We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Updated Room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Boar's Head
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Updated Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed here for 2 days for work. Traveling as a woman alone and arriving after dark, I was not happy to have to drive 2 blocks to my room and park in a dark parking lot and walk to my room building. My room was updated with new furniture, a large bathroom with walk-in shower, terry bathrobe, and updated TV. Each night there was a box with chocolates on my pillow, but I was disappointed that my sheets had holes in them, and would have expected that someone would have noticed. It was also strange that the hallways had dehumidifiers running on each floor, guess that is in response to previous reviews about the smell. My room also had a nice balcony with a table and chairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor so that you are not ground or below ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    217
    81
    29
    15
See reviews for
193
318
21
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Everything was first class including the period décor, delicious brunch & dinner outside @ the Bistro, lovely landscaping, and pleasant employees throughout the establishment. We stayed in the main building and our room could not have been cleaner or more comfy. I especially loved all of the framed items in our room corresponding with UVA & Thomas Jefferson. We hopped the Boar's Head bus to take us into the football game which was indeed convenient. It was a fabulous way to celebrate my husband's birthday!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were really disappointed. We heard really good things about the Boar's Head and it just wasn't up to our standards. Frankly the last time I smelled a room that was this bad was in England. Perhaps the Boar's Head is striving to replicate 19th century America. Also the food was consistently cold and not particularly well prepared. The grounds are beautiful but the experience was not.

Room Tip: Check out the room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely entrance to this hotel, quite old and quaint and surrounded by beautiful scenery. Out the back is an enormous lake which you are able to go for a lovely walk alongside. The bar has an outside seating area which is perfect for hot evenings. There is a seperate spa which also includes an outdoor adult only pool. This was very appealing but over the other side of the lake is an actual sports centre with a huge pool, gym, tennis courts and cafe. Also with outdoor seating. The room was lovely, very spacious and bright, overlooking the lake. The bed was enormous and so comfortable. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here but didnt eat in the restaurant or have breakfast Here. We ate out everyday. Would totally recommend this hotel and look forward to staying here again. Very reasonably priced. Definately need a car here as it is quite remote but well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loubuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed there for one night recently as we were attending a concert in the area. The grounds were impressive, the staff and service were impeccable, and the room was beautiful. The only down side was the building we stayed in had dehumidifiers running in the hallways, which were much needed due to the noticeable musty smell. We did not make a big deal out of this, because we knew our time in the room would be limited. We enjoyed the accomodations, the restaurants in the area, and the concert venue.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICHMOND
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Especially in Fall... The Boar's Head is a beautiful retreat set in lovely surroundings and offering a little of everything as a small resort. They have a nice restaurant and bar on-site, great gym, walking/biking trails, professional and friendly catering team, and are in a great spot to enjoy everything C-ville has to offer. Convenient to all the wineries and they can help you set up a tour, or you can pick up a wine trail map and explore on your own. Don't forget to walk around the beautiful, historic UVA grounds. Definitely recommend staying here to get the most of your trip!

Room Tip: Request the Hunt Club - nice rooms and great views of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eustaciaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Was here for a conference, so can't speak to the price of the room. The place is really pretty - the lake just begs for some swans! But, so many of us at the conference complained of sinus issues, and ran the little store out of Benedryl, that I should mention the mold issue. Not sure if it is on-going or was caused by some recent rains, but the headaches made it difficult to enjoy the event. Also, the food was really overpriced, and in general not something I would have chosen. Lunch buffet the day we arrived was the only option in the time I had to eat. I settled for some fruit, a couple of veggies and crackers with hummus - and that cost me $17. All but one meal were provided for the conference, and not really impressive. The one free night, I went elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.4 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
2.6 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
The English Inn of Charlottesvil...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
8.4 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
2.6 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.5 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Property: The Boar's Head
Address: 200 Ednam Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4674
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boar's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boar's Head is a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance, exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. Located on a bucolic 573-acre country estate, our AAA Four Diamond resort offers 175 guest rooms and suites, Four Diamond dining in the Old Mill Room, a wide variety of world class recreational activities, spa and 22,000 square feet of meeting facilities for groups of 20 to 630. Owned and operated by the University of Virginia Foundation, Boar's Head is just minutes from the University of Virginia that was founded by Thomas Jefferson, only two hours from Washington, D.C., And at the foot of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boar`s Head Hotel Charlottesville
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Charlottesville
Boars Head Inn Charlottesville Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing