We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Very nice for the price”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I booked this over Priceline and wasn't disappointed. The rooms are tres modern and chic, and the staff was nice. I paid $75 so I can't complain! It was excellent. One thing: if you park in the front parking lot and panic because you can't see your car, then you've probably parked in the part of the parking lot you can't see because there is a stupid line of trees that blocks that part of the lot from view when you exit the front lobby. I thought my car had been stolen or towed or something! But it was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aphra75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    164
    102
    45
    20
See reviews for
116
141
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The hotel was good, very clean and a great shower head with a lot of pressure.

The only bad thing was that I had such a hard time finding this hotel off of I-64 W. the bushes hide the sign and the hotel is not seen from the road on 5 TH Ave. we had to call the hotel plus ask two people on the street just to find it.

So if you are coming this way I believe it is the first street you come to when you are on 5 TH Ave. there is not a light where you turn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgzshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Upon check in, our sink had scum, dirt and hair - like dumping a dirty bucket & leaving it. Sink clogged and didn't drain. Moldy old windows. Really old fixtures. Pool chairs largely falling apart and lined with mildew and bird droppings. No towels. Door to room didn't close right. Housekeeping missed our room. I went to desk asking to clean it. Hours later - still didn't clean our rooms. Upon checkout - same guy I asked to clean our room never asked how our stay was. I told him about the problems. He said he would ask housekeeping what happened and that was the extent of his care. Bring your own toilet paper and towels. We paid $180/night - area hotels sold out. We would sleep in our car next time.

Room Tip: Noisy highway along pool. Avoid all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mendezdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Mendezdad,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with the condition of our facilities, cleanliness and the service you received. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

This holiday inn does not have the free breakfast but the restaurant was good and they have local wines. It is in a quiet location and was relaxing. I will go back when in the area. Very comfortable.we checked in five minutes before the restaurant was closing but the chef still managed to make us a great salmon filet with fresh dill sauce and a prince Michel red that complemented it well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lab12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Based on previous reviews I was quite worried about staying here. However our room and bathroom were both clean and cleaned everyday. Breakfast was very good . All the public areas could do with brightening up, but the staff were friendly and helpful. Nothing is within walking distance despite one review I read, but restaurants etc are all within driving distance.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
478 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We selected this hotel for its location. I would say that it is a stretch for it to be a 3 star. Since it is an older hotel I am sure it would be nicer with some sprucing up. Everyone was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was fine. The room was clean but dated. The WiFi worked well, albeit a bit slowly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbgoodkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear barbgoodkin,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The room was ok, but the toilets seem to have problems there. We had my grown children staying there and the same problem with their room. It would flush and just keep flushing. We asked our first night for it to be fixed, but no one ever did anything. My son said when they checked in, there was pee all over the toilet seat, they called someone to come and clean it. Our room hadn't been cleaned by 12:45 the next day, at which point we came back & put a do not disturb sign on our door so we could rest and get ready for a wedding. Our niece, who was in a separate room said her room was never cleaned either. It was a very average hotel experience and we wished we would have gone to a Hampton instead, where we seem to have a better experience and breakfast. This hotel is also located on a highway which could be a little noisy at times, even though we weren't closest to it. The front desk people were friendly on check in.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear sweetea,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am truly sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
249 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
529 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#28 of 35 in Charlottesville
307 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
986 reviews
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello

Property: Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Address: 1200 5th St SW, (I-64 And Route 631), Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Monticello Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, we are 2 miles from the Historic Downtown Mall . We are the closest hotel to nearby attractions such as: Monticello; Ash Lawn-Highland; and Michie Tavern, and a convenient 3 miles from the University of Virginia and the UVa Hospital. Our hotel is just minutes away from the numerous arts and entertainment events held at the Paramount Theatre, Downtown Pavilion, Starr Hill Music Hall, Ash-Lawn Opera, and our newest venue, the John Paul Jones Arena also known as The Jack or JPJ . For visitors traveling on business we are close to State Farm Regional Office, GE-Fanuc, Hyosung, Lexis Nexis, SNL Securities, Klockner Pentaplast, UVA Medical Center, Martha Jefferson Hospital, , and Luck Stone Corp. This Charlottesville hotel features comfortably appointed rooms, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, HBO, pay-per-view movies, irons & boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. The full service restaurant Charlotte s serves breakfast, dinner and room service daily. We have over 2200 square feet of versatile meeting and banquet space to host events for business meetings, weddings, reunions , and events . Let our experienced staff focus on the details to ensure that your event is a complete success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing