We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only go at night or for football games” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of AJ Gators

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
AJ Gators
Ranked #9 of 20 Restaurants in Carrollton
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only go at night or for football games”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I would never dine here during the day. I only go to watch football games that aren't on local channels. Food is OK, as are the drinks. No reason to go other than the football games.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank burghtobama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    6
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
350 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“"We had to eat somewhere!"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

My husband and I were on our way to visit family in Hampton, Virginia and was looking for somewhere to eat dinner before we crossed the James River Bridge. We saw AJ Gators on the side of the road and decided to pull in. We had a nice waitress, Jennifer, to take our order. We ordered a couple of draft beers along with the Turkey Melt and the Philly Steak with potato salad.
The sandwich was good but the salad lacked any taste at all! It was late and we were so hungry that the meal probably tasted better than it actually was...it was just convenient!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaNurse323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Alabama
Level Contributor
116 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice sports bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Overall very good. I liked the wings. The service was good and price wasnt bad. Nothing amazing but a good solid dinner

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Len C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
28465
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Whos running the place?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We live nearby and often eat Sunday lunch there to watch sports. Good food, and reasonable service. 3/10/13 we went with 5 adults and 2 children. There are often coupons in the local Smithfield Times, "BOGO" . . of course you have to buy a soft drink, which makes some money back for them. We stopped at a 7-11 to get a paper for the coupon, We did, clipped it out and ordered or food and presented the coupon to the waitress. She stated (correctly) that it was out of date. The coupon was out of date before the paper was published!!! She checked with someone and they agreed to honor the coupon. But, our food was not what we were accustomed to in the past. Their servings are usually generous, but my wife's turkey & bacon melt was pitiful. One slice of bacon, and barely any turkey. MY philly steak sandwich was more meager than usual and the bun was burnt badly. Our granddaughter's PBJ toast was burnt, and there were other things really, really, bad. Where they retaliating for our coupon????

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Padre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, VA
Level Contributor
210 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Mixed Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

The wine queen and I have some sort of dinner at AJ once or twice a month. And not because it's great, it's not. It's just that the Smithfield area lacks enough suitable variety for us. Let's face it, it's a sports bar, not a nice dinner venue. The staff are courteous enough. The food is decent. Not great. Never had a bad meal. If they serve something that you typically like, you will probably be satisfied with it at AJ. I especially like the wings. They have a wide variety of sauces, from mild to blistering hot, sweet, etc. But I tend to prefer the wings with Old Bay seasoning on them. A plate of 10 is reasonably priced, and they have specials from time to time. They also have some pretty good subs, salads, etc. I've found the ribs to be decent. They have several good sandwiches.

But again, it's a sports bar. It's noisy. And they sometimes seem to be understaffed. The good news is that while you are waiting, there are lots of TV channels to choose from.

And the AJ Gator beer is decent ... and cost less than most other selections as I recall.

Be patient with the staff, and they will take good care of you.

PS: They also have a separate smoking side with pool tables and it's own bar, etc. One of the few places in the area that I am aware of.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Big-Deeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AJ Gators also viewed

 

Been to AJ Gators? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing