We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Charlottesville North
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Solid, pleasant hotel”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Nice, quiet hotel a bit out of downtown. High quality accommodations, attractive lobby, nice furnishings. It's a bit off the main road so driving there requires winding through some parking lots but it's worth it because it's much quieter.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzwanzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear jzwanzig, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm so glad that you found us "quiet, attractive and high quality". Those are qualities I think everyone wants in a hotel! I appreciate you taking the time to let us know that enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon! Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    69
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
53
41
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

With a family member participating in a clinical trial at UVA Medical Center we have had the need to be in Charlottesville 3 times over the past month. Based on positive reviews I booked this hotel for our first stay. The positive reviews are spot on so we have twice returned. The hotel has become our go to hotel in Charlottesville and we'll return 5 more times this summer. After a six hour drive and late arrival I can't tell you how appreciative we are of the always quick and courteous check-in, ample and convenient parking and a clean comfortable room. In the morning we get coffee and breakfast at the Bistro and drive 10 minutes to UVA. Thank you to the entire staff for doing what you do well. My family and I are grateful. See you soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Tom E,
Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel with so many compliments! It is our pleasure to give you and your family the great service that you deserve. If there is anything more that we can do for you during your upcoming stays, please don't hesitate to let us know now or upon your arrival. Thank you very much for the opportunity to host your family again. We look forward to seeing you soon! Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Pleasant surprise after we were unable to book the University location. Many excellent restaurants, convenient and exceptional shopping; all close by. Large touchscreen internet/ TV in the lobby was an added bonus for travel, weather, flight information and news. Very pleased with the hotel staff. Not one downside, (with the exception being the pillows, which could have been a bit better)our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flg8trmdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear flg8trmdmom, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel! I'm very happy that you got the chance to try us out for the first time! We are definitely in the best location for a variety of restuarants, great shopping and more. You'll be glad to hear that we are right in the middle of replacing all of our pillows, so your next visit will be absolutely perfect! Thank you again for your feedback. It is much appreciated! Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine FL
Level Contributor
637 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I love a new hotel and a newly remodeled hotel and this place was just remodeled.

I stayed here this week for work and was very happy with my stay. The room was super clean, the bed was comfy and it could not have been better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregbooras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear gregbooras, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel! I love hearing that your stay "could not have been better". That is what we aim for with every guest and I'm so glad that you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you again, Elizabeth Paitrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Woods, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The room was large and well appointed. I was allowed late checkout on the day of my departure and was given courtesy transportation to the airport with a most friendly driver. He and all the staff were exceptional, great representatives of the eastablishment, and they are especially the reason I would return and recommend this Courtyard to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElderTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear ElderTraveller, Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel! We are always happy to accomodate our guests in any way possible, especially with late check outs or early check ins. Thank you for noting my staff is exceptional; I agree! They will love to hear that feedback. Thank you again for the review. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon! Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Britain, Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very nice hotel, convenient to Charlottesville area. Very clean, well kept. Extremely comfortable bed. Staff was super nice and helpful. Nice to have car parked near entrance to room - there are many entrances.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuMurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Let me start off by saying that we are Marriott Rewards members and stay at Courtyards frequently. While this hotel WAS clean and your just like any other typical Marriott Courtyard, after our personal experience we would not stay at this particular hotel again.

We arrived early (2:00pm) and we knew check-in was not until 3:00pm, we figured we may be able to get our room. The front desk said that there were no rooms available yet as they were sold out the night before (fine with us, we knew we were early). We waited in the lobby. At 3:00pm on the dot we were called over to be given our keys. We went to our room only to find out that our air conditioning was broken. We went back to the front desk and told the lady. She said she would send the maintenance man to the room. We went back and waited for an hour and called to say nobody had come yet. The man was then there in two minutes. He looked at the AC and could not get it working and left. At this point we had to get ready and go to a wedding. We packed our things (thinking we would switch rooms) and went and told the front desk that we had to leave for a wedding and it needed to be fixed by the time we got back or else we would like a new room.

We got back from the wedding around 10:00 and guess what, no AC. Back to the front desk we went, telling them that we would check-out and drive home and get a full refund rather than stay there. They seemed OK with that. The maintenance man met us at our room and said he had gotten it working while we were away. He did get it working, but then five minutes later it stopped. At this point we were so annoyed and exhausted we just needed sleep as we had to get up at the crack of dawn the next morning to drive home for work. My husband went up to the front desk and they said they would find a fan for our room. About 20 minutes later a knock on our door with a small desk fan (yes, better than nothing). (We also could have opened our door, however we were on the ground floor and did not feel safe leaving it open for anyone to walk in).

When we checked out the next morning and were asked how our stay was we told the new front desk person how horrible the room was with no A/C. She said she was sorry and would add some extra points to our account. 1,000 to be exact. That does not do anything. I would have appreciated a comp'd room, discounted, anything. 1,000 points will not get me anywhere and was almost like a slap in the face. So, needless to say we won't be staying at this particular Courtyard again.

Room Tip: Not at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mims0785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Mindy I,
Please accept my sincerest apologies for the uncomfortable night you had in our hotel recently. I can imagine how frustrating that must have been to not be able to get your room to a comfortable temperature, and in a timely manner. Please know that this experience is unusual for us and I hope that we can earn your trust back on your next visit to Charlottesville. Thank you very much for your feedback. It helps us a great deal.
Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
351 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
140 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn Charlottesville
Residence Inn Charlottesville
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
251 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#29 of 35 in Charlottesville
302 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charlottesville North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charlottesville North

Property: Courtyard Charlottesville North
Address: 638 Hillsdale Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1715
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charlottesville North 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Courtyard Charlottesville North hotel is conveniently located off Route 29 North, just minutes from historic downtown Charlottesville. This Charlottesville hotel is in close proximity to a variety of specialty shops and restaurants, as well as, near the University of Virginia (UVA), home of the Cavaliers. Courtyard Charlottesville is a short drive from Monticello Plantation and in close proximity to the southern entrance of Shenandoah National Park.Designed for the business traveler, yet pleasing for all, the Courtyard Charlottesville North knows what is important to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Charlottesville North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charlottesville North Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Marriott
Charlottesville Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing