We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Charlottesville North
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stay in this particular Courtyard several times per year due to traveling to Charlottesville to visit my elderly mother. The staff is incredible. If I need something, all I have to do is ask. Rooms are always super clean. Beds are comfortable. The little snack selection next to the check in is especially nice when I am traveling by myself. The recent (OK much needed) renovations are pretty and welcoming

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Deborah K, Thank you very much for your outstanding review of our hotel. I appreciate you recognizing my staff as incredible; they will love to hear that. I'm so glad that you love our renovation as well. We're proud to have the newest rooms in Charlottesville! Thank you again and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    68
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
53
39
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for the purpose of convalescing after major surgery. The first afternoon after I checked in, the front desk called to see if I wanted housekeeping services since I had the do not disturb sign on the door. Within half an hour of hearing my circumstances, the front desk manager came by with a very thoughtful and useful care package that was probably worth $30 retail from their store. It was unsolicited, but incredibly appreciated.

Unless I asked for something specific during my stay, everyone just left me alone as I had asked. They were a terrific team of thoughtful professionals and had a clean and well maintained facility. I would be happy to return there again any day of the week.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Michael J, Thank you so much for your very kindl review of our hotel. I'm so happy to hear that you found our staff thoughful and "terrific" after your surgery. We are here to provide as much or as little service as our guests need. I hope you will visit us again soon for more of a pleasure trip! Thank you again. Good health and safe travels, Elizabeth Paitrick-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Last time I checked "sofa bed" means full size pull out that sleeps two small children reasonably comfortably. Not here! Sofa bed is a single size...too small for two toddlers. Terribly impractical design - bad night sleep for a family of four. Seems to be that this older courtyard tried to upgrade with a new decor package and made a big mistake. Business travelers are probably perfectly comfortable, but families visiting Charlottesville will want to consider other choices.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheHotelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear TheHotelGuy, I'm so very sorry you didn't get a good night sleep here due to the size of our sofa bed. I have a family of 4 as well and completely understand your frustration. Since our renovation with the new sofas, we specify on our reservations page that four guests in a room are only comfortable in a room with two Queen beds. King rooms and King Suites don't even show up as an option. You must have made your reservation prior to our renovation, and I am terribly sorry. I hope that you will visit us again soon to stay in one of our Queen rooms. I know you'll have a much better experience. Thank you for sharing your feedback. Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
206 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I traveled on business, so arrived late left early. The room was comfortable as well as spacious. I like Marriott properties because they are always consistent. The overall hotel was nice and clean. Staff was friendly and accommodating which is how I normally rate a hotel. Beds, rooms, wallpaper, all not important if the staff isn't courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Royrsp, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, especially mentioning how friendly and acomodating my staff is. That's our goal even if your stay is a quick one! I hope we will get the chance to have you as our guest again soon. Thank you again. Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

One certainly expects to find an attractive, clean, quiet hotel when booking a room at a Marriott Courtyard. And that was certainly what the Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North delivered, but that was not all! I have never experienced anything quite like the warmth and concern shown by the on-duty receptionist, Darnell, when my husband and I arrived. A last minute decision to get away from some difficulties we were dealing with at home brought us to the Courtyard in a somewhat vulnerable state. Darrell welcomed us warmly and asked if we were traveling for business or pleasure. I quietly responded "neither, we are just trying to run away!" He apparently observed my distress and asked if there was anything he could do to help. I responded no and thanked him, but asked if our room was ready so that we could check in. After a few minutes at the computer, he informed me that he had upgraded our room and hoped that would help. The room was spacious and lovely -- as was the hotel. It has recently been renovated and has a nice contemporary feel, with soothing colors, comfortable furniture and welcoming spaces in which to gather and relax. It is set far back from the highway and we were able to stroll comfortably through the area behind it. While an outdoor pool and hot tub might have been nice, in light of the lovely weather, their indoor location was far more practical and the adjoining courtyard area had an ample number of comfortable and well-placed chairs and lounges in both sunny and shaded locations for reading and relaxing. The hotel's location was excellent, giving us easy access to all the places we wanted to explore in and around Charlottesville. When we returned to our room after our first outing, we found a bag on the door with a lovely note from Darnell inviting us to enjoy some of his favorite snacks! We were touched by the extraordinary warmth and kindness that we received. Marriott is fortunate to have an employee who truly knows how to make its guests feel welcome and well cared for.

Room Tip: I always request a quiet location and that seems to work!
See more room tips
Green Features: Guests are given an option to reuse towels if they wish.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GalavantingGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear GalavantingGrammy, Thank you so much for sharing how wonderful your stay was and how Darnell really made a difference for you during a difficult time. He is indeed an outstanding Marriott associate. Please know that Darnell will receive extra recognition for his service to you. Thank you again for sharing your story. We wish you all the best, and look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Nice, quiet hotel a bit out of downtown. High quality accommodations, attractive lobby, nice furnishings. It's a bit off the main road so driving there requires winding through some parking lots but it's worth it because it's much quieter.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzwanzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear jzwanzig, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm so glad that you found us "quiet, attractive and high quality". Those are qualities I think everyone wants in a hotel! I appreciate you taking the time to let us know that enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon! Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

With a family member participating in a clinical trial at UVA Medical Center we have had the need to be in Charlottesville 3 times over the past month. Based on positive reviews I booked this hotel for our first stay. The positive reviews are spot on so we have twice returned. The hotel has become our go to hotel in Charlottesville and we'll return 5 more times this summer. After a six hour drive and late arrival I can't tell you how appreciative we are of the always quick and courteous check-in, ample and convenient parking and a clean comfortable room. In the morning we get coffee and breakfast at the Bistro and drive 10 minutes to UVA. Thank you to the entire staff for doing what you do well. My family and I are grateful. See you soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Tom E,
Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel with so many compliments! It is our pleasure to give you and your family the great service that you deserve. If there is anything more that we can do for you during your upcoming stays, please don't hesitate to let us know now or upon your arrival. Thank you very much for the opportunity to host your family again. We look forward to seeing you soon! Sincerely, Elizabeth Paitrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn Charlottesville
Residence Inn Charlottesville
#18 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charlottesville North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charlottesville North

Property: Courtyard Charlottesville North
Address: 638 Hillsdale Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1715
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charlottesville North 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Courtyard Charlottesville North hotel is conveniently located off Route 29 North, just minutes from historic downtown Charlottesville. This Charlottesville hotel is in close proximity to a variety of specialty shops and restaurants, as well as, near the University of Virginia (UVA), home of the Cavaliers. Courtyard Charlottesville is a short drive from Monticello Plantation and in close proximity to the southern entrance of Shenandoah National Park.Designed for the business traveler, yet pleasing for all, the Courtyard Charlottesville North knows what is important to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Charlottesville North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charlottesville North Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Marriott
Charlottesville Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing