We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
North Bend Plantation
Nearby Hotels
US$128
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$157
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
29
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmagnolia roomsalt poolcivil war historyhistoric propertyjames riverwafflesbed and breakfastoverlandcomfortwilliamsburgvirginia
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband and I attended a wedding in the area and stayed at North Bend Plantation. What a beautiful place! The house is comfortable, and full of history and antuques. The owner, Ridgely, was delightful, charming and interesting. We also had the opportunity to float in her salt pool, which we loved. I wish we would have had more time to spend another day and really explore the house and all its treasures.

Room Tip: I can only speak for the Rose Room where we stayed--it has a very comfortable bed.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gretchen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Lovingly restored plantation house, beatifully located on the North Bend locality of the James River, in a peaceful farmland setting, far from the madding crowds. The plantation is (and feels like) a home, which has been in the family for generations and is furnished with antiques that are largely family heirlooms. It is full of history but the atmosphere is warm and welcoming, thanks to Ridgeley, the owner. The bedroom (we stayed in the Federal room) are spacious, with plenty of storage and are well furnished. The bathroom was smaller but fine and there was a dressing area opposite. Breakfast was fine and the Ridgeley was happy to accommodate our tastes. We wish we had been able to stay longer to explore more of the house. There is a small price to pay for the peace and tranquility: local restaurants are limited and although there are plenty in Williamsburg and the surrounding area it is a 20 minute+ drive away. The bedroom air conditioning is slightly noisy to the unaccustomed British ear. Watch out for the deer on the approach track to the house if returning at night - they graze in the wheatfields surrounding the plantation.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different as are the beds (one was very high for example) so discuss what best suits you with the owner.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twovass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My wife and I spent one night at North Bend Plantation. It was memorable. We arrived around 4 pm and were greeted at the door by the proprietor, Ridgely Copland and her dog, Rudy. She immediately made us feel welcomed, providing an impromptu tour of the home and its many antiques and curiosities. Many of the antiques have stories, such as the desk / secretary that was used by General Phillip Sheridan during the occupation of North Bend by Federal troops during the Overland Campaign of 1864 (during the War of Northern Aggression). Ridgely is "a character" with a charming tidewater accent and a great outlook on life. The house is nicely furnished throughout with antiques, many of which are original to the first generation that occupied the home. Our room (we stayed in the Federal Room) was spacious and comfortable. The bed was great, with a canopy and crocheted cover. Now understand, this is a home that was built in 1801. Don't expect a Holiday Inn. But the conveniences are there. Our en suite bathroom was freshly redone. The house has wireless and Direct TV. Since we visited during the week between Christmas and New Years, the gas fireplace was lit in our room...offering a nice flickering light as we went to sleep. I was up a little early and visited with Ridgely and Rudy in the capacious kitchen as she prepared breakfast. I had asked for strong coffee and it was ready to go when I came down. The breakfast was to die for (assuming you like a hearty southern breakfast that's not healthy, but sinfully good)...biscuits, country ham, eggs, bacon, sausage and juice...all more than we could eat.

Final thoughts....The house is well down a dirt and gravel lane from the nearest paved road, so it may be a good idea to arrive before dark. Other than that, don't hesitate. North Bend is a treat and Ridgely is a treasure.

Room Tip: Ridgely will advise you. My wife and I are not big people, so we took a room with a queen-size bed. There is a room with a king-size bed if that better fits your needs. The view out all of the rooms is similar...with a bucolic farm setting visible out all windows.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimgaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed at North Bend for a couple nights just before Thanksgiving. We arrived after dark after successfully navigating the Virginia countryside and the long gravel driveway. We were greeted by the owner, Ridgely Copeland, who immediately treated us more like family members than lodgers. The plantation house is full of antiques and history in general and she delighted in showing us all the different rooms and reviewing the long history that went with so many of the books and objects. Once we got settled, we visited for awhile and got a restaurant recommendation and more information than we could hope to remember.

Along with the hospitality, our room was big and well kept up, Breakfasts were ample country breakfasts, served up with the same hospitality.

The North Bend is located about 30 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg and a similar distance from Richmond.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Having no particular plan in place we booked an evening at our new friend Ridely Copeland's home. Didn't realize at the time that we would enjoy ourselves so much we ended up staying another night and wishing we could have stayed longer. Rooms are large and filled with history. Edmund Ruffin's bed, a desk used by General Sheridan. The area and grounds are beautiful. This is plantation country. McClellan headquartered in this area in 1862. Close to Jamestown, Williamsburg, Yorktown. But truly the best part of this house is Ridgely. What a sweet southern lady. Is she chatty? Yes, but that's the fun. And by the way the waffles were excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tshaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews