We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
200 South Street Inn
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We traveled to the Charlottesville area for a family wedding. We like to experience a city and it's culture so we prefere to stay in places that are anything but your standard dry hotel. We choose 200 Street Inn and it felt like home away from home. We stayed in suite 9 which had an extra sitting room and is located upstairs overlooking the front of the house. 200 Street Inn is a great location as you can walk to everything ( food, shopping, cvs, free trolley). Hop on the free trolley to get to the University District which is not far, but still a good walk. The market on Saturday was bustling with people and yummy food vendors. Great place to grab a cheep and yummy lunch. The wrap around porch was great for morning breakfast, waiting for the everyone to get ready to head out, and then relaxing in the rocking chair after a day of adventures. Parking is not a problem.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joco1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    230
    60
    31
    11
See reviews for
96
418
41
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2010

The South Street Inn is comfortable, like home, and welcoming bed and breakfast. Staff is friendly with the perfect balance of grace and ease. Wonderful breakfast and fresh fruit at night and a filled cookie jar.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elise023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Gardner,NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

we stayed in the cottage house, room 14.The hallway smelled like a basement. the room was acceptable nothing special, and the bathroom was very dated and in need of updating, very dismal. The overall condition of the main house was again, just ok. The front porch was delapidated and in need of repair. the wicker furniture on the porch was very old and uncomfortable. This room was very expensive for the quality. The only plus was the proximity to the downtown mall.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

The big southern house from the 1850s Ive always wanted, the one with the big porch and the pleasing but not disturbing sound of an old train rumbling by, that's the 200 South Street Inn. What a great staff, they called me back when a room became available. A lovely breakfast and nice happy hour, but maybe we could've had a few bottles of the local and delicious wine instead of the same Italian day after day. Only other complaint, they forgot to clean our room one day. But the amazing location, stumbling distance from the Pedestrian Mall and the up and coming Belmont neighborhood more than made up for it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ski'nSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We had a great time at the 200 South Street Inn in Charlottesville. The room was great - cozy attic room but big enough for a king size bed. They had the AC working full blast for us in the room (which was on their 3rd floor, so we really appreciated it!). The staff were very helpful with dinner recommendations and driving directions to different vineyards, Monticello etc. They left the wine and cheese out for us the night we arrived because they knew we would be arriving a little late. I felt they genuinely cared about their guests.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodstock, ga
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

comfortable, clean room. yummy cookies and brownies,as well as wine and cheeses in the evening. breakfast was good--a breakfast casserole would be a great addition. the train going by was a bit disconcerting the first night, as we didn't know it was there. great location--walking distance to many great restuarants and the mall. very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karengWoodstock_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We were attending an engagement party for our daughter and her fiance and wanted to stay in downtown Charlottesville, VA. There really are only two choices: the Omni and 200 South Street Inn. We made the mistake of choosing the Inn. The bathroom was 1960's disaster, the sheets were scratchy and worn but the worst part were the trains. First night at 3:00am we were awakened by a loud rumbling, the windows shook, coming from California we thought it was an earthquake. The train was less than 50 feet from our room. Same thing happened the next two nights.
The continental breakfast was wonderful, location was great and the women who ran the Inn were very friendly. But none of that can make up for the awful trains!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan22233146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.9 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.9 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 200 South Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 200 South Street Inn

Property: 200 South Street Inn
Address: 200 W South St, Charlottesville, VA 22902-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#10 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 200 South Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200 South Street Inn, centrally located near Thomas Jefferson's Monticello and the University of Virginia, offers southern elegance in Charlottesville's lively historic downtown district two blocks from the Downtown Mall. With sixty restaurants in the immediate vicinity you can't get better convenience. As a Bed and Breakfast, the Inn combines a relaxing, comfortable atmosphere with all the conveniences of an elegant hotel. A stay with us includes homemade cookies upon arrival, wine and artisan cheeses served in the evenings as well as a full breakfast served each morning with fresh baked goods and fresh juices. Rooms feature antique furnishings, fireplaces, private baths, some with whirlpool tubs, and a view of Downtown Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your 200 South Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
200 South Street Hotel Charlottesville
200 South Street Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing