We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Boar's Head Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boar's Head Resort
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay at the boars head. Wonderful room and front desk service, great rooms with modern furnishings but with still retaining the classic Virginia charm. Our room was right by the construction but the sound was minimal and we barely noticed at all. All in all it was a wonderful two days spent there

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank killangrathor31 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

I surprised my huband for his 50th birthday got the stay and play package. Golf course was fantatic saw a lot of nature.The resturant was very good and the staff was very attentive.Very impressed with the rooms very updated and beautiful, the turn down service was great loved the chocolates.I would liketo thank everyone for a special weekend .Definitely will be back

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank happy23-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were first time visitors but will return as often as we can....what a spectacular setting...rolling hills, quiet, ponds and gardens.
Our room was a standard King room for under $200..midweek during summer. The room was so beautiful I made notes and took pictures so I could use some of the decorating ideas back home
The bed was comfortable and the linens were extraordinary...an upholstered bench at the end of the bed, new carpet, chair and ottoman coordinated with the beautiful floral drapes on the patio door, the bathroom had a glass enclosed shower large enough for two.
The decor was exquisite!!!!
There was a spa but we didnt have time to visit it...we did go swimming in the outdoor pool and although it was unheated, it was hot and humid so that the swim was very refreshing.
We had a balcony where we had breakfast from room service the next morning..the food was wonderful..there was a complimentary afternoon service of coffee/tea and pastries (made by the chef) in the afternoon in a quiet library like room with windows overlooking the grounds
We encountered pleasant and professional staff everywhere. Will definitely return!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Room was large and nicely decorated. Bed was very comfy with good pillows and linens. Resort staff were very pleasant and the grounds were beautiful. Only a short drive to University of Virginia and good hiking areas.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

was charged $500.00 a night , was supposed to stay for 4 days luckily I found another hotel. it is old dated and I can't believe they have the nerve to charge that much. is acceptable if they were charging under $75.00. still cant believe it

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
6  Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BH_Pat_Burnette, Marketing & Communications Manager at Boar's Head Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor post! We regret you found us to be old and dated. We never want a guest to feel that way about our accommodations which is why we completely renovated all 175 of our guest rooms between December 2011 and April 2012. Much thought and attention to detail was given to each of the final selections. For instance, custom designed fabrics have fresh bright colors reflecting those found in both the local landscape and historical references. Rich textures and finishes in both furniture and fabrics add a warm, residential feeling to the rooms. We regret you didn’t reach out to one of our staff to share your concerns. We are delighted you found a hotel more to your liking. If you every wish to give us another chance, please allow me to handle your reservation personally. All the best in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Outstanding staff behind the front desk, restaurants and around the grounds. Very comfortable rooms, everything was perfect. Check-in was quick, friendly and professional. Breakfast was outstanding, both food and service. Enjoyed every minute of my stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was a great place to stay for our family. We enjoyed the pool area. Good location. It is a quiet property with friendly staff. We would stay again if we were in Charlottesville. The housekeeping staff was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.4 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,880 reviews
2.6 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#3 of 35 in Charlottesville
798 reviews
3.4 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
720 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charlottesville-UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boar's Head Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boar's Head Resort

Address: 200 Ednam Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4674
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £127 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boar's Head Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boar's Head is a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance, exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. Located on a bucolic 573-acre country estate, our AAA Four Diamond resort offers 175 guest rooms and suites, Four Diamond dining in the Old Mill Room, a wide variety of world class recreational activities, spa and 22,000 square feet of meeting facilities for groups of 20 to 630. Owned and operated by the University of Virginia Foundation, Boar's Head is just minutes from the University of Virginia that was founded by Thomas Jefferson, only two hours from Washington, D.C., And at the foot of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Boar's Head Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boar`s Head Hotel Charlottesville
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Charlottesville
Boars Head Inn Charlottesville Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing