We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Residence Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
ny
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Good Residence Inn!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My family of four were in Charlottesville to visit UVA and Monticello. We reserved a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom suite; we received a discount through AAA. It was typical Residence Inn quality - quiet, clean, and recently decorated. The hotel was very close to UVA. Restaurants and an outdoor mall are nearby. The included breakfast was also typical (boring and a bit repetitive since we go to RIs fairly frequently). Monticello (Thomas Jefferson's home) was only 10-12 minutes away. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    98
    33
    7
    7
See reviews for
107
62
10
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our family of 5 (including 16, 14 and 11 year olds) stayed here 1 night. We had a 2 bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms. Worked out well for us. Were in town for a college visit to UVA. Not far from the campus at all. Breakfast was included and that worked out great. Food was good and convenient to grab a bite before heading out to UVA. Also toured Monticello. Not far from hotel. It was beautiful and worth doing.

Room Tip: For our family of 5 the 2 bedroom suite worked out great. Having 2 bathrooms also was a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
It is always nice to hear that our spacious Two Bedroom suites work perfect for a large family. We hope that we will see the family a lot more in the future if UVA is the college of choice. We are Looking forward to the fall semester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globetrotter
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

For whatever reason, this Residence Inn has the air unit and intake positioned right by the foot of the bed and is very loud when it shuts on and off. Also, the bed was not secure and jiggled whenever one of us moved. Would have been a good hotel if not for a fitful sleep experience. Location is good with plenty of places to walk and run behind the hotel. Excellent Breakfast. If you sleep like a rock, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask about the location of the Air Units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wowmeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. I have instructed my engineering staff you look into the noisy AC unit and jiggly bed; it is always helpful when we receive great feedback like yours to ensure the next guest has a great stay. I was happy to hear that our location worked well for you and hope we see you on your next trip to Charlottesville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, MD
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We visit Charlottesville frequently, and keep trying different hotels. (See my other Charlottesville reviews) Having stayed at other Residence Inns we decided to give this one a try even though it is a slightly higher price point then nearby properties. The location is directly behind Barracks shopping center. Many shops, grocery and restaurants, plus only a couple miles to UVA grounds. Big room with one queen bed and pull out sofa. However, the sofa is a sectional, so when the bed is set up, it is super sized. Teenager loved that. Large desk/work station and standard to RI is a full kitchen with dinner ware, coffee maker, micro and DISHWASHER! The layout of the hotel is a wide U shape with lobby in center and parking on each side. Single elevator in rear, stairs at each wing. If you can't use stairs, ask for room by elevator, or ground floor. Breakfast was very good, and two friendly ladies kept it well stocked and super clean. Spacious area for eating, and plenty of hot/cold choices. Outstanding item: yogurt parfaits! Highly recommend and plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, NC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

You really can't beat this location and comfortable setting. The residence sits on the hill directly above a Harris Teeter and Starbucks. Not only the Campus but city bus lines are on the corner. The Residence is laid out in a two story garden style with the main building housing the fitness center, pool and breakfast area. Easy walk to the University and close to the athletic fields for those of us who enjoy a good run. The surrounding trails are well traveled and friendly. The front end management are helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was clean and well attended by the staff. We'll definitely stay here on our next visit.

Room Tip: This is a "pet friendly" hotel so the staff routinely deodorize the rooms with some to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halfback68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Why don't I make sure I'm getting a KING SIZED bed before I accept a reservation? When you're used to that at home it's very hard to be comfy in a queen. And three pillows for two people is just not enough. The light in the bathrooms also starts a fan that could knock your socks off. The room is big but just not cozy. I don't think I'd return to this particular property, although the front desk staff was off the charts friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WashCaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback; I do apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations. I can understand your frustration about the bed size. Unfortunately all of our beds are queens. And as a friendly FYI, we do have an additional pillow located in the guest room closet. I do hope that you give us another chance to WOW you with our friendly and helpful staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at the Residence Inn on Millmont Street in Charlottesville for 6 months. The staff is both helpful and friendly. They make every effort to make you feel part of their "family". The property is recently renovated and the rooms are all updated with granite counters, comfortable beds and apartment like qualities. If your business takes you to Charlottesville or you are just passing through on vacation, I would definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear of the property have a peaceful wooded view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Jeani,
Thank you for the positive feedback about the hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and loved the recent renovation. Hope to see you on yout next trip to the Charlottesville Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,739 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
751 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
302 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlottesville

Property: Residence Inn Charlottesville
Address: 1111 Millmont St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4868
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#13 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Charleston is just minutes from downtown Charleston, Yeager Airport CRW, Charleston Civic Center, Clay Center for the Arts and Charleston Town Center Mall. Our hotel lets you relax and stretch out with separate sleeping, living and dining areas. Enjoy full kitchens, pullout sofa beds, and work desks with high-speed Internet access in all suites. Additionally, our Charleston extended stay hotel delivers Marriott service and offers complimentary breakfast daily and social hours on weeknights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Residence Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing