We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip back in history”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shirley Plantation

Shirley Plantation
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
Electric Bike Tour to Shirley Plantation and Wine Tasting
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Shirley Plantation is Virginia's first plantation, founded in 1613 as a land grant from King James of England. Shirley is North America's oldest family owned business and home to eleven generations of the Hill-Carter family. Admission fee. Please check our web site for details on our daily hours as they vary seasonally.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Trip back in history”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I visited this plantation in May, 2014. The woman who guided us through the great house was extremely well informed, gracious and eager to share the history of the plantation. It was time well spent!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Conniethemagni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    89
    18
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Indiana
Level Contributor
536 reviews
311 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“"Gone with the Wind" type entrance to this historic home!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A beautiful tree lined entrance will bring you to this plantation. Many out buildings you can explore on your own but check out the house first. A wonderful well constructed house that has been lived in by the Hill- Carter family's for centuries and still is to this day. The house was used in different ways in both the revolutionary and civil wars. We had an excellent guide take us through the house which was home to a young Robert E. Lee! Many great family's were entertained here, the Washington's,Tyler's,Lee's and Harrison's to name a few. Beautiful setting with the James river in back of the house. It's a little out of the way but well worth your time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank terrsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wasington, dc
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I really enjoyed this tour”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The tour guide (Cheyenne) was terrific. The house and the grounds are beautiful, and the tour was informative and an easy 30 minutes.

I have been on plantation tours in Louisiana that I thought were a bad experience. The homeowners provided a revisionist history that omitted slavery. So, I was hesitant to go see another pretty house. But, I thought there was a lot to learn here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank removeyourshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsburg virginia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent site to visit”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I live in Williamsburg and after 6 years just visited Shirley Planation. It is a beautiful site with a lot of history. There is ample parking. You will need a tour to see the Great House. The farm remains a working farm with heirs to the home as current residents. The House is the first planation in the U.S. and survived several wars, the depression and remains in tact. A wonderful visit! Entrance fee is reasonable. There are several good restaurants in nearby Charles City. A very nice day trip. Parking is ample.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“awful, awful, awful”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Ok, here's what you DON'T get on this tour: Any context to the geographic area; Insight into the outer buildings or grounds; details regarding history, save for the fact the family was home when Union forces trampled through; details regarding the furniture or architecture.
What you do get: SOME of the names of 11 generations of Carters, and the guide didn't even mention the family connection to the Harrisons next door. And she asked for tips. . .
Do yourself a favor and spend your money at Berkeley.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Dona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shirley Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Shirley Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing