We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty and comfortable”
Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Boar's Head
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty and comfortable”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Spent the night and ate at the wonderful restaurant, Old Mill Room, before picking up a happy camper from a sports camp the next day. Great for a girls getaway - and very convenient to the camp. Dinner was amazing and the room was nice. Not totally top-notch, but not deplorable. It felt like an old family house - which I liked.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    230
    87
    33
    15
See reviews for
206
341
21
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glade Spring, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Only a one night stay, but we found the Boars Head to be excellent. Beautiful Christmas decorations and trees, nice cookies and tea/coffee in the afternoon. Excellent beds and bedding. Missed having a tub however.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidandbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Driving up to the Boar's Head during Christmas was delightful. It's decorated tastefully and masterfully and helps puts you in the holiday spirit. We had a lovely, spacious suite (which had a wonderful gas fireplace--not one of those cheap/low flame types--even though we miss the wood burning fireplaces they used to have in some rooms) and really enjoyed our stay. The New Year's Eve dinner was excellent, and I enjoyed every course (with dessert being the weakest). I do think they could work on a few points to bring service up a level. First, during their afternoon hot beverage/pastry offering (3:30-5:30 p.m.), I went one afternoon at 4:45 p.m., and the three plates of goodies were completely empty except for one lone tart. For a resort of its caliber, the Boar's Head needs to keep this replenished since they're advertising it or perhaps only offer it for one hour versus two. Second, we ordered a casual meal through room service for dinner one night, and the cheeseburgers were awful--undercooked inside and overcooked outside of the patty. The fries were delicious, but they were the worst burgers we'd had in a long time. Third, after cleaning our room, the cleaning staff left our dirty towels/dishes on a table outside our room for 24 hours. Since our room was near the Inn Store, this was an eyesore for anyone who passed. Again, just not the level of service I'd think the Boar's Head would encourage. All in all, it was a great stay, and we'll be back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My brother and sister-in-law were in for the Holidays and stayed at the Inn. When we went to pick them up for a dinner I was awed by the effort the Inn made to make it look like a Christmas Fairy Tale. Absolutely beautifully decorated with millions (really!) of tiny twinkle lights, many many wreaths, lots of decorated Christmas Trees, garlands, etc. The Inn has improved over the years but this was startling. According to my brother the rooms were wonderful, each having a wreath and very comfortable mattresses and they had a view of the lake. They only dined once. They opted for the breakfast buffet, which they said was fair.

I hosted a conference at the Inn last May and was extremely pleased with the Conference Center, the service and the food was actually outstanding.

The sports club hosts the best indoor tennis courts and Squash courts probably in the whole state. as well as a large swimming pool and very small playground is available to guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake-side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Made a brief family visit on our way to Monticello and points south. Were upgraded to a charming & luxurious guest room in the Hunt Club building directly next door to the main inn / lobby. Also enjoyed the elegant holiday tea on the porch of the Grist Mill Inn, which was both delicious & quite reasonably priced (by Washington, DC standards, anyway.) Only regret was that the rain prevented us from enjoying the resort's beautiful grounds and walking trails.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Boar's Head Inn has lots of character and traditional charm. It was a lovely experience. Missing star was for average service. I have included some pictures that tell better the story. It is also very close to UVA and the downtown mall.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barboursville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Had Thanksgiving Brunch at the Boars Head inn. Since we live in the Charlottesville area and have had brunch there many times before we thought it would be nice to go out to a top notch place instead of going through all the preparation of having Thanksgiving at home. BIG MISTAKE. First the parking, parking there was inadequate for the amount of people they were having for brunch and guests staying there. The food was as stated mediocre at best. Our reservation was for 130pm the tuna and duck were gone, the sliced beef was hammered Nothing worse than well done sliced beef in a chafing dish, it should have been carved. The ham was just a big deli sandwich ham, a nice spiral ham would have been better. The seafood bar had frozen snow crab claws and shrimp. The oysters were obviously shucked the day before they were dry, should have been shucked that day. The scallop salad was ok. The turkey breast was dry and you had to dig through bones and tendons in the dark meat chafer to get any dark meat. The lobster bisque tasted like it was made from lobster base. The other items in the chaffers were standard Thanksgiving fare, nothing special. The floor staff was NON-EXISTENT, we had to clear our own plates and it took forever to get water refills. The mimosas were good as well as the coffee. Buy the time we got to the dessert table the desserts were practically gone, no pumpkin pie, one small piece of apple strudel nothing chocolate at all, the mince pie was the lamest I've ever had. I expected so much more since we've had brunch there before and enjoyed it. This was a total and expensive let down. We would have been better off going to Wood Grill if they were open.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.4 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,690 reviews
2.6 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
285 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
893 reviews
8.4 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Property: The Boar's Head
Address: 200 Ednam Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4674
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boar's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boar's Head is a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance, exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. Located on a bucolic 573-acre country estate, our AAA Four Diamond resort offers 175 guest rooms and suites, Four Diamond dining in the Old Mill Room, a wide variety of world class recreational activities, spa and 22,000 square feet of meeting facilities for groups of 20 to 630. Owned and operated by the University of Virginia Foundation, Boar's Head is just minutes from the University of Virginia that was founded by Thomas Jefferson, only two hours from Washington, D.C., And at the foot of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boar`s Head Hotel Charlottesville
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Charlottesville
Boars Head Inn Charlottesville Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing