We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
200 South Street Inn
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Comfortable, enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I visited for our anniversary, and we loved it! Our room was large, with a king - size sleigh bed and gas fireplace. We really appreciated the ambiance from the fire, especially in the evenings. My husband couldn't get enough of the homemade chocolate chip cookies, which were delicious. The staff really made us feel at home, and were always ready to help. The winter special was a great bargain, and allowed us to spend an entire romantic weekend away from our kids!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    237
    60
    31
    11
See reviews for
97
423
41
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

This is one place that will always stand out for me when i remember our US trip. We stayed one night and it was Thanksgiving. Our room was wonderful on the ground floor in the main house with an open gas fire and a huge four poster bed. The reception lady (i can't remember her name sorry) gave us fresh cookies and invited us to come and sample the wine and cheese. As we were the only guests there she was able to chat with us for quite a while. She even called round almost every restaurant in town to find us a table (they were all closed unfortunately, luckily we still had sandwiches from earlier). I even found the freight train which rattled past during the night to be quite amusing and charming! Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn as we love restored, historic homes. We are locals who just wanted a quick, local getaway after many days with a full house during the holidays. The wine and cheese hour and always available freshly baked cookies were a nice touch. We stayed as a part of their winter special rate, so it was definitely a great value for our stay.

Pros: Historic home, fireplace, location of walking distance to the Downtown Mall, friendly evening staff who greeted us with freshly baked, warm cookies :)

Cons: Breakfast (we knew it was continental so it is exactly as described on the website) but we thought it was very heavy - a great deal of cold, sugary breads and some fruit but what we had was not very fresh (apples/bananas; cantaloupe was good!). Morning Staff - we were disappointed as the morning staff talked loudly and negatively about some other staff member throughout our breakfast as we ate upstairs in the breakfast room directly across from the kitchen.

Room Tip: The Inn is beside of train tracks, but their website is great in letting you know which rooms will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcjwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We took our second trip to 200 South Street this month, and loved it as much as our first two years ago. The fireplaces in the rooms are so cozy during the winter months, and the ever-ready supply of homemade oatmeal chocolate chip cookies made it even more comforting. We love the Inn's convenience to the wonderful shops and restaurants of downtown Charlottesville. There was also a neat farmers market in the parking lot across the street on the Saturday morning. The wine and cheese reception hosted by the Inn each evening is a very nice touch, and we ended up engaged in interesting conversations with other guests in the library during both of our stays. Breakfast was wonderful, the rooms were both nice (#5 in the main house, and an upstairs room in the cottage), and with each room being street facing they were well buffered from the sound of passing trains.

We will return to the Inn, and highly recommend that you become their welcome guest as well!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGnome647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed here just one night (wish it had been longer) and thoroughly enjoyed the great breakfast, huge rooms, location to downtown Charlottesville, and unique history of the Inn. The owners provide some of the best coffee I've ever had. Really quaint, comfy and clean place to stay, highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltaville, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Having had such a great visit in 2012, we returned to this welcoming B & B. Yes, just like Grandma's old house, the floors creak, the heater vibrates, the windows rattle when the train rolls by (okay, Grandma didn't live near the train tracks, but you get my drift!). Even better, the aroma of cookies and breads baking, the hot coffee, fresh-squeezed juice, fruits, yogurt provide a better breakfast buffet than I'd get at Grandma's. So there are no eggs, so what! Sit back, read one of the several newspapers on the counter, surrounded by a large collection of books on the shelves & enjoy the cozy setting, perhaps even meeting some other fascinating guests who are staying at this gem. We loved the fireplace in our comfortable king-bedded Room 2, on the ground floor of the main house. Instead of watching the big plasma-screen TV in the room, we enjoyed excellent wine & assorted cheese in the dining nook before heading out for a local restaurant. You can be sure, we'll be back here the next time life brings us to Charlottesville.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs or ask about which room would best serve you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneCutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

It really can't get much better when you walk into your large room with a fire already going in the fireplace! Breakfast is not eggs and bacon but there are plenty of great choices and there are always cookies available. I'd give it a 5 except that as nice as the staff and facilities are, there's that railroad track in the back and when the freight trains go by you not only hear it but feel it.

Room Tip: Choose a front-facing room. You'll probably still hear the train, but it is in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
728 reviews
0.9 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
70 reviews
1.9 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 200 South Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 200 South Street Inn

Property: 200 South Street Inn
Address: 200 W South St, Charlottesville, VA 22902-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#10 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 200 South Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200 South Street Inn, centrally located near Thomas Jefferson's Monticello and the University of Virginia, offers southern elegance in Charlottesville's lively historic downtown district two blocks from the Downtown Mall. With sixty restaurants in the immediate vicinity you can't get better convenience. As a Bed and Breakfast, the Inn combines a relaxing, comfortable atmosphere with all the conveniences of an elegant hotel. A stay with us includes homemade cookies upon arrival, wine and artisan cheeses served in the evenings as well as a full breakfast served each morning with fresh baked goods and fresh juices. Rooms feature antique furnishings, fireplaces, private baths, some with whirlpool tubs, and a view of Downtown Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your 200 South Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
200 South Street Hotel Charlottesville
200 South Street Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing