We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Virginia Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
200 South Street Inn
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I was extremely pleased with the location, 2 minutes walk to the Pedestrian Mall with lots of shops and places to eat and only about a 6 minute drive to Monticello, which was the primary reason for my visit. The staff was very personable, the generous continental breakfast a definate cut above the norm (fresh bakery items, fresh squeezed OJ) and the comp wine and cheese made me feel I was getting my money's worth. I especially liked the hard wood floors, period furniture and the mattress was very comfortable. There are some outdoor condition issues, but nothing that detracted from my enjoyment of the visit. There were lots of nooks and porches and chairs to sit in all over the place. Wonderful experience of Virginia hospitality!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
Thank Mildred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

I chose the inn for its location in downtown Charlottesville. I hate having to drive to dinner after a long day of touring, so being two blocks from Charlottesville's pedestrian mall (Charlottesville has closed 10 blocks of Main Street in its historic downtown to traffic) with its unending restaurant choices was perfect. It was also 4 miles and a 10 minute drive to Monticello and Ash Lawn, and within walking distance of UVA.

I'm not a hot cooked breakfast person, so I was more than happy with the continental breakfast -- high quality, homemade products that included breads, cereals, yogurt and fruit. There was also homemade cookies and fruit out all the time, and wine in early evening.

There are lots of tables and chairs on the porch and guests are welcome to take their wine or breakfasts outside or back to their rooms. The porch is nice but the immediate area isn't a picturesque one -- its commercial and has a parking lot in front of it and train tracks behind it. That didn't bother us -- the inn itself, and the general Charlottesville area, are beautiful. The train noise also didn't bother us: we barely heard it in our room when we were awake and didn't hear it at all when we were asleep.

But the best part of the stay was the service. And it wasn't just the usual directions and recommendations, though they did that well. My companion had to conduct business, unexpectedly and quickly, while we were there. The receptionist cheerfully send and received emails and faxes for her. We really can't emphasize how very, very, very good the service was.

Room Tip: If you think that the train noise will bother you, you could try a room at the front of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehistorytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

This is our third stay at the inn and this was the first time I had issues with the cleanliness of the room. I'm hoping it was just a fluke and we accidentally picked "the dud" room. Had we complained at check in, I suspect the innkeepers would have moved us, but we were enjoying our day and I didn't want to make a fuss. I figured all the rooms would be of equal cleanliness. The room felt old and in need of fresh paint, but really I wouldn't have minded those details if the bathroom was cleaner. I mentioned the bathroom problem to the lady at checkout and she thanked me for mentioning it and said the problem was probably the weekend staff. Seems like the weekend is when they should have their best cleaning staff.
I would not recommend the basement rooms in the cottage. You walk in the hallway to a huge dehumidifier, which immediately makes you feel like you are staying in a dingy basement, and the laundry for the cleaning people is down there. They had propped the door open while doing the laundry and I saw flies coming in, which is probably why we had flies in our room when we got there.
All in all, the South Street Inn is probably the best place to stay downtown.
What the South Street Inn has going for it is good cookies, free wine and cheese, a nice free continental breakfast, great location and nice front porch. They need to keep the rooms cleaner though, and I'd suggest paying more for the nicer rooms instead of choosing one of the cheaper rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eureeka80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Three members of our family stayed in a main floor room at the front of the inn. During the reservation process, I was helped with choosing a room that would accommodate a cot, and it fit nicely without being an obstacle. Some of the furnishings were not in spectacular condition, but I loved the quaint colonial look of the room, imperfections and all--thick curtains provided us with privacy from the porch sitters if we so desired. The trains were audible but didn't waken any of us during the night, AC and heat worked well, and the bed was comfy. Afternoon wine and cheese (and candied pecans!) and delicious home-baked cookies were delightlul, and the morning fare of fresh-squeezed OJ, freshly baked breakfast breads and granola, and Greek yogurt was very much to my liking. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Parking was tight but available, and the location was perfect, within walking distance of the pedestrian mall and so many shops and restaurants and across from the Saturday farmer's market, and also close to bus and trolley stops. Overall a great place to stay for graduation weekend!

Room Tip: Rooms in front are probably quieter because the train tracks run behind the buiding, porch is outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natiqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Hubby and I came to stay here for a nice weekend away sans kids. Boy, did we enjoy ourselves! Our room, on the third floor was private and comfy. Though there is a busy train track right behind the Inn, after the first few trains, no one really notices! The ever present fresh fruit, incredibly delicious cookies and daily porch Happy Hour from 5-7 make up for ANY small inconveniences. The hairdryers woudn't stay in the plugs and the floors had a few dust bunnies but the house is OLD and the staff are super friendly and accomodating. We were two blocks from the mall, a short walk to great restaurants and less than 30 minutes to Monticello and some great vineyards! Would definitely return!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kurtzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The Inn was quaint and the people friendly, but no one mentioned that the Amtrak train was right behind the tall privacy fence that rolled through the yard at least 4 times a night, shaking all the windows and rumbling us awake! Also they missed a lot of details in cleaning the rooms. The blinds were coated in dust and had to be opened manually, one slot at a time. The plaster was peeling and some repair had been done, but then they never painted over it. Attention to detail was missing. Wonderfully located within walking distance to the pedestrian mall and very close drive to UVA and Monticello.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peg k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

First, the things to watch out for...

1) The railroad tracks are REALLY close to the back of the inn. Our room was in the front, so noise wasn't the issue, but the whole building vibrates, especially when the freight train rumbles past. We're neither heavy nor light sleepers, so even the 7am train wasn't an issue.

2) Our room had lovely antique furniture - and it all needed work. Both of the chairs were outright dangerous to sit in, and the parlor chair had a cushion that likely gave out sometime around the Coolidge administration. The bed made awkward squeals that started as soon as we turned it down...

3) It's not listed anywhere, but they have a common storage area on the first floor that has various sundries in case you forget, but it also holds a hair dryer and iron...

4) Breakfast was ample, but a carb-fest. Beyond milk and juice (definitely hand-squeezed), there wasn't much in the protein department. If you're on a diet, plan on finding alternate morning fare.

5) We had a main-floor room, which is one flight up from the street/parking lot. It didn't bother us, but you need to be OK with people sitting directly outside your window on the porch.

6) We didn't spend enough time in the room for it to be a major issue, but I don't think the windows opened. It's a big deal for us as we're definitely open-window people year-round. In all fairness to the Inn, we didn't ask about this.

Things we really liked...

The porch area was great for just relaxing - we wound up with our entire family coming back for wine and cheese.

The staff was fantastic - no issues at all.

The South Street Brewery is within crawling distance (if you need to). The downtown mall was two short blocks away. There was a Farmer's market across the street in the parking lot on Saturday - not sure whether or not this runs year-round.

General things like cleanliness, basic amenities and comfort were all fine - no issues at all.

We're not likely to be returning to the area anytime soon, but wouldn't rule out a repeat visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the property will have the least noise from the trains. Rooms on the main flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xsoundsux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,853 reviews
4.9 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
355 reviews
1.9 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
288 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#3 of 35 in Charlottesville
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 200 South Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 200 South Street Inn

Address: 200 W South St, Charlottesville, VA 22902-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#10 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £117 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 200 South Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200 South Street Inn, centrally located near Thomas Jefferson's Monticello and the University of Virginia, offers southern elegance in Charlottesville's lively historic downtown district two blocks from the Downtown Mall. With sixty restaurants in the immediate vicinity you can't get better convenience. As a Bed and Breakfast, the Inn combines a relaxing, comfortable atmosphere with all the conveniences of an elegant hotel. A stay with us includes homemade cookies upon arrival, wine and artisan cheeses served in the evenings as well as a full breakfast served each morning with fresh baked goods and fresh juices. Rooms feature antique furnishings, fireplaces, private baths, some with whirlpool tubs, and a view of Downtown Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your 200 South Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
200 South Street Hotel Charlottesville
200 South Street Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing