We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy soup”
Review of Revolutionary Soup

Revolutionary Soup
Ranked #67 of 553 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Soups
Restaurant details
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy soup”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I tried this place based on Tripadvisor reviews, so knew I could try tastes. I tried the spicy peanut tofu soup, and it was very tasty. But when I tried the corn and crab chowder, I knew I had to have that one. Oh, my! It was fresh and yummy. The crab was real crab, not krab, and the corn was tender and sweet, and had been freshly cut from the cob (some of it was still connected in rows). The blend of textures and flavors was lovely. The roll that came with the soup was fresh and tasty, and they even offered a free apple if you bought soup.

This is very much a local, hole in the wall sort of place, but being able to get soup that good, along with a variety of local beers, makes up for any deficiency in atmosphere. I would definitely recommend Revolutionary Soup.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwyneth60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    62
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I wish I had gotten more soup”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I don't remember what I had with the soup, but it was not as good as the spicy peanut soup. I should have gotten 2 types of soup rather than the 1/2 sandwich/soup deal. Their soups are no joke.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pandagirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Peanut Tofu Soup in the WORLD!!!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is a great little sandwich/soup pub like restaurant. There are two locations in Charlottesville, one next to UVA (The Corner)and the other on the Downtown Mall. We went to the Downtown Mall location. Love the basement atmosphere. Everyone working there was super nice, all looked in the 20's, dressed very hip and relaxed, as if they actually enjoyed working there. The menu is quite extensive for such a small joint. Lots of sandwiches, soups, wraps. My favorite by far is the peanut tofu soup. Definitely a keeper!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PennySacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“wonderful soup, disinterested service”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Great soup, funky college-town ambiance. I tried the peanut tofu soup, and it was better than delicious. Came with a nice, chewy roll. Alas, the service was disinterested at best at mid- to late-afternoon on a Saturday. At least half the tables were dirty with crumbs or leftover dishes. (In fairness, customers are supposed to clear their own tables; but the staff should have noticed – on a slow afternoon shift – that most tables needed busing.) Maybe I caught them on a bad day. The soup’s good enough that I’ll be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boweiwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Word of mouth got us to this restaurant on a cold Feb afternoon. The ambience is casual. The place was jam packed with families, college students, young couples and the elderly.
The menu offerings were soups, salads, wraps and sandwiches.
We ordered the lamb curry soup,chicken tortilla soup, tomato soup, thai tofu veggie wrap, kickin' chicken sandwich and grilled cheese.
I was absolutely blown away by how delicious my veggie wrap was.The Lamb soup packed a good kick and was delicious. Hubby enjoyed his tortilla soup and chicken sandwich. The tomato soup was ok- nothing to write home about.
We'll be back to try out more from the menu.
A must try!


  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Undamurgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Revolutionary Soup also viewed

 

Been to Revolutionary Soup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing