We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Charlottesville
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Earned a free get away with the wife through business and could not have been happier with the hotel they chose for us, the Charlottesville Omni. The location is amazing. It sits at the beginning of a wonderful walking mall called Mainstreet that has restaurants, bars and shops. It was truly just a fun, relaxing and neat place to stroll, find dinner, have a drink and definately people watch.

The hotel itself was extremely clean with well updated rooms and common areas even though the hotel itself was probably built in the late 80's. The atrium is beautiful and the front desk staff was great. Maybe I'm just too much of a 3 star guy, but I thought the personalized wake-up calls which included the weather report was amazing! The bathroom was a bit cramped but was neat, refurbished with granite counters and very nice. The room also had a flat panel tv and was well appointed. The morning hot continetal breakfast was very nice, but I did not have to pay for it at around $12. They do serve free Starbucks in the lobby every morning and lemon and lime freshened ice water in the afternoon. And quiet honestly the lobby leather seats may have been the most comfortable seats I've ever just relaxed in. The hotel also is locatedon on the free downtown/UVA trolley. Take the full ride to get a feel of the town and campus but make sure to get off at the university sometime. Head to the rotunda (the kids were great and were very helpful with directions) and sign-up for the tour. You won't be dissapointed! Get back on the trolley when done and you'll be back at the hotel in less than 15 minutes.

We ate at several places in the Mainstreet area including the South Street Brewery. Good food and beer at a very good price but snobby almost disrespectful service. They are probably all UVA grad students about to rule the world, that aren't too happy to be finishing up their service industry career. However their beer sampler at $6 for 8 4oz beers was a great price! We also ate at the upscale Bar and Grille just a few steps from the Omni, again I didn't have to pay, but if you want a great steak and meal with fantastic service, this is probably the best (and most expensive) place on Mainstreet. Quite honestly the Mainstreet area has something for everyone. Including the ice cream shop that makes all their own ice cream which was very good!

We also at a place called the 12th Streert Brewery right on the trolley line. We had lunch and a beer there and the service and food were excellent.

Charlottesville itself is a great spot. Monticello is just a couple miles away, as well as Monroe's country place. If you go, you have to stop and have lunch at Michie Tavern. You'll have a great fried chicken lunch (all you can eat) ..try the stewed tomotoes it's worth it ! Then take a tour of the old tavern/inn and remind yourself how lucky you are to be at the Omni!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandSinNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,736 - 1,742 of 1,856 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2010

The Omni's location adjacent to the pedestrian shopping mall is terrific. Out the door and you're there. We found the mall delightful--a nice mix of shops, cafes, and people watching. Really enjoyed the used bookstore, "Read It Again, Sam." Had a wonderful lunch at Ziips.

The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom was tiny. There was a large bottle of water on a tray--with a $5 price tag! Bell staff and front desk staff very attentive. Enjoyed watching the foot traffic in the atrium.

The in-house restaurant, The Pointe, was horrible. We had an elderly member of the party who couldn't face walking the mall again, so we ate in the hotel. Never again! Bisque and the crab dip were over-spiced. Meatloaf was old. And they must have dumped bucketfuls of cinnamon into the carrot cake.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

After reading some of the reviews on TA, I was pleantly surprised. The location is perfect, at the end of the pedestrian mall...with shops, resturants and bars. The staff was wonderfull. the room was very comfortable and clean. Yes, the bathroom is small, but not at all uncomfortable. Parking is in a garage and is free if you stay at the hotel. Join their rewards program, you'll get lots of extras...free WIFI, a bottle of water upon check-in, turndown service and 2 free beverages in the am. I was very pleased with this hotel and would recommend to anoyone. If you are on a tight budget, this may not be for you, but if you'd like a comfortable nights sleep in a great location....don't hesitate!!! P.S. try Bizou restaurant for dinner....great food!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissPigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

This hotel is very nice. Great location on the end of a beautiful foot traffic only street, with great entertainment venues, restaurants and upscale shops. My major problem with this hotel was the bathroom in the room. It was so tiny your knees almost touched the door when you sat on the toilet! A parent could not even bathe a small child without difficulty. I have stayed in Motel 6's with more palatial bathrooms! The room was small, but comfortable. Bed was comfortable with lots of pillows and bed covers. Very clean. Would not stay there again - simply because of the bathroom. Desk clerk said all bathrooms were tiny.
The indoor pool was small, but clean. Sauna did not work in the women's room. Gym was well appointed with decent equipment (slightly under fitnes center quality machines and weights). Beware if you are tall. The ceiling was very low and a 6' person could easily hit their head when on the treadmill or eliptical trainer.
Next year we will opt for the Hampton Inn up the street the Omni was just not worth the $250+ per night!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayhawkinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

There was nothing wrong with this hotel, but nothing noteworthy either. Bed was very hard (even though we like firm mattresses) and the pillows were uncomfortable. The location was a big disappointment at the end of the pedestrian mall which is going through hard times. Many of the storefronts were vacant and others uninteresting. Mostly, we felt that the hotel was just not worth the money, even at a special rate. We would have done better at the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yankeeinexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Its a very nice hotel, with an excellent staff. perfect location to walk right out the back door into old town. its not the Ritz but fine for being here and touring. its in fairly good shape. large roon, smallish bathroom but big counter area to place makeup etc...

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELSUSHI921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Liked:
-location in walking distance to the pedestrian zone
-in general friendly staff

Disliked:
- Noisy - if you have a room facing the pedestrian zone - please be aware that there are loud parties at the nearby bar. When i asked reception when those parties would be finished - they said "usually they end at around 2AM" ( so this seemed to be a recurring event ) We definitely experienced it on Friday and Saturday night . so bring earplugs !!
- the swimming pool (in winter - indoors) is really only suitable for children and was not very clean in the afternoon

For 170-200$ , you can do better

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#3 of 35 in Charlottesville
788 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
977 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
94 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Charlottesville

Address: 212 Ridge McIntire Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22903-5042
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £114 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Charlottesville 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Omni Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Omni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing