We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping with ghosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edgewood Plantation
Ranked #2 of 6 Charles City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I had charming encounter at Edgewood Plantation. No, we didn't get woken by ghosts; we had the opportunity to meet owners Dot and Julien and experience what life could have been in a modest 7000 sq ft 4 story home with 10 fireplaces and slave quarters. Dot is very gracious and entertaining. We had lots of laughs (over a delicious big breakfast) listening to her spooky ghosts stories. Quiet, comfortable, thoroughly enjoyable, treat yourselves to a memorable and very reasonably priced stay!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kandilandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our Memorial Day weekend couldnt have been spent in a more unique and heartwarming place. This was the most wonderful Bed and Breakfast I have ever stayed at. The hostess, Dot was so charming and friendly. She made the stay even better. You feel like you have known her forever and have made a friend forever. She is wonderful..

Room Tip: Any room you choose is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This incredible B&B is an attraction on its own right! As soon as you step into this house (which is classed as historical, by the way!) you literally do not know where to look at! It is crowded with any sorts of antique objects (dolls, paintings, clothes, cutlery, china, chandeliers ..... you name it, you see it) collected by the owners over 30 years' time. The rooms, each one of them different, are crowded with the same kind of objects (plus four-posted antique beds). After having taken yout time exporing the house, don't forget you are here because you wanted to visit the plantations nearby!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgialdini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

One of the most unique and charming B and B experiences lies in the historic plantation area of Virginia. Just a short drive from Williamsburg this museum quality experience features Americana memorabilia and fashions ; beautifully displayed silver, china and flub dubs from past eras. The welcome is warm and sincere. In the architecturally rare double drawing room is a piano the owner found in a junk store for $25. It is a story worthy of the attention of focused antique seekers. The rooms are vintage and you feel like you are living in another century. For the historic minded this is a treasure.

Room Tip: All the rooms are shown on the website. But the best room is the "Lizzie Room" which featu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mkrevsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Very cozy and comfortable. I grew up in the area and have always loved the house. Now it's my 'home away from home' when I visit. Large rooms, comfortable beds, delicious breakfasts and charming and helpful hosts. We stayed for 4 nights and always looked forward to coming home and to getting up for breakfast and chatting with Dot and Julian and Candy about all the goings-on up and down the river.

Room Tip: Lizzie's Room has a big bathroom and closet space. JEB Stuart's room is great for men.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

First I am sorry it has taken me so long to write this review but i guess better late than never. Last October my now wife and I were married at Edgewood Plantation, my wife had found it online and we both liked what we saw so she called. I must say that one call was enough to sell us on Edgewood, Dot was immediately helpful and answered all of my wifes questions, once we decided to go with Edgewood, Dot was even more amazing than we could have hoped. We lived at the time in Pennsylvania over 400 miles from this location so we relied on Dot alot almost as a mini wedding planner. We discussed with Dot as to who was a good caterer and she gave us the name of one which ended up being the one we used (even without tasting the food first) and let me just say that their food was unbelievable.
Now as far as the grounds of the plantation We found it to be beautiful and was the perfect setting for our wedding, the old trees and the old mill is really a cool sight. On a historical note the mill was started by a signer of the Declaration of Independence. The inside of the house is full of antiques and each room is decorated in a way that you find yourself constantly looking to see what is displayed. I personally did not stay at the B&B but my wife did the night before our wedding and she said that the rooms were very comfortable and that the Breakfast that Dot made was great!
In closing I will just say that Dot and Julian are two of the most amazing and real people we have ever met and the plantation is one of the most amazing Estates I have ever seen, without her we would not have been able to plan our wedding and thanks to her and all of her work it was a amazing day!
It is well worth stopping by and staying at this amazing property and not just for the history and comfort but also for the genuine people you share company with.

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harleyrider78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Our two night stay was very interesting and enjoyable. We were met by Dot upon arrival and served a cold drink along with a very interesting history of her and her husband's acquisition and ownership of the property. During our stay we had the opportunity to walk the grounds, visit Julian's (Dot's husband) "workshop" out back, and since we arrived a little early in the day, all of the rooms available. The entire property is almost more a museum than a bed and breakfast. Every room is filled with antiques and curiosities that simply beg to be looked at and enjoyed. In talking with Dot and Julian you quickly determine that the furnishing of the house was and continues to be a labor of love and you feel privileged that they share it with you.
Now to the bed and breakfast part - we stayed in Jeb Stuart's room. I know that some people would find the room a bit "cluttered" and the bathroom a little small, but that is part of the charm. We had plenty of room to store our stuff and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast both mornings was delicious and we had the pleasure of Dot's company and more great stories both mornings. We even got to hear all about the ghosts. We had not experiences (thankfully) but loved the stories.
The property is located right across the street from the start of an open portion of the Capital City Bike Trail (about 7 miles). We had our bikes with us and enjoyed an amazing bike ride that tracks along Route 5. This will be a great location when the entire trail is open. Great 2 days, gracious hosts, good location and delicious breakfasts. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Edgewood Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewood Plantation

Address: 4800 John Tyler Memorial Hwy, Charles City, VA 23030-3300
Region: United States > Virginia > Charles City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles City
Price Range: £133 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewood Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the oldest Highway in the U.S., Edgewood's third floor was used during the Civil War as a lookout post for Confederate generals when they were camped at nearby Berkeley Plantation. The estate also includes the 1725 Benjamin Harris Grist Mill, which ground corn for both the Union and Confederate armies. On June 15, 1862, Confederate General J.E.B. Stuart stopped at Edgewood for coffee on his way to Richmond to warn General Robert E. Lee of the Union Army's strength.Transformed into a beautiful, functioning bed and breakfast, you will enjoy wine and cheese upon arrival. Guided tours, weddings, fireplaces in your room, teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Edgewood Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing