We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boar's Head Resort
Nearby Hotels
The English Inn of Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$142
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$120
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$200
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$259
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
UVA Inn at Darden(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,077)
Filter reviews
1,077 results
Traveller rating
629
272
114
45
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
629
272
114
45
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold millsports clubbeautiful resorthunt clubthe main lodgetennis courtslake viewwalking trailsgrounds are lovelyour room was spaciouslong weekendfitness centercharlottesville areabistropropertysquashuva
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
776 - 781 of 1,077 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We particularly enjoyed the food and the service. We were handled like family. We'll return again for sure. The pool was great and we enjoyed our walks around the facility. We will be planning another this year (we usually only schedule one visit per year).

Room Tip: Work with the front desk folks.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel over the Fourth of July and had a nice time. We thought the Ednam rooms were very nice with a large porch. We enjoyed fishing and walking the trails. Breakfast was very nice. Dinner at 1884 was fine but not a destination in itself. The Sports Club facilities were very nice. Wish they had mentioned Farmington fireworks could be seen from resort. They sent us to McIntire Park for fireworks which was a zoo. Boar's Head should do their own fireworks and have more planned for the Fourth of July. They should not send guests to McIntire Park.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TaylorwestGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BH_Pat_Burnette, Marketing & Communications Manager at Boar's Head Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for choosing Boar’s Head for your Fourth of July holiday weekend and for your TripAdvisor post! We are very pleased that you took advantage of the Ednam rooms with their large porches. Also, we’re delighted to learn that you enjoyed fishing, the walking trails and the sports facility. Unfortunately, we are not at liberty to send guests to Farmington to enjoy the fireworks there as it is a private club and gated community. We regret that the McIntire fireworks display, a longstanding Charlottesville tradition, was too congested. We do hope you took advantage of some of our July 4th events: a day-long flag day golf contest at Birdwood; games such as water balloon toss and a 3-legged relay on the upper lawn at 10am; complimentary chair massages at the spa; the BBQ buffet; and, of course, the bounce house. Please know that we greatly appreciate your stay and your valuable feedback; it helps us improve and develop these activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just spent our first weekend away at the Boars Head. This hotel is fantastic the service was outstanding from everyone who i came in contact with. The rooms are clean and comfortable the gym is new with more equipment then anyone would need. This property is also very centrally located to all the Charlottesville attractions including great restaurants and vineyards. its a bit older but very clean and rustic. Will stay here again next summer.

Room Tip: Stay on the Bed and Breakfast the buffet is delicious. Have lunch at the family pool its a great menu and much less expensive then the adult poos menu.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nice facilities and the hotel was very nice. Room and bed quality excellent. Staff very friendly. There are 2 restaurants. The one is a little pricey for the area but the bar area restaurant is great and affordable. I would recommend any to stay in this hotel anytime and I stay in hotels for work almost every week.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurfRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here after arriving from a long flight. We had a cozy room that has a porch overlooking the lake. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The towels and robes are high-quality. They have a spacious gym, pool area, and a nice trail around the property. We also enjoyed a lovely late dinner at the Bistro 1834, their less formal restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieStormborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews