We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed 10 November 2013

right off 64, convenient to downtown, UVA. Very clean and staff was exceptional. I always ask for extra pillows on check in everywhere I go and many times never get them. But when I came in for the night the pillows were there. If you are like me, this means a lot.
Fresh coffee in lobby in the morning...Yea, I love that too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dingram4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

What is up with the plumbing? Every time ANYONE flushes a toilet, this horrible rumble happens. You think something broke. The room had some flying bugs coming in from the window. They were fully booked, so no chance of moving. The road is extremely loud for some reason. I've slept in hotels next to a highway before, but they weren't THIS noisy. The Ice machine sounds like a living, breathing machine. We called the front desk, but no one picked up the phone. I found that rather odd. Our room key didn't work, because they had only logged us in the system as staying one night, not two, so we found out the next day. All I can compliment is the restaurant staff. They were superb, super friendly, polite to our child, food was good. We got room service and I can tell you they are the best. Sorry, but I wouldn't stay here again, mostly due to noise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarahminkoffbaylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear sarahminkoffbaylis,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you received unacceptable service and quality. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our room was very reasonable and quite nice. We had a voucher for breakfast which was good. Easy on and off the ring road. Close to Charlottesville which is lovely and very close to Monticello. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank booklover49_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We happened to get a room facing the Interstate. Listened to trucks roaring by all night. Found the difference between Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express is that breakfast cost $8.00 at Holiday Inns, but are free at Express Inns.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Carl B,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience the noise had caused you. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I did not realize until it was too late that this Holiday Inn does not offer a free breakfast. The price was $123+tax, and if it was with a breakfast that'd be a better deal for me. However, this is an expensive area because of Monticello, UVa and the wine country.

The room was standard and clean. No problems whatsoever. The staff were polite and prompt. Separate review of the restaurant was written on TA (name of restaurant is "Charlotte's"). A bit disappointed that the lounge closes at 10pm, but I guess they do not get enough business.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthCarolina621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was over a weekend with the U of V having a football game and the hotel prices were increased to a ridiculous rate for Fri. and Sat. nights. We requested a renovated King room but were told on checking in that the only renovated rooms had two Queen beds, which we took. The room was at the end of a fourth floor hall and very quiet. It was clean and nice enough but cramped with one bed very close to the wall and the bath, while nice, was also cramped and inconvenient. The chair in the room was one of the most uncomfortable I've ever sat it. We went to the restaurant for dinner and waited 5 to 10 minutes with no one coming to seat us so we left. There is nothing convenient nearby for eating except a couple fast food type places.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klassikatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Klassikatt,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with your room accommodation and restaurant experience. Rest assured that we will take your comments under consideration so they will help us become the best hotel we can be. We hope you give us the privilege to continue to serve you in the near future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.
Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We chose this hotel to visit the Monticello Jefferson estate.
The fourniture were new but the walls and the carpets need refreshment. The lifts were Noisy and seemed to be old.
The bathroom is small and not so clean as well as the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carodema_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Monticello. We are constantly working to improve ourselves, and your review helps us to do that. We hope you are willing to give us a second chance, and during your next trip to the area, you will be able to notice our constant renovations and updates.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
252 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
530 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
311 reviews
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
215 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello

Address: 1200 5th St SW, (I-64 And Route 631), Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £76 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Monticello Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, we are 2 miles from the Historic Downtown Mall . We are the closest hotel to nearby attractions such as: Monticello; Ash Lawn-Highland; and Michie Tavern, and a convenient 3 miles from the University of Virginia and the UVa Hospital. Our hotel is just minutes away from the numerous arts and entertainment events held at the Paramount Theatre, Downtown Pavilion, Starr Hill Music Hall, Ash-Lawn Opera, and our newest venue, the John Paul Jones Arena also known as The Jack or JPJ . For visitors traveling on business we are close to State Farm Regional Office, GE-Fanuc, Hyosung, Lexis Nexis, SNL Securities, Klockner Pentaplast, UVA Medical Center, Martha Jefferson Hospital, , and Luck Stone Corp. This Charlottesville hotel features comfortably appointed rooms, free high-speed Internet, local phone calls, HBO, pay-per-view movies, irons & boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. The full service restaurant Charlotte s serves breakfast, dinner and room service daily. We have over 2200 square feet of versatile meeting and banquet space to host events for business meetings, weddings, reunions , and events . Let our experienced staff focus on the details to ensure that your event is a complete success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing