We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
200 South Street Inn
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Great location near downtown Charlottesville. Old historic house turned into an Inn. All the rooms were nice. Breakfast was fine, no hot food but plenty to eat. Train going by at night wasn't an issue for us. Staff was very helpful in many ways. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The only complaint I would have is that coffee is not available until 7:15 AM. Being an early riser and caffeine addict, I would have liked it available earlier, or coffee pots in the rooms.

Room Tip: Lots of steps so if that is an issue get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inthevalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great historic B&B inn within short walk to downtown mall. We were welcomed at the door, and there were delicious oatmeal chocolate chip cookies waiting on the counter. Breakfast was very nice with good coffee, several breads, scones, and fruit & cereals. We had booked online and thus were not aware that the the railroad runs very close by. Don't book the rooms on the lower level and in the back of the inn. Trains are random, but when they go by, they will rattle your room & be noisy. They try to mention the trains to those who book by phone, but they need to let you know when you book online. However, Caroline,who checked us in and was very welcoming, was very gracious and we were upgraded to a lovely room upstairs on the front side, and that was much quieter (no train problems). The inn has a lovely wraparound porch.....We enjoyed the inn very much.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the inn and not on the lower level are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taichimomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I had several days off and wanted to go somewhere we hadn't been before. I found this inn in Charlottesville close to everything and we had a wonderful experience. They were running a 20% off special for fall and so made reservations after reviewing Trip Advisor. We were welcomed at the door and upgraded to a suite, #20 on the front of the second building on the main level. The suite was very spacious with a fireplace in the sitting room and the bedroom with a very comfortable queen size bed. The wine, cheese and fruit from 5-6:30 made our dinner as well as the homemade oatmeal chocolate chip cookies warm out of the oven. Breakfast was special with fresh squeezed orange juice and a very good robust coffee with scones, breads, and fruit. We had beautiful weather so we could eat both times outside on the wraparound porch. We both had a fantastic time and would highly recommend it - we would love to come again !!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buster434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have had the pleasure of staying in this B&B several times in the past year. Everyone has been helpful, pleasant to work with, and we will continue to stay there on future trips to Charlottesville. The manager is a treasure. It IS, after all, a B&B and perhaps the linens need refreshing, and the bathrooms could be cleaner. But the location is superb, and it's truly a fun place to stay. I would recommend it to those who are looking for a small, intimate property, wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Inn is walking distance to the historic downtown mall. It isn't a scenic area but there's lots going on and to recommend the location. It's a large historic property with rooms on three floors. We booked one of the higher rooms in an effort to muffle the sound of the (coal?) trains. Lesson: You cannot escape the sound of the trains no matter where you are in the Inn, no matter where you stay in that section of Charlottesville. The trains are loud and take a long time to pass through. It can happen any time of day or night. They also leave a distinct odor in the air. The room itself is otherwise quiet, small although very atmospheric and nicely appointed. It felt welcoming and comfortable. The bathroom is spacious. They could upgrade bed linens, towels and toiletries, for that little extra something. They provide free wireless internet although it is a bit slow. They serve a very lovely morning meal with homemade granola (particularly delicious!), fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh baked items (scones, banana and other breads), fresh fruit, yogurt, and other items. The coffee could be better/stronger. The freshly baked cookies at reception are a nice touch and delicious. As mentioned by the other reviewers, they host a daily wine and cheese reception with a nice assortment of both. Be prepared to lug your suitcase upstairs if you stay on one of the higher floors. The ladies who manage (own?) the place run a tight ship but spend a lot of time talking amongst themselves. The breakfast room can fill up quickly when the place is busy so you might have to share a table.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuntressCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Had a king bedroom on the lower floor of the second building. Liked the decoration and the bed but the bathroom definitely needs updating. Caulking is flaking off, the old bathtub needs replacing, there's no place to store toiletries/hair dryer.However, since we were in the room such a short time, it didn't bother us. The one criticism I have is that the breakfast is served in a very small room with only a few seats, which forces you to the outside porch. Without trays, it's practically impossible to balance plates, napkins, drinks, etc. on the wicker coffee table. Seating needs to be improved to make it enjoyable. While I'm giving it a good rating mostly due to the charm factor and location, I probably would try another place if we needed to stay in Charlottesville again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoLura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

A really beautiful place, the staff were very welcoming, and the facilities were spot on. When we arrived, I was worried as big diesel trains were passing directly behind the property, but I couldnt hear these in the room.

The wine and cheese reception was a great idea, as well as tasty, and breakfast was varied and plentiful. If I ever find myself in Charlottesville again, this will be the place to stay!

Room Tip: We had room 14- a great room with a jacuzzi type bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathieu_PEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,853 reviews
4.9 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
355 reviews
1.9 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
288 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#3 of 35 in Charlottesville
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 200 South Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 200 South Street Inn

Address: 200 W South St, Charlottesville, VA 22902-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#10 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £117 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 200 South Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200 South Street Inn, centrally located near Thomas Jefferson's Monticello and the University of Virginia, offers southern elegance in Charlottesville's lively historic downtown district two blocks from the Downtown Mall. With sixty restaurants in the immediate vicinity you can't get better convenience. As a Bed and Breakfast, the Inn combines a relaxing, comfortable atmosphere with all the conveniences of an elegant hotel. A stay with us includes homemade cookies upon arrival, wine and artisan cheeses served in the evenings as well as a full breakfast served each morning with fresh baked goods and fresh juices. Rooms feature antique furnishings, fireplaces, private baths, some with whirlpool tubs, and a view of Downtown Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your 200 South Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
200 South Street Hotel Charlottesville
200 South Street Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing