We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were in town for the Harvest Festival at Monticello and stayed here Thursday night. We would have stayed here Friday night also, but they basically tripled their rate because it was the night before the festival. A despicable practice.

The hotel is located between two major highways in a residential area, so its not within walking distance to anything. And given the area it's in, I wouldn't recommend walking anywhere. It's an older hotel, but has undergone some renovations, which are going to continue I was told.

There is an on-site restaurant and bar, both of which close too early, particularly the bar, 9 & 10 o'clock respectively. We got there 15 min before the restaurant closed. Usually you get rather rude treatment when you do that, but not in this case. The wait staff was very friendly and attentive. We only ordered a quesadilla to split and a drink ea. My wife said that the house White Zinfandel she ordered was a very good and my bourbon Manhattan was made perfectly. The quesadilla was excellent. It was loaded with cheese and very tender steak.

The hotel lobby was one of the areas renovated and was done in a cold modern design, but it was new and clean. The other areas renovated were the rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors, and fortunately we were assigned a room on the 3rd.

The room was very clean and beautifully done, much nicer than I would have expected for a Holiday Inn. It was spacious with new furniture. The decor was on the modern side, but still had warmth. The bathroom was equally nice, although too narrow making it a one person at a time room. And although the bed was an old-fashioned regular spring mattress, it was comfortable and not too hard.

Now for the down side. It's one of the noisiest hotels I've stayed at. If it wasn't for the AC fan and the white noise machine I use, we wouldn't have gotten any sleep. Given the two highways and that a helicopter was flying nearby for hrs (never did find out why) it was unreal with noise.

The stay ended on a good note. As part of our stay we were given a $10 voucher towards breakfast. The breakfasts are reasonably priced, for a hotel, with large portions and very good.

If you can get a room on a renovated floor, not be price gouged because of an area event, and keep the AC/heater unit fan on because of the noise, it's a nice place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelersFromGburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here for the Heritage Harvest Festival at Monticello. I've stayed here multiple times in the past, but this is my first since the room renovations. Clean room, comfortable beds. The bathroom now has a translucent frosted sliding door but you can still see inside which might be an issue for those sharing a room with non-family members. Walk-in shower only (no tub) with glass door. Convenient location right off I-64 and near Monticello. Easy drive to downtown via 5th Street. Regular rates do not include breakfast but there is a Hardees and also a Waffle House right nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JediTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Sent the night to visit Monticello. Hotel is what I expected for a Holiday Inn. Clean and comfortable. I made an advanced reservation. Fastest check in I've ever had. This is not Holiday Inn Express so there is no free breakfast. The restaurant is expensive. $8 for an egg. There are a few fast food places within 100 yards of the hotel. I elected to drive because of road traffic and shoulder not pedestrian friendly. Business center is adequate, although there is no waste basket. Quick drive into the downtown shopping area and restaurants.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor on the even numbered side of the hall. No noticeable road noise until we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeBelAir_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I had high hopes when we entered our room; the linens and decor seemed clean and fresh - not too old. The bathroom was modern, with a glass-enclosed shower in lieu of the usual dated tub. The housekeeping staff had made a cute design with the toilet paper.

And then we found the mold.

Bright green splotches of mold - next to the headboard, running down a foot-and-a-half length of the wall. Disgusting.

It was late, and we were tired, and the hotel staff said that they were booked up, so we stayed in the room's other bed for the night (thank GOD we had two double beds). When I went down the next morning to tell the manager, he was nice about it, but also dismissive. He said that he'd send housekeeping up right away to take care of it, but only after he questioned whether it was mold (what the heck else would it be?!) and stated how strange it was to have mold in a brand-new, otherwise clean room.

My point exactly, sir.

No offer of a room change. Not even a free crappy breakfast.

VERY disappointed with their aloof attitude about the situation. I know you're busy, and booked up, and let's face it - it's a Holiday Inn, but customer service should always be first priority as far as I'm concerned!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TreusNetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear TreusNetti,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know how everything went during your stay. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. I apologize for the areas that we may have fallen short particularly with the unacceptable cleanliness of the room you encountered and customer service received. This is certainly not our norm, since we strive to maintain the highest possible levels of standards and facilities in order to meet the expectations and desires of our guests. I can assure you that these issues will be addressed.

Once again, thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances to our attention. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Average rooms. Clean & basic. Could use an update. That said, we will likely stay there again because it is a good location right off the highway and close enough to UVA and Charlottesville Historical district. I prefer this location to being on the strip of big box stores and malls where some of the newer hotels are located.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear R F,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I am pleased that you have noticed the cleanliness of our rooms. However, I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our room was great, but the hotel needs a few updates! It was huge! Love the low Pet Fee. The pool was not clean, our room was very musty smelling, and we had a little barking dog next to us. This was not the best Holiday Inn we stayed at over a weeks time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielleDurham_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear DanielleDurham_NC,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel after a Beach Boys concert at the Charlottesville Pavilion. The hotel was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The location was perfect - close to to the venue and the venue. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#20 of 37 in Charlottesville
265 reviews
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charlottesville-UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#10 of 37 in Charlottesville
318 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#28 of 37 in Charlottesville
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#22 of 37 in Charlottesville
547 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#14 of 37 in Charlottesville
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello

Address: 1200 5th St SW, (I-64 And Route 631), Charlottesville, VA 22902-6454
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £64 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Monticello Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, we are 2 miles from the Historic Downtown Mall . We are the closest hotel to nearby attractions such as: Monticello; Ash Lawn-Highland; and Michie Tavern, and a convenient 3 miles from the University of Virginia and the UVa Hospital. Our hotel is just minutes away from the numerous arts and entertainment events held at the Paramount Theatre, Downtown Pavilion, Starr Hill Music Hall, Ash-Lawn Opera, and our newest venue, the John Paul Jones Arena also known as The Jack or JPJ . For visitors traveling on business we are close to State Farm Regional Office, GE-Fanuc, Hyosung, Lexis Nexis, SNL Securities, Klockner Pentaplast, UVA Medical Center, Martha Jefferson Hospital, , and Luck Stone Corp. This Charlottesville hotel features comfortably appointed rooms, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, HBO, pay-per-view movies, irons & boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. The full service restaurant Charlotte s serves breakfast, dinner and room service daily. We have over 2200 square feet of versatile meeting and banquet space to host events for business meetings, weddings, reunions , and events . Let our experienced staff focus on the details to ensure that your event is a complete success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing