We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Not Stay Here Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Charlottesville North
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Let me start off by saying that we are Marriott Rewards members and stay at Courtyards frequently. While this hotel WAS clean and your just like any other typical Marriott Courtyard, after our personal experience we would not stay at this particular hotel again.

We arrived early (2:00pm) and we knew check-in was not until 3:00pm, we figured we may be able to get our room. The front desk said that there were no rooms available yet as they were sold out the night before (fine with us, we knew we were early). We waited in the lobby. At 3:00pm on the dot we were called over to be given our keys. We went to our room only to find out that our air conditioning was broken. We went back to the front desk and told the lady. She said she would send the maintenance man to the room. We went back and waited for an hour and called to say nobody had come yet. The man was then there in two minutes. He looked at the AC and could not get it working and left. At this point we had to get ready and go to a wedding. We packed our things (thinking we would switch rooms) and went and told the front desk that we had to leave for a wedding and it needed to be fixed by the time we got back or else we would like a new room.

We got back from the wedding around 10:00 and guess what, no AC. Back to the front desk we went, telling them that we would check-out and drive home and get a full refund rather than stay there. They seemed OK with that. The maintenance man met us at our room and said he had gotten it working while we were away. He did get it working, but then five minutes later it stopped. At this point we were so annoyed and exhausted we just needed sleep as we had to get up at the crack of dawn the next morning to drive home for work. My husband went up to the front desk and they said they would find a fan for our room. About 20 minutes later a knock on our door with a small desk fan (yes, better than nothing). (We also could have opened our door, however we were on the ground floor and did not feel safe leaving it open for anyone to walk in).

When we checked out the next morning and were asked how our stay was we told the new front desk person how horrible the room was with no A/C. She said she was sorry and would add some extra points to our account. 1,000 to be exact. That does not do anything. I would have appreciated a comp'd room, discounted, anything. 1,000 points will not get me anywhere and was almost like a slap in the face. So, needless to say we won't be staying at this particular Courtyard again.

Room Tip: Not at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mims0785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Mindy I,
Please accept my sincerest apologies for the uncomfortable night you had in our hotel recently. I can imagine how frustrating that must have been to not be able to get your room to a comfortable temperature, and in a timely manner. Please know that this experience is unusual for us and I hope that we can earn your trust back on your next visit to Charlottesville. Thank you very much for your feedback. It helps us a great deal.
Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed 5/2/2014. Excellent service at check in. Very clean, well maintained. Nice beds & towels. Quiet, perfect stay. Beds seemed normal height to me & I'm 5'2. We did not eat at the bistro because we wanted to go out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmilinSkylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

My Mom and I were traveling for a funeral in Culpepper, and chose to stay here since we enjoy the Courtyard brand. We were so pleased to have an early check in accomodated so that we could change out of travel clothes. The staff was very friendly. The beds were comfortable (but they are a bit tall.... more of a climbing than falling into bed!), the linens were clean, and the shower had great water pressure. There was a microwave and a refrigerator in the room, as well, and both were sparkling clean. The property has been renovated in recent years and has a modern decorating scheme that I found very pleasant.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank tristamaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We love Courtyard Marriotts, but this location was by far the nicest. The staff was helpful in every way, pleasant and professional. The rooms were large and beautifully decorated. Wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsahovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Isohovey,
Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel! To say that this is the nicest Marriott Courtyard you've ever stayed at is an incredible compliment! I can't wait to share that with my staff. Thank you again for taking the time to let us and your fellow travelers know about your experience. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon! Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

stayed here this past week while my son visited UVA. Clean rooms , great staff at the bistro in the morning and evening when they were working hard, great location.walking distance to restaurants and parking garage a plus.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newjerseybeachbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Our room was spotless and due to just completed renovations everything was brand new. The carpet walls and even the beds were new. Very comfy couch also. Staff was super friendly and accommodating. Even called the room to make sure all was in order. Definitely would book again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorib428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear lorib428, Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel. We are proud of having the newest rooms in Charlottesville, so I am thrilled that you love them too. Thank you for recognizing my staff as well. I will certainly pass along your compliments to them. We hope to see you back with us again soon! Thank you again for taking the time to rate us. Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Frankly, where do you start ? -- the friendly and efficient manner of the normal shuttle driver; the Ritz-Carlton-like-"welcome" from the Front Desk, the genuine, sincerity in all associates for guest well-being, the team spirit, cultivated by Elizabeth (Marriott Corporate at Bear Cat Drive, you have a star here) - this is a wonderful property.

Rooms are light, modern and airy, Internet is efficient and (relatively) fast; recently refurbished, the beds are a knockout; outdoor space is a plus - be it in terms of balcony, or patio.

The layout of the room is flawless - from the height of the desks, to the position of the lighting and outlets; the beds are ridiculously comfortable.

This property blows Doubletree and the others around, out of the water. Kudos to all who have made this possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet courtyard with a balcony sun trap for late afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear PBRD, Thank you very much for your glowing review of our hotel! We are very proud of our new, modern, sleek rooms and are so glad that you found them "flawless". You are extremely kind to speak about me as well, but the stars at this hotel are definitely my staff. I am just fortunate to be part of the team. Thank you again for your wonderful comments. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Safe Travels! Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charlottesville-UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
301 reviews
2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
991 reviews
1 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#3 of 35 in Charlottesville
798 reviews
1.6 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charlottesville North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charlottesville North

Address: 638 Hillsdale Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1715
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £68 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charlottesville North 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Courtyard Charlottesville North hotel is conveniently located off Route 29 North, just minutes from historic downtown Charlottesville. This Charlottesville hotel is in close proximity to a variety of specialty shops and restaurants, as well as, near the University of Virginia (UVA), home of the Cavaliers. Courtyard Charlottesville is a short drive from Monticello Plantation and in close proximity to the southern entrance of Shenandoah National Park.Designed for the business traveler, yet pleasing for all, the Courtyard Charlottesville North knows what is important to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Charlottesville North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charlottesville North Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Marriott
Charlottesville Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing