We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”
Review of Boar's Head Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boar's Head Resort
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed at the boars head recently.The grounds were so beautiful and well kept great walks.Food was excellent,staff were friendly and helpful.The room was nice and clean would stay there again.maybe a little expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank recycleclonmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

The landscaping and trees on the property was just beautiful. The old lady does not show her age.
The facility was well maintained. Our room was on the ground floor with a patio. We spent more time there than in the room. I loved the menu in the Old Mill Room. The buffet had many delicious choices at a very reasonable price. We will return!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a patio overlooking the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JHD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The facility has a very historic look and feel. The rooms are not large but are cozy and what you should expect in a historic landmark. It was clean and the staff were friendly and always there to help.The food was also amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We arrived to a smiling young woman at check in, was so helpful, had all our requests, didn't even have to ask all over again like a lot of hotels. We were upgraded to a suite and it was fabulous! The decor was so nice and the room was well thought out, including the bathroom! Would stay there again without hesitation! Oh, the breakfast buffet was the best ever and my husband and I are not usually buffet people.Loved our stay!!!!

Room Tip: We were on a 3rd floor, felt like our own little hide a way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my father came to Charlottesville to visit Monticello, a life long dream for my dad. I choose The Boars Head for a few reasons, the grounds are beautiful and peaceful, the reviews were great, also the location. It was "downtown" but it was only a very short drive, all things my dad likes. When we got there everything exceeded my expectations. I had such a wonderful time. I really didn't want to leave! For sure I will be back with my boyfriend. Can't wait!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Mickey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Boars Head is located in Charlottesville, VA, a neighboring city to ours and we try to get away there once or twice a year. Based on a reconstructed mill and developed into a complete complex with sports, tennis, swimming, spa etc. etc. Lovely setting around a small lake and first rate architecture and is run by UVA real estate group. Very good restaurant and great Sunday brunch buffet and a bar with a roof deck overlooking the lake, it has it all. Definitely more of a resort than a chain hotel experience. Very relaxing for a one night or weekend get away. Outstanding staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room overlooking the lake although most do plus they have balconies as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tee-Bone-Tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Beautiful setting, lots of history, lots to do...I very much enjoyed my conference but I'd love to go back and really enjoy myself. There's beautiful grounds and the food was fantastic. Loved the weather in May as well, which just enhances the entire experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.4 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,812 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
757 reviews
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
252 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boar's Head Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boar's Head Resort

Address: 200 Ednam Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4674
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £138 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boar's Head Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boar's Head is a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance, exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. Located on a bucolic 573-acre country estate, our AAA Four Diamond resort offers 175 guest rooms and suites, Four Diamond dining in the Old Mill Room, a wide variety of world class recreational activities, spa and 22,000 square feet of meeting facilities for groups of 20 to 630. Owned and operated by the University of Virginia Foundation, Boar's Head is just minutes from the University of Virginia that was founded by Thomas Jefferson, only two hours from Washington, D.C., And at the foot of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Boar's Head Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boar`s Head Hotel Charlottesville
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Charlottesville
Boars Head Inn Charlottesville Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing