We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good”

Sakura Japanese Steakhouse
Ranked #155 of 542 Restaurants in Charlottesville
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Madison, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Enjoyed our time at Sakura for my birthday. They offer free cheese cake with your dinner if it is your birthday but other than putting it down in front of me, nothing else special is done. Food was good. The owner seems concerned to fill tables as fast as possible. We didn't feel rushed but we've been to Teppanyaki where the chef is able to take his time, do more interesting things and really connect with the diners. He was the one who may have felt rushed. Good food. My kids loved it and we will go again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glowbtrahtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Plenty of seating but parties are seated together around the chefs. The food is fresh and the chefs are all amazing throwing their knives around, flinging shrimp into the mouths of surprised patrons. It's all good. Fun.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank italywithamare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruckersville, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We go to this teppanyaki, because it is the closest to our house. My girls love the fire and the hibachi chef tricks. But, I don't think the food is that great. The salmon that another person had looked really good. The shrimp is good. The noodles that they serve everyone with their dinner is very odd and does not taste very good. I did order sushi which was ok.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ereina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruckersville, VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

You can sit at the grill to have the "show" of the food prepared in front of you or you can sit at the sushi bar. We've done both. Service is always very good and the food is excellent. It's a bit pricey, however you get a TON of food if you're at the grill.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kmflutist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Pretty Much Like The Rest”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Family fun in the preparation at your table, but after you have done it a few times, it becomes like a movie you watch over and over. Not to take anything away from the entertainment; it just is always pretty much the same. The food is good, plentiful, and the atmosphere here is very nice.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arby8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakura Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Sakura Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing