new standards as we continue to update the property. Thank you and hope you visit us again Mr. Brown!

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, DE
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Mr. Patel is the owner and shift manager's name is Rich. They will work with you and really go above and beyond to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The hotel cleaning staff are nice people and they clean and maintain the rooms well. The hotel was recently being renovated during my stay. However, I did not mind the inconvenience because it was clean, quiet and, most of all a safe place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickP739, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Carrollton Smithfield, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Venus, it was our pleasure having you stay with us throughout our renovations. We have just about completed the cosmetic phase and taken care of any issues that arose from our remodeling. I hope everything is going well with you and look forward to your next visit with us!

Nick Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bumpass, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Congenial managers and workers. This hotel is being renovated and I hope these minor problem will be corrected.
1. The assist handle on the wall in the shower was broken
2. Kleenex box holder was broken
3. The door locks to the hotel building are broken, individual room lock worked fine.
4. Extremely noisy neighbors

Room Tip: Hotel end rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickP739, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Carrollton Smithfield, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We enjoyed having you stay at our hotel and apologize for your inconvenience. You should be informed that we have taken care of all of the maintenance issues. We appreciate having you stay with us regularly and hope you will appreciate the changes we've made since your last visit. Paul, as always, if there is anything we can do to better your stay please let me know.

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were taking a drive down to NC through this town and the only other option for us to stay at was the Hampton in town, but rather than paying $125 we decided to take a look at this Econo Lodge. It's about a mile down from the actual town, but the staff seemed to be pretty friendly and we were told that this was under new management so we decided to take a look at one of the rooms and the gentleman showed us a standard double room and had given us a free upgrade to a Suite room for $55! so we figured it was worth saving half out money for a one night stay and I have to say it was pretty clean and the staff was really nice. There weren't as much options with their continental breakfast, but it sure was better than nothing! Everything seemed to work just fine in the room. This place was a bit nicer than most Econo Lodges we've came across. Would definitely consider staying here again.

-George

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickP739, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Carrollton Smithfield, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our apologies for our limited breakfast options, we try and serve as much as we can for a 'continental breakfast'. Our staff tries their best to make each of our guests feel at home. It was a pleasure having you and your wife stay with us and we hope you do come stay with us again!

Nick Patel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old VIRGINIA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This motel was convenient to us, as we crossed the James River Bridge after 9pm and wanted to rest for the night before continuing our trip to Portsmouth the next morning. Check-in was pleasant, friendly young lady anxious to please, put us in ground floor, close to entrance as requested.

Room was clean, fresh, the usual toiletries and better-than-usual bath towels. Only complaint I have is, NO HAIR DRYER in the room. Next morning, I asked the morning lady at the front desk about borrowing one for my wife, she rolled her eyes back, blurted out, "That'll be a $5 deposit." I travel on a credit card so all the cash I had was $2 bills that I keep for tips. I offered this woman three $2 bills to hold as deposit, and she refused - said $5 - nothing else. How do you reason with a belligerent woman who cannot figure simple math? My wife left without a bath.

Continental breakfast was minimal as any I have seen, even for Econo Lodge.

I will probably try somewhere else next time. I like to keep my wife satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1oldseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickP739, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Carrollton Smithfield, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and apologize for the hair dryer incident. The Econo Lodge is now under new management and ownership. We agree with your troubles and removed the deposit and plan to have them in each room. Since your stay with us we have gone under drastic remodeling inside and out. We have repaired, textured, and repainted all of our rooms and corridors with accent walls, replaced our bathroom vinyl with ceramic tiles, new towel shelves, replaced the old vanities and sinks with new white tiger granite vanities, replaced the old carpet and rubber molding with wooden crown molding, removed all of the old landscaping and replaced it with new bushes and flowers with palm trees and mulch, and lastly we are changing our exterior vinyl siding to stucco w/stone veneer. We plan to replace our mattresses, carpet and furniture later this summer. We are trying our best to surpass all of our guest's expectations by offering great service and a comfortable stay at an affordable price. Please do visit us again to give us another chance and you may contact me directly for a personal tour and a 100% satisfaction guarantee during your next visit.

Nick Patel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrollton
4.0 mi away
Smithfield Station
Smithfield Station
#1 of 2 in Smithfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Smithfield
9.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Suffolk-Chesapeake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport News (Oyster Point)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Carrollton Smithfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Carrollton Smithfield

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Carrollton Smithfield
Address: 20080 Brewers Neck Blvd, Carrollton, VA 23314-9707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Carrollton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrollton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Carrollton Smithfield 1.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Carrollton hotel near historic downtown Smithfield. Enjoy affordable rates in a convenient location when choosing the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites(R) in Carrollton, VA. Our pet-friendly hotel is ideally located two miles from downtown Smithfield near many area points of interest, which include: St. Luke's Church, Smithfield Foods, Smithfield Packing, Fort Boykin Historic Park, Smithfield Cultural Arts Center, Smithfield Old Town Walking Tour, Windsor Castle Park, Chippokes Plantation State Park, and Downtown Hampton. Get refreshed in our inviting guest rooms, all of which feature expanded cable television channels along with microwaves and refrigerators. Additional amenities include: Free Wireless High-Speed Internet Access, Free Local Calls, Free Continental Breakfast, Free Coffee, Guest Laundry Facilities, Fitness Center, Truck Parking, Efficiency Rooms Available, and Whirlpool Rooms Available. Take care of basic business needs with access to fax services, and for added convenience, guest laundry facilities are available on site. This Econo Lodge Inn & Suites hotel cares about the environment and has taken active steps to support green hotel practices.Make your reservation today at the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Carrollton Smithfield hotel for a memorable stay in a great location, all at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Carrollton Smithfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Carrollton
Carrollton Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing