We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill
Ranked #1 of 6 Charles City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The B&B's rural location serves its clientelle well in offering a pleasant respite; however, it is not so isolated as to be difficult to reach. We used it as a base for visiting some of the plantations in the county. Now, that I've been there, I would also recommend it for any who may be visiting Williamsburg area attractions. My husband especially enjoyed walking the path past the soybean field, into the woods, and back; I favored the screened back porch. Excellent food (and coffee!), thoughtful gestures (like snacks for traveling), lovely decorated rooms, and just the right mix of friendly conversation and privacy -- all contributed to our enjoyment. So glad I found it while researching our trip to the area!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHGlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

Staying at this charming old farmhouse is a wonderful escape from the stresses of everyday life. The food is great and the owners take a lot of pride in their home and pampering their guests. The claw-foot bathtub is a treat!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The owners were so helpful. Very accomodating in spite of our late arrival Saturday night ~ 10 PM. They had a great full breakfast for my wife and I and 1 other couple the next morning, coffee and tea ready before breakfast, and gave each couple a snack bag after leaving for the day. We enjoyed visiting with them that evening after we had visited Williamsburg, […] Va. The next morning, we had to leave early to catch a flight , so they had breakfast for us (we were the only ones that morning) at 6 AM !! They will always accommodate people's needs for the time of breakfast. Our bedroom and the entire place was charming and beautifulIy decorated. I would highly recommend this place !! If you planning on coming, try to plan early, as the place can only accommodate two families, one family with one bedroom and bathroom, another family can have 1 or 2 bedrooms and share a bathroom. Fully air conditioned. There's a large sitting room downstairs and a screened in porch in the back. The bedrooms are upstairs which was not a problem for us. The owners would carry the luggage up and down if needed. This B & B really lives up to its name; it was a very peaceful place. Located about 20 minutes south of I-64 and 35 minutes west of Williamsburg. We stayed from Sat 7/21 to Mon 7/23 (two nights).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill for one night on our way to visit family. Mike and Tanya were very welcoming. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. For us one of the most enjoyable features was the large screened porch. We enjoyed tea and coffee there while enjoying the beautiful view. Breakfast was delicious, plentiful and served with much care by both Mike and Tanya. They were delightful hosts. We would recommend a stay here for anyone that wants to get away and just relax.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill offered in abundance exactly what the name suggests--Peace. We all, my husband and I and mother-in-law, found it very peaceful and relaxing. Mike and Tanya are excellent hosts---a lovely couple with a knowledge and love of the area. The breakfast was delicious and the rooms clean, charming and very comfortable. Our plan for next time is to stay longer at the B&B at Peace Hill and visit more of Charles City and the other surrounding historical towns, i.e., Jamestown, Yorktown and Williamsburg. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had two rooms for the night we were there. The third room was equally as clean and cozy as our t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bqbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Highly recommended! We stayed two day: friendly folks, clean decorated with beautiful antiques and great breakfast. They have two secluded rooms for relaxing (undisturbed) with enjoying coffee.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank ChrThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

What a wonderful get-away from everyday "craziness." We loved EVERYTHING--the house, the location, the food, and especially the "innkeepers," Mike and Tanya. They made us feel very welcomed from the minute we arrived to the second we left, and they were good company, in between. This is only our 2nd B&B, but will always be a favorite. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles City
15.5 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
608 reviews
15.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
10.4 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North
13.3 mi away
Edgewood Plantation
Edgewood Plantation
#2 of 6 in Charles City
122 reviews
5.0 mi away
Gracefield Hall Bed and Breakfast
Gracefield Hall Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 3 in Providence Forge
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill

Address: 18401 The Glebe Ln, Charles City, VA 23030-3825
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charles City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles City
Price Range: £110 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the perfect place for a getaway whether it be romantic; girls' trip; fathers & sons; families. We pamper our guests and provide a place so peaceful that they tell us they have had the best night's sleep ever. Our breakfasts are full Southern country cuisine and are served right to your table so you can chose your helpings and have seconds - or more. We include hot, delicious biscuits, muffins or scones with each breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing