We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horror-day Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I had high hopes when we entered our room; the linens and decor seemed clean and fresh - not too old. The bathroom was modern, with a glass-enclosed shower in lieu of the usual dated tub. The housekeeping staff had made a cute design with the toilet paper.

And then we found the mold.

Bright green splotches of mold - next to the headboard, running down a foot-and-a-half length of the wall. Disgusting.

It was late, and we were tired, and the hotel staff said that they were booked up, so we stayed in the room's other bed for the night (thank GOD we had two double beds). When I went down the next morning to tell the manager, he was nice about it, but also dismissive. He said that he'd send housekeeping up right away to take care of it, but only after he questioned whether it was mold (what the heck else would it be?!) and stated how strange it was to have mold in a brand-new, otherwise clean room.

My point exactly, sir.

No offer of a room change. Not even a free crappy breakfast.

VERY disappointed with their aloof attitude about the situation. I know you're busy, and booked up, and let's face it - it's a Holiday Inn, but customer service should always be first priority as far as I'm concerned!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TreusNetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear TreusNetti,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know how everything went during your stay. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. I apologize for the areas that we may have fallen short particularly with the unacceptable cleanliness of the room you encountered and customer service received. This is certainly not our norm, since we strive to maintain the highest possible levels of standards and facilities in order to meet the expectations and desires of our guests. I can assure you that these issues will be addressed.

Once again, thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances to our attention. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Average rooms. Clean & basic. Could use an update. That said, we will likely stay there again because it is a good location right off the highway and close enough to UVA and Charlottesville Historical district. I prefer this location to being on the strip of big box stores and malls where some of the newer hotels are located.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear R F,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I am pleased that you have noticed the cleanliness of our rooms. However, I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our room was great, but the hotel needs a few updates! It was huge! Love the low Pet Fee. The pool was not clean, our room was very musty smelling, and we had a little barking dog next to us. This was not the best Holiday Inn we stayed at over a weeks time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielleDurham_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear DanielleDurham_NC,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel after a Beach Boys concert at the Charlottesville Pavilion. The hotel was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The location was perfect - close to to the venue and the venue. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I just stayed for one night. The staff was very competent staff. The guestroom was clean and comfortable. There was a big screen TV and free WiFi. Had a geat breakfast with delightful waitress in the restaurant. Rates weren’t bad. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomgibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Strengths and weaknesses here. It was UVA move-in weekend, and we had our dog with us, so choices were limited. On the negative side, there was substantial mildew on the shower curtain, and most hotels in this price range have free breakfasts, but not this place. On the plus side, the king-sized bed may have been the most comfortable I've ever slept in at any hotel, regardless of the price. The location was convenient, and they were definitely pet-friendly. Not sure if I would stay here again, depending on availability.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank brimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear brimel,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment about us being pet friendly.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the bathroom cleanliness and the lack of free breakfast. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I was expecting the worst when we arrived at Holiday Inn Charlottesville, based on the other reviews I had read here. We used to stay in Holiday Inns all the time, but hadn't in awhile, so I didn't know what to expect. It is five minutes away from Monticello, which is what we had come to see, so that part is a plus. The rooms were clean and I think we got a room that appeared to be recently renovated, which was good. The negatives were that street noise could be a bother to some who are light sleepers and the refrigerator in the room is extremely noisy. Another negative was that the restaurant is mostly always empty and understaffed. They have like two employees at night and three in the morning. We had no choice but to eat there after we drove around near the hotel to find fast food restaurants to eat at. We couldn't find the Wendy's and the Burger King was located in a hard to reach place(you have to be ready to turn so you don't miss it). We had a burger and fries and they seemed undercooked to me, but I didn't get sick, thank goodness. They did allow us to take it up to our room from the restaurant and we put it on our hotel tab. In the morning, we had breakfast there and they seated us at a dirty table. When we complained, they did move us. The food at their restaurant Charlotte's is just average. There are many restaurants on US 29. You have to drive to the restaurants here, because the hotel is outside of Charlottesville. Also, the bathroom in the rooms has a see-through glass door, so that is kind of awkward.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor and it was fine-you could hear people open and close their doors, but tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear starz8,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide feedback. It was great to read you liked our clean rooms. We are constantly striving to provide our guests with the highest level of service that they have come to expect from our hotel and I regret that we have failed to deliver. We are sorry the restaurant service and food selections fell below your expectations. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it aids us in ensuring such issues are resolved. I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
256 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
537 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
314 reviews
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
245 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello

Address: 1200 5th St SW, (I-64 And Route 631), Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £75 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Monticello Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, we are 2 miles from the Historic Downtown Mall . We are the closest hotel to nearby attractions such as: Monticello; Ash Lawn-Highland; and Michie Tavern, and a convenient 3 miles from the University of Virginia and the UVa Hospital. Our hotel is just minutes away from the numerous arts and entertainment events held at the Paramount Theatre, Downtown Pavilion, Starr Hill Music Hall, Ash-Lawn Opera, and our newest venue, the John Paul Jones Arena also known as The Jack or JPJ . For visitors traveling on business we are close to State Farm Regional Office, GE-Fanuc, Hyosung, Lexis Nexis, SNL Securities, Klockner Pentaplast, UVA Medical Center, Martha Jefferson Hospital, , and Luck Stone Corp. This Charlottesville hotel features comfortably appointed rooms, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, HBO, pay-per-view movies, irons & boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. The full service restaurant Charlotte s serves breakfast, dinner and room service daily. We have over 2200 square feet of versatile meeting and banquet space to host events for business meetings, weddings, reunions , and events . Let our experienced staff focus on the details to ensure that your event is a complete success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing