We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly bad”
Review of Aqui es Mexico

Aqui es Mexico
Ranked #324 of 545 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredibly bad”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We rented a condo in Charlottesville and the owners recommended this place for "really good" Mexican, saying it never disappoints. Boy did we feel deceived! We were a party of five and not one of us had a decent dish I have lived in Mexico and I can assure you this is NOT Mexico. It is not even good Mexican imitation. The food was dismal. I love Mexican food and was quite hungry, but couldn't bring myself to finish my flautas ahogadas (a "special" that day)--they were terrible (as was the basket of tortilla chips we order--far too thick and burnt to a crisp).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KLFVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Muy delicioso”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My friend had a coupon for Aqui es Mexico so we decided to try it out. We were a little apprehensive when we arrived because it was almost empty, but perhaps that was just because it had been raining earlier or it was a slow night. We loved it!

Homemade tortilla chips and two salsas started our meal, followed by margaritas. The menu was clearly not that of your average "order by number" Mexican place (although I love those too). This was more authentic Mexican, and it was hard to choose because there were so many great choices! My friend had a salad which fresh pineapple, chicken, etc., I opted for the shrimp and guacamole appetizer ... two of my faves and they were fabulous.

The staff was very friendly and our food came out quickly. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant In Charlottesville”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My wife and I have been going to Aqui es Mexico for six years. After this length of time and after going to many other restaurants in Cville, it is our favorite. The food is always the right temperature, well seasoned,and visually appealing. The service is formal but friendly. I have lived in Denver, and this is a better Mexican restaurant than any I have tried there. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ttraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My husband and I found this place not long after returning from our Honeymoon in Mexico, and we sure were glad to find it! My husband is a taco fanatic so he loves being able to get more interesting items like Lengua (beef tongue) and Barbacoa (lamb) tacos. The Tortas are also fantastic and a favorite of mine and even the salsa is the best in town. The prices are a little more expensive than what you would pay at a run-of-mill Mexican restaurant, but it is absolutely worth it for an authentic taste of this cuisine.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ddavis118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellysford, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This restaurant produces wonderful Mexican fare -- not too spicey -- Jose and staff are so proud of their meals and it shows in the taste and the service. Often full of families and university students. We all found a good thing and for a reasonable price. Muy, muy buena. Gracias

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BG1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aqui es Mexico also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Aqui es Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing