We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B in Charles City--complete with a Chihuahua!!!”

North Bend Plantation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charles City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Bend Plantation
Ranked #3 of 6 Charles City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Wow! My mom and I just spent two wonderful days at North Bend. We shared the Magnolia Room, a lovely suite with two beds and a private bathroom. The house was just lovely. Mrs. Copland is a very gracious hostess, and she cooked wonderful breakfasts for us. I loved the biscuits and the waffles! You won't need lunch because it is very fillling. Her little chihuahua, Rudy, was also a delightful host, and we really enjoyed him. In fact, I picked this B & B because my mom and I love chihuahuas. Mrs. Copland provided us with all sorts of wonderful info about North Bend and the other plantations along the river. You will have a great time here!!!! We hated to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NanPug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2008

My husband and I stayed two nights at the North Bend Plantation guest house. Ridgeley Copland and her chihuahua Rudy made us feel like family, and kept us laughing. We enjoyed the breakfast, southern style, the other guests were nice, Ridgeley let us use a golf cart to explore, and settled us into the only restaurant in town for dinner. Our room was clean, and the B&B was very quiet.

If you like the B&B experience, you will like North Bend.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bonnie330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2008

We just came back from a weekend of exploring James River Plantations, and I feel compelled to write of my wonderful experience at North Bend. Ridgely Copland is now running the Inn by herself as her husband passed away last fall. You can tell this woman has a love of entertaining and history and family. You are treated just like family once you walk through the doors of North Bend. Each guest room is beautifully and historically appointed, has its own bathroom and is neat and clean. The breakfast was delightful...lots of choices and plenty of everything. In addition to walking the grounds, the hostess permits you to use her golf cart to explore the area. There are 2 screened porches for you and friends to visit in the evenings, along with a swimming pool. Last, but not least, Ridgely hugs all persons as they depart, just like your favorite Aunt did! All in all, a very relaxing, enjoyable stay. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allmy$$gotoNYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2006

We stayed here in 1998 when we married in the area, and we decided to return with our daughter. They were so hospitable. We called at the last minute, and they had space available-a suite which worked really well for us. Ridgely, one of the owners, also let our daughter play with some of the old family dollhouses and tea sets, which was a big hit with our daughter. She cooked an amazing breakfast for us each day. I felt like I was a guest in her home, as opposed to a hotel guest. The pool was also relaxing as well. This is a great place for a getaway, and I would love to return.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pickytravelernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Virginia
13
Reviewed 4 June 2003

Beautuful, peaceful, relaxing. We felt immersed in the history. Our hosts, George & Ridgley Copeland, were the best part. Very warm and caring...interesting conversations. We strolled the colonial farm and land, relaxed in the pool, and thoroughly loved George's waffles!Wished we could have stayed a week.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2003

We stayed at North Bend for several nights in June 2002. It was absolutely the most wonderful experience! George and Ridgely are superb hosts. We felt like we were family being welcomed and pampered at Mama's house. North Bend is so rich in Civil War history, and, unlike the 'don't touch anything' atmosphere at most plantation homes, we were allowed, and absolutely encouraged, to touch and ask questions about anything we saw - from Sheridan's desk to maps to books. Our teenage girls loved all of the old toys and furniture. After leaving North Bend, we had plans to tour other historic homes, but when the girls found out that they would not be allowed to see and touch whatever they wanted, we opted to save our money and bypass the tours. North Bend is truly an unforgettable experience!Roy, Susan, Laura and Leslie Dorsch

3  Thank Stableman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charles City hotels
6.9 mi away
The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill
7.3 mi away
Edgewood Plantation
Edgewood Plantation
#2 of 6 in Charles City
122 reviews
5.9 mi away
Piney Grove at Southall's Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Bend Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Bend Plantation

Address: 12200 Weyanoke Rd, Charles City, VA 23030-3632
Region: United States > Virginia > Charles City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles City
Price Range: £68 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing