We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed staying at The Boar's Head for a 3-day reunion.”
Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Boar's Head
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We enjoyed staying at The Boar's Head for a 3-day reunion.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Four college friends got together for a reunion in Charlottesville, VA, and we had a wonderful stay at The Boar's Head Inn. As it happened to be restaurant week, we had a delicious dinner at The Old Mill restaurant for a very reasonable price. Our room was quiet and had a nice view. The grounds of the inn were beautiful, and staff treated us well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 79GailB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BH_Pat_Burnette, Marketing & Communications Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Gail B, Boar’s Head thanks you for your post and for assembling four college friends and making the short drive from Fairfax for a reunion in C'ville. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay. Boar’s Head’s Charlottesville Restaurant Week package is a fabulous find that happens twice a year. We hope you’ll create a new tradition of gathering together with us each January and July. WaHooWa…UVA Class of ’83!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    226
    86
    33
    15
See reviews for
205
330
21
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Nobody can fault the beautiful setting of this place, just outside of downtown Charlottesville and nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. There is a center pond, surrounded by weeping willows and a walking path. The sleeping rooms are located in a few out buildings, some more modern than others. The formal dining room, casual bar/bistro, and reception are in another building. The food in the bistro was really pretty good and Kirby, our waiter was absolutely excellent. After that, things get a bit funny:
While the hotel rooms themselves are really lovely -- modern well-equipped bathrooms and large, nicely furnished rooms with patios or balconies -- the hallways in, and entrances to the buildings are dinghy with awkward access to rooms. The Ednam Building is the largest of the out buildings with a very long corridor and only one elevator in the middle. The hotel has a very large sports complex with a huge pool and other facilities. Unfortunately, the complex itself is an eyesore (looks like a warehouse) amidst the gentle surroundings. The hotel's other pool is an adults-only pool adjacent to the spa. The pool itself is nice, but again, the pool patio and awning are old and dinghy. I also found the front desk staff to be oddly stiff and formal.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pond-front room cost more. Rooms in the Ednam building offer a patio on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Due to a dishonest billing practice we'll never stay there again. I cancelled our 2 rooms ($6,000.00) for Graduation 2015 and I was charged a 10% fee that was never explained. I'm a travel blogger and I've never had this happen with so much notice. It is an unfair & bad faith business practice that others need to know about.

Room Tip: Make sure you are away from the many events and parties hosted at the note.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travelmarm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay at the boars head. Wonderful room and front desk service, great rooms with modern furnishings but with still retaining the classic Virginia charm. Our room was right by the construction but the sound was minimal and we barely noticed at all. All in all it was a wonderful two days spent there

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank killangrathor31 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I surprised my huband for his 50th birthday got the stay and play package. Golf course was fantatic saw a lot of nature.The resturant was very good and the staff was very attentive.Very impressed with the rooms very updated and beautiful, the turn down service was great loved the chocolates.I would liketo thank everyone for a special weekend .Definitely will be back

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank happy23-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were first time visitors but will return as often as we can....what a spectacular setting...rolling hills, quiet, ponds and gardens.
Our room was a standard King room for under $200..midweek during summer. The room was so beautiful I made notes and took pictures so I could use some of the decorating ideas back home
The bed was comfortable and the linens were extraordinary...an upholstered bench at the end of the bed, new carpet, chair and ottoman coordinated with the beautiful floral drapes on the patio door, the bathroom had a glass enclosed shower large enough for two.
The decor was exquisite!!!!
There was a spa but we didnt have time to visit it...we did go swimming in the outdoor pool and although it was unheated, it was hot and humid so that the swim was very refreshing.
We had a balcony where we had breakfast from room service the next morning..the food was wonderful..there was a complimentary afternoon service of coffee/tea and pastries (made by the chef) in the afternoon in a quiet library like room with windows overlooking the grounds
We encountered pleasant and professional staff everywhere. Will definitely return!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenville, nc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Room was large and nicely decorated. Bed was very comfy with good pillows and linens. Resort staff were very pleasant and the grounds were beautiful. Only a short drive to University of Virginia and good hiking areas.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.4 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
2.6 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.5 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.5 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Property: The Boar's Head
Address: 200 Ednam Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4674
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boar's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boar's Head is a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance, exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. Located on a bucolic 573-acre country estate, our AAA Four Diamond resort offers 175 guest rooms and suites, Four Diamond dining in the Old Mill Room, a wide variety of world class recreational activities, spa and 22,000 square feet of meeting facilities for groups of 20 to 630. Owned and operated by the University of Virginia Foundation, Boar's Head is just minutes from the University of Virginia that was founded by Thomas Jefferson, only two hours from Washington, D.C., And at the foot of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boar`s Head Hotel Charlottesville
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Charlottesville
Boars Head Inn Charlottesville Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing