We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The very best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Boar's Head
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The very best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The location, grounds, service and amenities are outstanding! There is a reason this is a 4 Diamond resort and it shows. Although I stayed at the Boar's Head for business I am definitely returning with the family for pleasure this fall!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    223
    82
    32
    15
See reviews for
200
324
21
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We booked a suite for a long weekend. The staff was pleasant, but, oddly, we were not asked if we wanted assistance with our luggage when we checked in. Our building was accessed through a dingy lobby that smelled of mildew and cleaning chemicals. It had the look and feel of a neglected college dorm. The suite was spacious but drab. The carpets had not been recently vacuumed. The mattress on our bed had seen better days, and should be replaced. The towels were paper thin and rough, of the quality you would expect at a bargain motel. The property is owned by UVA, which could turn this nicely located hotel into an more attractive facility by investing in upgrades and a facelift.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BH_Pat_Burnette, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review! We appreciate you choosing to stay at Boar’s Head. We are continually upgrading and enhancing our property. We regret that we fell short of your expectations in certain areas. We hope that you will accept our heartfelt apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment caused. We would welcome the opportunity to establish contact with you, so we may learn more about your visit and take immediate action to address these issues. Booking a suite for a long weekend is a perfect way to experience Boar’s Head! We hope you will consider staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Service is impeccable in this attractive, historic hotel. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, and beautifully kept. Lovely grounds, and beautiful surroundings. There is a good restaurant and bistro on site, but the town of Charlottesville is not far away. We have stayed here several times, and always want to return. We come here to play golf and visit the many wineries, plus a welcome peaceful break not far from DC.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strainian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BH_Pat_Burnette, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We appreciate your TripAdvisor review! It is an honor to have you as a loyal returning guest. Thank you for your continued business. Please let us know when we might reserve your next nine, wine and dine retreat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have always wanted to stay at The Boar's Head for UVA's Reunion Weekend but always thought about it too late to be able to get accommodations. This time we planned ahead and were more than pleased. The place is fabulous from the facilities to the grounds. The concierge went out of their way to accommodate our request for a place to plug in our Tesla - nicely done!!! We only ate in the Bistro, but it was superb as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wairever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BH_Pat_Burnette, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Robin, thank you for the terrific TripAdvisor post! We are pleased you planned ahead and we could accommodate you for UVA’s Reunion Weekend. We'll look forward to seeing you in your Tesla again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have stayed at the Boar's Head on several occasions. The facilities and the staff are excellent. Very conveniently located to U. Va. and to many of the wineries in the area. Sports facilities Including the pool are very nice. We did not use the golf course.,

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the lake to enhance the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clonmel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed at the boars head recently.The grounds were so beautiful and well kept great walks.Food was excellent,staff were friendly and helpful.The room was nice and clean would stay there again.maybe a little expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recycleclonmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The landscaping and trees on the property was just beautiful. The old lady does not show her age.
The facility was well maintained. Our room was on the ground floor with a patio. We spent more time there than in the room. I loved the menu in the Old Mill Room. The buffet had many delicious choices at a very reasonable price. We will return!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a patio overlooking the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.4 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
2.6 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.5 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.5 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Property: The Boar's Head
Address: 200 Ednam Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4674
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boar's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boar's Head is a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance, exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. Located on a bucolic 573-acre country estate, our AAA Four Diamond resort offers 175 guest rooms and suites, Four Diamond dining in the Old Mill Room, a wide variety of world class recreational activities, spa and 22,000 square feet of meeting facilities for groups of 20 to 630. Owned and operated by the University of Virginia Foundation, Boar's Head is just minutes from the University of Virginia that was founded by Thomas Jefferson, only two hours from Washington, D.C., And at the foot of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boar`s Head Hotel Charlottesville
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Charlottesville
Boars Head Inn Charlottesville Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing