We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good place for family”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Good experience staying here with family of four. Two bedroom suite has plenty of room, rooms are clean (if a bit tired), location near is fine (short drive to anywhere in Charlottesville). Staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast is decent.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BTEFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    97
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
105
62
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was my first stay at a Residence Inn and it will not be my last. During the planning of a last minute overnight trip to Charlottesville I was looking to use my Marriott reward points and the choice was between the Courtyard for 25,000 points and the Residence Inn for 15,000. Having never stayed at a Residence Inn we thought to give it a try.

The location is just behind the Barracks Road shopping center with access to lots of shops and restaurants. The Residence Inn has a full kitchen in the room so the proximity to a grocery store is great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurlySteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
143 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I spent a few days here. Can't say enough positive things. The room itself was excellent - clean, good size, etc. The breakfast was very good. Great range of options and well tended. Staff was very friendly. Really liked the location. We'll be back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank E r C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. The team takes great pride in offering a delicious breakfast each morning and ensuring that there are plenty of options for all our guests.

I will let my associates know how pleased you were with not only the cleanliness, but the great service as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Picked this hotel as an alternative as our original plans to stay in Shenandoah National Park were disrupted by the government shutdown. Wanted to head to the mountains to take pictures of the fall foliage. Hotel is located on the Northeast side of Charlottesville near easy access highways. Hotel staff at desk were really nice and relaxed. Room was great. Nice, full kitchen and living room. TV was actually one of the better ones, even better than those in the higher priced hotels. Couch was a bit uncomfortable but that was due to the fact it was a sleeper sofa. In all, based on the friendliness of the staff and the room I rate this property high.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your great experience at the Charlottesville Residence Inn, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the Shenandoah Mountains.

I will be sure to share your comments with my staff. We hope to see you on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a great hotel and a great price for the stay. We have been coming here for four straight years as the hotel is close to The University of Virginia, where our daughter is pursuing a Ph.D. We always take a one bed suite as these rooms are very spacious and comfortable. It's a genuine suite (unlike those which are one long room sectioned off) with a very good sized bedroom a bathroom and an extra area with a washbowl etc. The main living room is generously big and there is a kitchen in the corner which includes a dishwasher and large fridge-freezer. There are two TV sets, one for each main room and the hotel has been refurbished since our last visit. There is also free Wi-Fi in the rooms plus plug-in internet if required.

The whole place is welcoming and the staff are friendly yet courteous and respectful. Of especial mention is the complimentary breakfast which is varied and filling. All tastes are catered for and there is always a choice of four hot foods. The ladies who run this area have been here for years and are perfectly lovely.

Room Tip: This is mentioned in my review. We always ask for a top floor suite as, though the floors are concre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Anthony F,

Thank you for your kind words in regards to the Charlottesville Residence Inn, We strive to make every guests stay a memorable one and I’m glad that we have been able to exceed your expectations. I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were traveling with another couple and booked a suite with 2 bedrooms/baths and a common living area. The rooms were wonderful and the beds were comfy. Our only problem was the gas fireplace did not work. On the first night the young man at the desk pretty much blew us off. On the second night he offered to send up an engineer to look at it but no one ever came.
Otherwise, everyone was friendly and helpful. We've stayed at places like this before and it always works out great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliArmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment concerning your stay with us. We appreciate your loyalty to Marriott. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the two Bedroom Suites and that your beds were comfortable.

You mentioned that you had concerns regarding the operation of the fireplace and the lack of effort put forward by the staff to resolve the issue promptly. I have taken measures to review our process with the staff to ensure all guest concerns are addressed and resolved within the proper time frame. Thank you very much for bringing this issue to my attention.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your patronage to us and look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

With the town booked for a UV football game, I was lucky to get the room last minute, using points because it was going for $250 a night otherwise. I think the decorating choices are not top notch so it looks older, though when you analyse everything, it's up to date. Standard RI room. Nice staff though they failed to acknowledge a high level member checking in. The breakfast buffet area is teeny and very overcrowded. Table seating ok and many people took trays to their room. Hot breakfast fine, OJ totally watered down. No skim milk. But really close to the ring road around Charlottesville, close to the University and close to the Barracks Road shopping center with Krogers, CVS, a bunch of restaurants, Hot Cakes, take out, and a bunch of other stores. It made possible my trip to Montecello, to which they provide good directions. About 12 mins away.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the pool so if that is going to be active, you might ask for another location. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reenactress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding our recent stay. We love that we can offer our guests a convenient location to the University of Virginia. Charlottesville has become a premier location in Virginia and we are fortunate to be situated so close to everything it has to offer.

As you mentioned, we are failed to acknowledge your Marriott Status when you arrived. I reviewed this with our staff and highlighted the importance of recognizing are high level members for their dedication to our brand.

I also reviewed your comments with the team concerning the breakfast area. I am happy to announce that we are in the process of switching our juice vendor and our other properties have raved about the Orange Juice.

Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
1.3 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlottesville

Property: Residence Inn Charlottesville
Address: 1111 Millmont St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4868
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#13 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Charleston is just minutes from downtown Charleston, Yeager Airport CRW, Charleston Civic Center, Clay Center for the Arts and Charleston Town Center Mall. Our hotel lets you relax and stretch out with separate sleeping, living and dining areas. Enjoy full kitchens, pullout sofa beds, and work desks with high-speed Internet access in all suites. Additionally, our Charleston extended stay hotel delivers Marriott service and offers complimentary breakfast daily and social hours on weeknights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing