We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy lobby with basic accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Charlottesville
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fancy lobby with basic accomodations”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel offers a big show when you first arrive with a very elaborate lobby and dining area, but the room felt very basic. It was clean, but nothing above normal expectations. Basic furnishings. Basic bathroom. The refrigerator only ran for two hours at a time and then had to be reset. The beds were miserably soft. One big plus was the parking garage. Made it very nice to unload and load regardless of weather. We expected more because of the Omni name and the room rate.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    981
    489
    144
    57
    19
See reviews for
395
514
67
535
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I travel to Charlottesville once or twice a year and have never been disappointed by the Omni. Ideally located on the Mall, it offers excellent service at a reasonable price. From the welcome at the front desk (this time by Brian who was terrific) to checkout, the staff work to make the hotel a superior experience.

Room Tip: I like rooms facing the Atrium. But that is a personal preference. Others may prefer a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronald s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Onmi in Charlottesville Virginia is a beautiful hotel. Located right of downtown pedestrian mall, it was very convenient to the places we needed to be. But that is the best of it. The rooms were clean but not enough to justify the high cost of the rooms. The bed was so terrible I finally pulled the comforter off the bed and slept on the floor. In the morning, we went down to the restaurant for breakfast. They were offering a $15.00 breakfast buffet. A little pricey for eggs and pancakes. If you did not want the buffet the beverages were $5.00 a piece. The French toast was 9.00 an order. I felt like they were definitely overcharging us. I will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank ilvsmmr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlottesville, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we truly appreciate your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. Our goal is for each guest to have a restful night’s sleep and we feel terrible that we missed the mark during your stay. We replaced each mattress less than one year ago in all of our guest rooms. We were able to identify the details of your stay and will inspect the mattress to make sure it is not defective in some way. I sincerely hope you accept my apology and allow us to serve you again. Please do not hesitate to contact Paul Maher, General Manager, if you have any further concerns regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

a great location. exit out the back door and you are right on the pedestrian mall that is filled with stores and restaurants. rooms were nice and comfortable. staff was very friendly. thankfully, as a member of omni select, wifi is free otherwise there was a 9.99 fee per day, i believe. right outside the side of the hotel is a free trolley that does a loop around the UVA campus which is about a mile up the hill. i liked the hotel, love the location, staff was very friendly. i would stay again. if i had to find something i did not like, which is likely out of the hotel's control, is that where the hotel opens up to the pedestrian mall, there is about 50 yards that is pretty dark at night. perhaps a street light just happened to be out and again, this is likely the town's responsibility and not the hotels. in any event, in this spot, some of the younger local folk were congregated late at night. not a big deal at all, but might be intimidating if you are alone as it is pretty dark. again, probably just a one time event. it is a nice spot and everything was well. i'd go again without hesitation.

Room Tip: higher the room, better the view. mostly low-rises in the area so you have nice views of tree-tops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puff j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, VA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay. Short driving distance to Jefferson Monticello (5 miles away). Walked out the hotel front door directly into the Downtown Mall. Plenty of places to eat and shop as you walk along the mall. Hotel staff were outstanding. Special kudos to the young man who was our car valet during our stay. He was prompt and courteous.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jesse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Kind, Friendly staff await you at this hotel destination. Always ready to help, answer questions and get you what you need. The room was as described. I know the food to be delish from previous experience.I won't stay anywhere else, given a choice! It's like home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Erin Elizabeth ... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at the Omni for our anniversary and had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautiful with very comfortable rooms. The location is the best part...having access to the downtown mall with fantastic shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank dfwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
862 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
728 reviews
0.8 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
70 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
675 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Charlottesville

Property: Omni Charlottesville
Address: 212 Ridge McIntire Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22903-5042
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Charlottesville 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Omni Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Omni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing