We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel but disappointing in some ways”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Boar's Head
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Tappahannock, Virginia
Level Contributor
707 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Charming hotel but disappointing in some ways”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Everything about the Boar's Head looks and feels perfect until you try to spend a night in one of the newer room (11xx, 12xx, 13xx) which have wall mounted outside heating/cooling units - these units are similar to motel units and the compressor cycle on and off all night long, cold and warm air, vibrating and rattling until we jammed it with towels. Then breakfast was 40 minutes later than requested! Then they would not accept my room number to pay for drinks in the ballroom bar! I was expecting so much but was truly disappointed.....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank northernneckinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    223
    82
    32
    15
See reviews for
199
324
21
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We found the inn from a friend that attended school in Charlottesville. We were just there for 1 night (for a basketball game). Quaint setting, enjoyed the bar for drinks in the evening, (very clubby feel), with comfortable oversized chairs in the back. Service was excellent.

Room was a newly renovated King with balcony, it was clean, and well appointed. We would certainly come back again for a weekend and try using the spa and golf.

Room Tip: We were in a building near the spa not the main hotel. It was quiet and close to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLSNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Spent the night and ate at the wonderful restaurant, Old Mill Room, before picking up a happy camper from a sports camp the next day. Great for a girls getaway - and very convenient to the camp. Dinner was amazing and the room was nice. Not totally top-notch, but not deplorable. It felt like an old family house - which I liked.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glade Spring, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Only a one night stay, but we found the Boars Head to be excellent. Beautiful Christmas decorations and trees, nice cookies and tea/coffee in the afternoon. Excellent beds and bedding. Missed having a tub however.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidandbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Driving up to the Boar's Head during Christmas was delightful. It's decorated tastefully and masterfully and helps puts you in the holiday spirit. We had a lovely, spacious suite (which had a wonderful gas fireplace--not one of those cheap/low flame types--even though we miss the wood burning fireplaces they used to have in some rooms) and really enjoyed our stay. The New Year's Eve dinner was excellent, and I enjoyed every course (with dessert being the weakest). I do think they could work on a few points to bring service up a level. First, during their afternoon hot beverage/pastry offering (3:30-5:30 p.m.), I went one afternoon at 4:45 p.m., and the three plates of goodies were completely empty except for one lone tart. For a resort of its caliber, the Boar's Head needs to keep this replenished since they're advertising it or perhaps only offer it for one hour versus two. Second, we ordered a casual meal through room service for dinner one night, and the cheeseburgers were awful--undercooked inside and overcooked outside of the patty. The fries were delicious, but they were the worst burgers we'd had in a long time. Third, after cleaning our room, the cleaning staff left our dirty towels/dishes on a table outside our room for 24 hours. Since our room was near the Inn Store, this was an eyesore for anyone who passed. Again, just not the level of service I'd think the Boar's Head would encourage. All in all, it was a great stay, and we'll be back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My brother and sister-in-law were in for the Holidays and stayed at the Inn. When we went to pick them up for a dinner I was awed by the effort the Inn made to make it look like a Christmas Fairy Tale. Absolutely beautifully decorated with millions (really!) of tiny twinkle lights, many many wreaths, lots of decorated Christmas Trees, garlands, etc. The Inn has improved over the years but this was startling. According to my brother the rooms were wonderful, each having a wreath and very comfortable mattresses and they had a view of the lake. They only dined once. They opted for the breakfast buffet, which they said was fair.

I hosted a conference at the Inn last May and was extremely pleased with the Conference Center, the service and the food was actually outstanding.

The sports club hosts the best indoor tennis courts and Squash courts probably in the whole state. as well as a large swimming pool and very small playground is available to guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake-side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Made a brief family visit on our way to Monticello and points south. Were upgraded to a charming & luxurious guest room in the Hunt Club building directly next door to the main inn / lobby. Also enjoyed the elegant holiday tea on the porch of the Grist Mill Inn, which was both delicious & quite reasonably priced (by Washington, DC standards, anyway.) Only regret was that the rain prevented us from enjoying the resort's beautiful grounds and walking trails.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.4 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,625 reviews
2.6 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
337 reviews
1.5 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
287 reviews
2.5 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Property: The Boar's Head
Address: 200 Ednam Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4674
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boar's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boar's Head is a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance, exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. Located on a bucolic 573-acre country estate, our AAA Four Diamond resort offers 175 guest rooms and suites, Four Diamond dining in the Old Mill Room, a wide variety of world class recreational activities, spa and 22,000 square feet of meeting facilities for groups of 20 to 630. Owned and operated by the University of Virginia Foundation, Boar's Head is just minutes from the University of Virginia that was founded by Thomas Jefferson, only two hours from Washington, D.C., And at the foot of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boar`s Head Hotel Charlottesville
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Charlottesville
Boars Head Inn Charlottesville Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing