We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Japanese cuisine”

Sakura Japanese Steakhouse
Ranked #159 of 553 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great Japanese cuisine”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was a great experience. We were seated quickly, order taken and chef began cooking within a few minutes. Staff very friendly and they provided us great service. My only complaint is they are priced more expensive than other Japanese restaurants where we've eaten. But, overall a great dining experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank dafacct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gordonsville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent sushi horrible hibachi”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is are second time there. Sushi was decent however such as the 1st time the hibachi was not pleasant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gregoire g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Hibachi-Style Restaurant”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Great steak and seafood. This is one of the best restaurants of this type we've been too. Great service and tasty veggies and rice too. I know this is a chain, but is nonetheless quite good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great salmon sushi”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Sakura is a chain with numbers of restaurant mainly in the Maryland and Virginia area. This one in Charlottesville is the third one that we have tried. Although it is a small sampling size, we find this restaurant chain is very consistent with their quality and facility. The restaurant is decorated with the more upscale Japanese style, spacious, with many Hibachi tables and a cozy section for sushi which is what we are coming in for. Their salmon sashimi and sushi, like their sister restaurants, are among the best we have. Other sushi and sashimi offerings are also consistently fresh and tasty. Only one thing different of this one from their sisters - they offer soup or salad with the dinner entrees while the other Sakura serve both. Nevertheless, we have never had a bad meal in Sakura. This one in Charlottesville is no exception.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MojaveMaxNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Great Service and Ambiance.”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Great service at this restaurant. All staff are friendly. Restaurant is very clean and has nice decor. Prices were about average for a Hibachi restaurant. Kid's menu is cut-off at 9 years old, which seems a little young, especially considering the price essentially doubles for about the same amount of food. Drink prices seemed a little high. We really enjoyed our chef. As far as all the Hibachi restaurants I've eaten at around the country, the food taste was average. We really weren't blown away by the taste of the meats, which was slightly disappointing considering how much it costs to feed a family of 5 here (near $100 with tip and a glass of wine). Would eat here again, but will try other places first.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshb2j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakura Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Sakura Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing