We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stay, good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Charlottesville North
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I traveled on business, so arrived late left early. The room was comfortable as well as spacious. I like Marriott properties because they are always consistent. The overall hotel was nice and clean. Staff was friendly and accommodating which is how I normally rate a hotel. Beds, rooms, wallpaper, all not important if the staff isn't courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Royrsp, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, especially mentioning how friendly and acomodating my staff is. That's our goal even if your stay is a quick one! I hope we will get the chance to have you as our guest again soon. Thank you again. Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

One certainly expects to find an attractive, clean, quiet hotel when booking a room at a Marriott Courtyard. And that was certainly what the Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North delivered, but that was not all! I have never experienced anything quite like the warmth and concern shown by the on-duty receptionist, Darnell, when my husband and I arrived. A last minute decision to get away from some difficulties we were dealing with at home brought us to the Courtyard in a somewhat vulnerable state. Darrell welcomed us warmly and asked if we were traveling for business or pleasure. I quietly responded "neither, we are just trying to run away!" He apparently observed my distress and asked if there was anything he could do to help. I responded no and thanked him, but asked if our room was ready so that we could check in. After a few minutes at the computer, he informed me that he had upgraded our room and hoped that would help. The room was spacious and lovely -- as was the hotel. It has recently been renovated and has a nice contemporary feel, with soothing colors, comfortable furniture and welcoming spaces in which to gather and relax. It is set far back from the highway and we were able to stroll comfortably through the area behind it. While an outdoor pool and hot tub might have been nice, in light of the lovely weather, their indoor location was far more practical and the adjoining courtyard area had an ample number of comfortable and well-placed chairs and lounges in both sunny and shaded locations for reading and relaxing. The hotel's location was excellent, giving us easy access to all the places we wanted to explore in and around Charlottesville. When we returned to our room after our first outing, we found a bag on the door with a lovely note from Darnell inviting us to enjoy some of his favorite snacks! We were touched by the extraordinary warmth and kindness that we received. Marriott is fortunate to have an employee who truly knows how to make its guests feel welcome and well cared for.

Room Tip: I always request a quiet location and that seems to work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GalavantingGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear GalavantingGrammy, Thank you so much for sharing how wonderful your stay was and how Darnell really made a difference for you during a difficult time. He is indeed an outstanding Marriott associate. Please know that Darnell will receive extra recognition for his service to you. Thank you again for sharing your story. We wish you all the best, and look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Nice, quiet hotel a bit out of downtown. High quality accommodations, attractive lobby, nice furnishings. It's a bit off the main road so driving there requires winding through some parking lots but it's worth it because it's much quieter.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jzwanzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear jzwanzig, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm so glad that you found us "quiet, attractive and high quality". Those are qualities I think everyone wants in a hotel! I appreciate you taking the time to let us know that enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon! Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

With a family member participating in a clinical trial at UVA Medical Center we have had the need to be in Charlottesville 3 times over the past month. Based on positive reviews I booked this hotel for our first stay. The positive reviews are spot on so we have twice returned. The hotel has become our go to hotel in Charlottesville and we'll return 5 more times this summer. After a six hour drive and late arrival I can't tell you how appreciative we are of the always quick and courteous check-in, ample and convenient parking and a clean comfortable room. In the morning we get coffee and breakfast at the Bistro and drive 10 minutes to UVA. Thank you to the entire staff for doing what you do well. My family and I are grateful. See you soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Tom E,
Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel with so many compliments! It is our pleasure to give you and your family the great service that you deserve. If there is anything more that we can do for you during your upcoming stays, please don't hesitate to let us know now or upon your arrival. Thank you very much for the opportunity to host your family again. We look forward to seeing you soon! Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Pleasant surprise after we were unable to book the University location. Many excellent restaurants, convenient and exceptional shopping; all close by. Large touchscreen internet/ TV in the lobby was an added bonus for travel, weather, flight information and news. Very pleased with the hotel staff. Not one downside, (with the exception being the pillows, which could have been a bit better)our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flg8trmdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear flg8trmdmom, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel! I'm very happy that you got the chance to try us out for the first time! We are definitely in the best location for a variety of restuarants, great shopping and more. You'll be glad to hear that we are right in the middle of replacing all of our pillows, so your next visit will be absolutely perfect! Thank you again for your feedback. It is much appreciated! Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I love a new hotel and a newly remodeled hotel and this place was just remodeled.

I stayed here this week for work and was very happy with my stay. The room was super clean, the bed was comfy and it could not have been better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregbooras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear gregbooras, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel! I love hearing that your stay "could not have been better". That is what we aim for with every guest and I'm so glad that you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you again, Elizabeth Paitrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The room was large and well appointed. I was allowed late checkout on the day of my departure and was given courtesy transportation to the airport with a most friendly driver. He and all the staff were exceptional, great representatives of the eastablishment, and they are especially the reason I would return and recommend this Courtyard to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElderTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear ElderTraveller, Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel! We are always happy to accomodate our guests in any way possible, especially with late check outs or early check ins. Thank you for noting my staff is exceptional; I agree! They will love to hear that feedback. Thank you again for the review. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon! Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
370 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
288 reviews
2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,051 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
974 reviews
1 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#3 of 35 in Charlottesville
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charlottesville North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charlottesville North

Address: 638 Hillsdale Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1715
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £76 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charlottesville North 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Courtyard Charlottesville North hotel is conveniently located off Route 29 North, just minutes from historic downtown Charlottesville. This Charlottesville hotel is in close proximity to a variety of specialty shops and restaurants, as well as, near the University of Virginia (UVA), home of the Cavaliers. Courtyard Charlottesville is a short drive from Monticello Plantation and in close proximity to the southern entrance of Shenandoah National Park.Designed for the business traveler, yet pleasing for all, the Courtyard Charlottesville North knows what is important to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Charlottesville North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charlottesville North Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Marriott
Charlottesville Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing