We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay in Downtown Cville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
200 South Street Inn
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We received a wedding invitation that suggested two hotels in the area. Instead of going with the suggestions, we looked into bed & breakfasts. It was the best decision ever! Though the Omni was more expensive (even with the group rate), our room and experience was so much more of a better value. The very friendly staff offers wine, cheese when we arrived late in the evening. The breakfast was varied and fresh with fruits, packaged yogurts, baked goods, coffee, fresh squeezed OJ, teas, & cereals. Our room was small & tastefully decorated, with a hot tub in the large bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minjuju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

We recently spent two nights here while spending a weekend with our daughter who is a student at UVA. The buildings (a main house and a slightly smaller "cottage") are furnished with antiques and oriental rugs, but feel comfortable and inviting, without the museum feel of some B&Bs. Warm hospitality included freshly-baked cookies, and white wine, cheese and fruit provided in the evening. Off-street parking was very convenient and secure, and staff were quick to respond to any requests (hair dryer, extra blanket). When some families with young children arrived on the second day, the Inn's management surprised us with a free upgrade to a larger room in a quiet area of the main house (equipped with a gas fireplace and a flat panel TV). Free WiFi was provided in both buildings.

Light sleepers may be startled by freight trains passing (very slowly) just beyond the garden fence. The breakfast buffet included excellent homemade scones and a generous variety of coffee cakes, yogurt, fruit, boiled eggs, juices, etc. The main building has a huge terrace along two sides, with rocking chairs and plenty of side tables, as well as garden furniture on the lawn below. It's a relaxing place to enjoy a glass of wine and a nice assortment of cheeses.

There are many restaurants a short walk away, especially along the "downtown mall" which is just two short blocks downhill from the Inn, and the UVA campus is a short drive away. Another good option is the free trolley service (Charlottesville Area Transit, CAT) which runs late into the night during the week, but stops at 5:30 on Sundays. Just across the street is a farm market on Saturday mornings. When not occupied most of the Inn's rooms are left open so that you can enjoy the eclectic collection of paintings, rugs and antique furniture, and the breakfast room includes game tables and a generous assortment of books. The cleaning staff were efficient and friendly but not intrusive, and a broken light switch in our room was quickly repaired.

All in all, this was a very relaxing visit, and we would gladly return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Inn has all the unique qualities one is looking for when staying in Charlottesville. The homemade goodies add a special touch to making the visit worthwhile. Clean rooms, fresh amenities and charming hospitality create the getaway to 200 South Street Inn the right choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We had hoped to stay at an fancy inn nearby but it had no vacancy - they referred us to 200 South Street Inn. What a treat - felt like we lived there - lovely breakfast, casual deck and living room space for meals or chatting - wine and cheese in the evening. Close to everything that we never took our car out except to visit Monticello. Very memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We went there for our anniversary. The staff were casual and friendly; the breakfast was delicious!; the cookies were fresh and never-ending. The room was spacious, well-appointed (not too 'chintzy' like many B&Bs) and clean, and the location was perfect - a minute's walk from the main mall and about 10 minutes' walking from UVA. The price was right too; very reasonable. Only downside (if you are a light sleeper) is that it is right next to the train tracks and they do go by fairly early in the morning. Having grown up in a city I didn't mind, but perhaps some people might.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anothertraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We enjoyed the convenient location of 200 South Street Inn near the pedestrian mall, and the convenient off-street parking. Service was friendly, the atmosphere very welcoming (loved the front porch!) and the breakfast breads delicious.
I almost hate to mention these small things, but in the spirit of continuous improvement make these suggestions: the pillows need replacing, and extra pillows would be appreciated for reading in bed. Our twin beds had flat bottom sheets that, coupled with the flat mattress pads, came untucked and slid around to make a lumpy mess. As others have mentioned, a small table in the bathroom to put personal items would be much appreciated.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This was our second stay at South Street Inn and will stay there if we travel to Ch'ville again. Its location is ideal for food, concerts, and sightseeing. (and we walked to them all) Our room was quaint, very comfortable, and clean. The breakfast had delicious homemade breads and fresh fruit. The staff was very friendly and courteous throughout the weekend. The only downfall was the tv. I didnt mind it, but the men in the group had a difficult time watching the college basketball game becuase of the tv's location in the room. There is a train that comes through a few times a day, but it was not an annoyance to anyone in our group. We like to stay in the cottage, which is next door to the main buidling.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,856 reviews
4.9 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
355 reviews
1.9 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
289 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#3 of 35 in Charlottesville
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 200 South Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 200 South Street Inn

Address: 200 W South St, Charlottesville, VA 22902-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#10 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £117 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 200 South Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200 South Street Inn, centrally located near Thomas Jefferson's Monticello and the University of Virginia, offers southern elegance in Charlottesville's lively historic downtown district two blocks from the Downtown Mall. With sixty restaurants in the immediate vicinity you can't get better convenience. As a Bed and Breakfast, the Inn combines a relaxing, comfortable atmosphere with all the conveniences of an elegant hotel. A stay with us includes homemade cookies upon arrival, wine and artisan cheeses served in the evenings as well as a full breakfast served each morning with fresh baked goods and fresh juices. Rooms feature antique furnishings, fireplaces, private baths, some with whirlpool tubs, and a view of Downtown Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your 200 South Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
200 South Street Hotel Charlottesville
200 South Street Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing