We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanksgiving brunch Mediocre at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Boar's Head
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Barboursville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving brunch Mediocre at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Had Thanksgiving Brunch at the Boars Head inn. Since we live in the Charlottesville area and have had brunch there many times before we thought it would be nice to go out to a top notch place instead of going through all the preparation of having Thanksgiving at home. BIG MISTAKE. First the parking, parking there was inadequate for the amount of people they were having for brunch and guests staying there. The food was as stated mediocre at best. Our reservation was for 130pm the tuna and duck were gone, the sliced beef was hammered Nothing worse than well done sliced beef in a chafing dish, it should have been carved. The ham was just a big deli sandwich ham, a nice spiral ham would have been better. The seafood bar had frozen snow crab claws and shrimp. The oysters were obviously shucked the day before they were dry, should have been shucked that day. The scallop salad was ok. The turkey breast was dry and you had to dig through bones and tendons in the dark meat chafer to get any dark meat. The lobster bisque tasted like it was made from lobster base. The other items in the chaffers were standard Thanksgiving fare, nothing special. The floor staff was NON-EXISTENT, we had to clear our own plates and it took forever to get water refills. The mimosas were good as well as the coffee. Buy the time we got to the dessert table the desserts were practically gone, no pumpkin pie, one small piece of apple strudel nothing chocolate at all, the mince pie was the lamest I've ever had. I expected so much more since we've had brunch there before and enjoyed it. This was a total and expensive let down. We would have been better off going to Wood Grill if they were open.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    225
    83
    32
    16
See reviews for
202
327
21
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Although the rooms were a bit dated and a little musty, the overall property is gorgeous. The bistro was outstanding, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We are history buffs and visited Charlottesville to explore Jefferson's Monticello. The idea of staying at another historic property really appealed to us. We were also pleased with the location and access to the awesome sports club. We would stay at the Boar's Head Inn again and think it was worth the price.

Room Tip: ask for a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomgirl915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

With the leaves turning their wonderful colors and the nights getting cooler, there's no better place to be next to a fire than at the Boar's Head. A true country inn, the Boar's Head always provides extremely comfortable rooms, top facilities, and great dining just a few minutes from downtown Charlottesville. I always look forward to going back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I was oversold on this hotel by what I viewed from their website. The main lobby and restaurant were accurate in the website's depiction, but the rooms were more like that of a middle of the road Marriott. They were a good size and clean, but you felt more like you were in a college dorm than a hotel. As the other reviewers mention, the property is very spread out, which makes it feel like a college experience. This hotel would not be my first choice if I were vacationing, but would be if I was in town visiting my kids that attend UVA ( of which I have none). The food was good actually but overpriced. The breakfast buffet was overpriced for about $20 per person. I had some overcooked eggs, toast and a cup of yogurt. Overall, it was a nice experience, just know what to expect.

Room Tip: Expect a walk to your room from anywhere on the property. The noise level from neighboring rooms is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

There are much better choices for the price. The restaurant, the 2 that I dined in there the bistro and the Old Mill were just adequate, nothing to warrant any return. The staff is pleasant, the bartender very accommodating, but the hotel is difficult to maneuver, and their apparent no key systems seems to have many hiccups leaving you to have return to the registration desk repeatly, and no the key was no near my phone or any type of magnet. I believe there are numerous others venues in the Charlottesville area for the price or less that are far superior.

The bartender Michael was a very good part of this experience

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgeann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Boar's Head Inn was a comfortable and relaxing place to stay. We were disappointed that nothing was within walking distance. We ate at the tavern two evenings and enjoyed the food there very much. The resort is on a beautiful site with ponds and woods.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the grounds and not the parking lots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Boar's Head is a charming hotel with beautiful grounds. It is a short drive to the University and downtown Charlottesville, although not walking distance to anything. The rooms are of a high standard. There is a nice shop on the grounds and a large fitness centre which is also open to public members. In my opinion it is the best place to stay in C'ville, based on its combination of quality, charm and location. There are a few negatives. The housekeeping standard was sub-par - when we checked in there was a cigarette butt in the fireplace and a half-used bottle of shampoo that hadn't been replaced. Each day there were empty glasses left outside of our room on the floor all day until we requested that they be taken away. The hotel has free wi-fi (which is great) but one day the entire hotel internet was down for a number of hours, which is a problem if you are trying to do business. The hotel "bistro"/bar restaurant is great, but every night it was completely full (mainly with non-hotel guests) and hard to get a table (and reservations weren't allowed), and the main restaruant (which is more expensive and more formal) was empty.They would benefit from expanding the bistro or at least giving guests the ability to reserve tables at the bistro. They have several outdoor pools, but no indoor pool so no swimming facilities in the autumn/winter season, which is a shame considering how large the fitness centre is. Very comfortable beds. Staff were overall very helpful and pleasant, although quality/experience of the staff was a bit lacking. Overall, the Boar's Head is a very good choice in C'ville.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller123-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.4 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
2.6 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.5 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.5 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Property: The Boar's Head
Address: 200 Ednam Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4674
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boar's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boar's Head is a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance, exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. Located on a bucolic 573-acre country estate, our AAA Four Diamond resort offers 175 guest rooms and suites, Four Diamond dining in the Old Mill Room, a wide variety of world class recreational activities, spa and 22,000 square feet of meeting facilities for groups of 20 to 630. Owned and operated by the University of Virginia Foundation, Boar's Head is just minutes from the University of Virginia that was founded by Thomas Jefferson, only two hours from Washington, D.C., And at the foot of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boar`s Head Hotel Charlottesville
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Charlottesville
Boars Head Inn Charlottesville Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing