We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast left something to be desired”
Review of The Horse & Hound Gastropub - CLOSED

The Horse & Hound Gastropub
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 7th Street NW
Transit: The Charlottesville Trolley stops just across the street from us. We are also across the street from the Amtrak Station and a few blocks away from the Greyhound Bus station.
Crazzzzs
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Breakfast left something to be desired”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Maybe our mistake was having breakfast here instead of lunch or dinner. My husband and I tried it. There are other better alternatives to breakfast in Cville.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crazzzzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    37
    16
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Driving around looking for a non-chain restaurant, we chose the Horse and Hound simply because we could park there. It was a good choice. Our server was very friendly, and the food was delicious. My husband ordered salmon, and I had the Haystack, a stack of roasted vegetables with goat cheese and pesto. The skinny fries were crispy and perfect! They had a good selection of craft beer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraAHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
648 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Pleasant Outside Dining”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a table outside under a canopy and found it really enjoyable. The beer selection was very good and several of us had a nice flight of 4-6 oz beers ($16). My half rack of ribs (weekends only) was enormous and came with two very good sides. After an awkward delay in getting the first round, service was attentive. Parking was free and easy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ace4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Mediocre food”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The lack of patrons should have warned us, but the decor looked good for a lunch spot. Our server was friendly and helpful. Too bad the food did not match up. My wife could not find the crab in her crabcake Benedict. My artichoke-Swiss-bacon sandwich had a lot of promise but was smothered in so much spivey mustard that I could not taste the artichoke nor the Swiss cheese. Altogether it was a disappointing meal.

Helpful?
Thank swj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Vg food & service”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Three of us stopped here for dinner after a long day of "touristing". The host was very friendly and knowledgable. Turned out he was our waiter as well. Very accommodating, and friendly. Acted really happy that I tried the house brew - a tasty Semi-Belgian style. The fish and chips done well using a tempura batter and the cod used. Was moist and perfectly cooked. my wife and her sister enjoyed this and both said the fries were great. I had the nightly special: corned beef and cabbage. They corn the beef in-house and it was delicious. Portions were ample but not overwhelming. Good Value.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Horse & Hound Gastropub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing