We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over-priced for quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
200 South Street Inn
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
lilys723
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“over-priced for quality”
Reviewed 7 August 2009

This is a fine bed and breakfast but it is not cute or beautiful enough for its pricing. I've stayed in places like this one for much cheaper and I chose this place thinking I was going to splurge on a gorgeous hotel on a road trip with my mother. It was disappointing! They need to lower the rates.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lilys723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    230
    60
    31
    11
See reviews for
96
418
41
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We enoyed our stay at the Inn. The staff were friendly and accomodating and our room was comfy and clean. This is a great place to stay if you don't have a car and want to be able to enjoy the farmers' market on the weekend and do some shopping.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoChickety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

My wife and I stayed here for a night while we toured some wineries. When we checked in, the girl at the desk couldn't find our room. The decor was old and rustic, but not really in a good way; as my wife commented, my mom would have loved it. The bed was supposed to be a queen but was actually a double. It was also extremely hard and uncomfortable. The A/C unit constantly made a sound like an amplified vibrating cell phone. The continental breakfast was average, although the bananas were old. While I was looking through the book in the room that described Charlottesville, I noticed that the room rate quoted on the front page was significanlty less than what I had been charged. When I questioned this on check out, they said their own information was wrong.
The one positive was the location. The inn is three blocks from the Downtown Mall, which we really enjoyed. There was also a farmers' market in the parking lot across the street on Saturday that attracted both a lot of vendors and customers.
I would not return here. The only way I would recommend it was if they didn't raise rates on football weekends and a person needed a room.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I had booked a 1 night stay here from the reviews. What a charming place! We had booked one of the lower priced rooms & when we walked into it, I was more then pleasantly surprised! Very nice sized room, fireplace, and big jacuzzi tub. The inn itself it just so cute & charming. We enjoyed wine and cheese on Saturday evening when we checked in, sat out on the big porch. And the morning coffee cakes and breads were delicious. Very romantic weekend. Super close to the restaurants, quick walk which was easy in my heels.

This was our first time in Charolettesville and we are in love. Already planning on a trip back in the Fall.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kbi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Just a short weekend trip for the wife and I. The accomodations met our expectations. Staff was helpful and very friendly. We spent most of our time at the local wineries and walking the downtown pedestrian mall. Could not beat the location for the enjoying the mall (great restaurants, good music and shopping) and the Saturday Market. You do not want to miss the market on saturday morning if you like fresh produce and enjoy arts and crafts. We caught a good blues band at Millers on Friday night and I would recommend grabbing some tapas at Bangs right across the street from the Inn or throwing back a few beers at the South Street Brewery, which is next door.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robsok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

The staff are incredibly nice and accomodating
lovely snacks and breakfast to keep you through the day
the rooms are pretty and functional
great location

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jelly17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

This Inn has a great location, great morning breakfast of yummy coffee cakes, fresh fruit, yogurts, granola........A nice wine reception around the early eve with cheeses. However............I think the inn could be a lot cleaner.My tub was dirty, I found grease marks on the wall, all around cleanliness was def not their forte'

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bachust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.9 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.9 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 200 South Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 200 South Street Inn

Property: 200 South Street Inn
Address: 200 W South St, Charlottesville, VA 22902-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#10 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 200 South Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200 South Street Inn, centrally located near Thomas Jefferson's Monticello and the University of Virginia, offers southern elegance in Charlottesville's lively historic downtown district two blocks from the Downtown Mall. With sixty restaurants in the immediate vicinity you can't get better convenience. As a Bed and Breakfast, the Inn combines a relaxing, comfortable atmosphere with all the conveniences of an elegant hotel. A stay with us includes homemade cookies upon arrival, wine and artisan cheeses served in the evenings as well as a full breakfast served each morning with fresh baked goods and fresh juices. Rooms feature antique furnishings, fireplaces, private baths, some with whirlpool tubs, and a view of Downtown Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your 200 South Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
200 South Street Hotel Charlottesville
200 South Street Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing