We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A homelike oasis for your walking visit to Downtown/UVA” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 200 South Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
200 South Street Inn
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A homelike oasis for your walking visit to Downtown/UVA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

We chose the Inn as a base to walk to the U2 concert at Scott Stadium. it was admittedly about 2 miles to the stadium but a pleasant walk through town, the historic corner, the Rotunda and Lawn. The walk back was just as pleasant, and culminated with drinks on the downtown mall which was only 2 blocks away. We never used our car, making it the perfect visit. It stayed happy in the off street parking courtyard.

The wine reception, cookies and breakfasts were great and though a full house, we spread out on the great porch.

We stayed on the first floor and did not experience any concerns about noise from other guests or the railroad. The interior would benefit from a freshen up/decorating / paint wise, but the rooms were clean and spacious.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    223
    59
    30
    11
See reviews for
92
408
40
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

My husband and I have stayed at the South Street Inn several times and each time it has been a true pleasure. The staff is always very friendly and they have the best fresh baked cookies! The location is convenient to the downtown mall area. Everything you need is in walking distance. I highly recommend the Inn to anyone looking for a special experience!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ContrerasCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

We have been staying at 200 South Street for over a dozen years. It never disappoints us and is always part of the fun of traveling south to Charlottesville. The staff is excellent, the happy hours flowing with wine and cheese, and the breakfasts worth getting up for on a vacation. Enjoy - we will again!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KWINOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

The reception staffperson was unfamiliar with the area, and could not give directions, advice or suggestions; continental breakfast is unacceptable for a bed & breakfast to serve; several ceilings were water-stained and interior and exterior paint was peeling; bathroom was clean, but fixtures were outdated (not antique--just cheap looking); several trashbins cluttered the walkway outside the basement level rooms, making that entrance seem like a "service entrance" and not a "guest entrance"; all staff people appear to just be college students who are untrained in the field of hospitality management (e.g., at time of checkout, the staffperson didn't even ask how our stay was--he just took our payment without even thanking us for visiting).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaVisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19147
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

have stayed here 3 times, very comfortable, pleasant, very nice public areas in which to read, including wide porch.
DELICIOUS TEA AND BREAKFAST.
farmer's market directly across street on saturdays. a reason to be here then.
handily IN downtown charlottesville, without being kitchy(sp.), or a chain, or a big box hotel. WALKING DISTANCE TO UNIVERSITY.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anne19147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

This was our first time staying in a Bed & Breakfast and it was a great experience. 200 South Street Inn was a charming place with friendly staff, nice rooms, and was close to downtown.

We were in town to celebrate our anniversary and were looking for somewhere to stay that would be within walking distance of the downtown mall area, where all the shops and restaurants are. The 200 South Street Inn was about 2 blocks away, which was very convenient.

They served complimentary wine and cheese from about 5-7pm. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast as well. There were various types of fruit, breads, yogurt, and granola to choose from. We were wanting a fairly healthy breakfast so that was perfect

There is a brewery right next door which had some great beer. There are lots of great restaurants in the area. We enjoyed a Sunday brunch in an outdoor dining area downtown.

We stayed in Room 7. It was a nice room on the second floor with hardwood floors, a shelf ceiling, a couple windows, and 4 poster bed.

There are train tracks directly behind the property. A couple trains came through while we were there, but they didn't bother us. I'm guessing the trains aren't allowed to use their horns while going through town so you could just hear and feel the rumble of it going by. I never heard it run late at night, so it was no problem.

I had no complaints. It was a nice place to stay, with a comfortable atmosphere and was just what we were looking for!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donkeysalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

A nice inn, and one I would recommend. The place to stay in Charlottesville if you're looking for ambience, location, and to avoid the chains. It is located downtown next to the mall and all sorts of restaurants. My room was pretty, air-conditioned, quiet, wi-fi equipped, and nicely furnished. The bathroom was fine. The staff was young and pleasant, though not solicitous. (The owners seem to have been away.) The public rooms are small--just one sitting room, not enough seating for the number of guests who stay there--two houses!-- so if you can't get one of those five or six seats you have to carry breakfast out to the porch or to your room. The porch is nice in good weather, but what to do in the rain or winter? Carry food to your room... The baking was fresh, very good. Delicious cookies and coffee cake. But breakfast was all carbs, no protein except for a selection of Yoplait--no eggs or omelettes, no organic yoghurt etc., to energize one for the day. It wasn't the generous meal that one gets at really fine bed and breakfasts. The inn feels overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KannonAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.9 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.9 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
The English Inn of Charlottesvil...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 200 South Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 200 South Street Inn

Property: 200 South Street Inn
Address: 200 W South St, Charlottesville, VA 22902-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#10 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 200 South Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200 South Street Inn, centrally located near Thomas Jefferson's Monticello and the University of Virginia, offers southern elegance in Charlottesville's lively historic downtown district two blocks from the Downtown Mall. With sixty restaurants in the immediate vicinity you can't get better convenience. As a Bed and Breakfast, the Inn combines a relaxing, comfortable atmosphere with all the conveniences of an elegant hotel. A stay with us includes homemade cookies upon arrival, wine and artisan cheeses served in the evenings as well as a full breakfast served each morning with fresh baked goods and fresh juices. Rooms feature antique furnishings, fireplaces, private baths, some with whirlpool tubs, and a view of Downtown Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your 200 South Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
200 South Street Hotel Charlottesville
200 South Street Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing