We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Mostly great”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We loved having a bedroom door so that one could be up without disturbing the other. Breakfast was fine, and there were food offerings also available in the evening which should be helpful for some travelers. We called several hours ahead of our arrival to reserve a room for two nights. Unfortunately, there was some miscommunication at registration, and they were expecting us to check out after one night. When we did not do so, things got a little confused. They managed to get it all sorted out with only minor inconvenience to us. I suspected they might have been training someone new on the desk. Everyone was unfailingly helpful and nice. The room and bed were clean, but the floor in the kitchen area was a little sticky. There is a laundry room with coin-operated machines that was a lifesaver to us after days on the road. The location is good, close to the highway and convenient for shopping.

Room Tip: Two or more traveling together will appreciate having the separate bedroom space, so don't get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraAHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your constructive feedback, we appreciate when our guest offer great comments on areas that we can improve, yet also point out what we are doing well. I will be sure to pass along your concerns regarding the kitchen floor to the Housekeeping Supervisor. And you are correct we do have a few GREAT new Associates that are catching on quick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    98
    33
    7
    7
See reviews for
107
62
10
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Residence Inn in Cville is the place to stay. The rooms are huge and they come with all the amenities. The free breakfast is decent. What I was most impressed with is the friendliness and genuineness of the staff. You can't go wrong staying here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We take pride in delivering great service. I am glad that we were able to exceed your expectations! We look forward to your next visit in Charlottesville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Location is great and close to lots of historical attractions. It was great to have access to grills so you could have real food on the road. Areas for improvement: rooms don't get cool, aren't clean and have live bugs. Housekeeping forgets soap, shampoo or towels every day. Staff is lukewarm.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Charlottesville Residence Inn, I am happy that our location and access to the new grills worked out well for you. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to exceed neither your, nor my expectations. I will share all of your comments with my staff and use your feedback as a training tool for continuous improvement. We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service and we clearly failed you. I hope that you will give us another chance to wow you on your next trip to the Charlottesville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times and it is consistently a nice place to stay. You have options for the number of rooms that you need and space to move around! The kitchens are small, but provide a full size refrigerator, cook top, dishwasher and microwave. They need to work on stocking the dishes etc, but otherwise it's awesome. I always like having a room with a fireplace in the colder months and the residence inn has this available in 2 bedroom units. At this particular location, breakfast changes slightly every day and is great. There is an outdoor basketball court, swimming pool, fitness center and laundry facility. Just down the hill from this location is the Barracks Shopping Center too, you can walk to a wide range of shops, restaurants and even a grocery store!

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floridatocanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about the Charlottesville Residence Inn, It is always nice to hear that our guest not only enjoy breakfast but that our central location to Barracks Shopping Center is perfect for their trip to the area. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My family of four were in Charlottesville to visit UVA and Monticello. We reserved a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom suite; we received a discount through AAA. It was typical Residence Inn quality - quiet, clean, and recently decorated. The hotel was very close to UVA. Restaurants and an outdoor mall are nearby. The included breakfast was also typical (boring and a bit repetitive since we go to RIs fairly frequently). Monticello (Thomas Jefferson's home) was only 10-12 minutes away. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our family of 5 (including 16, 14 and 11 year olds) stayed here 1 night. We had a 2 bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms. Worked out well for us. Were in town for a college visit to UVA. Not far from the campus at all. Breakfast was included and that worked out great. Food was good and convenient to grab a bite before heading out to UVA. Also toured Monticello. Not far from hotel. It was beautiful and worth doing.

Room Tip: For our family of 5 the 2 bedroom suite worked out great. Having 2 bathrooms also was a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
It is always nice to hear that our spacious Two Bedroom suites work perfect for a large family. We hope that we will see the family a lot more in the future if UVA is the college of choice. We are Looking forward to the fall semester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globetrotter
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

For whatever reason, this Residence Inn has the air unit and intake positioned right by the foot of the bed and is very loud when it shuts on and off. Also, the bed was not secure and jiggled whenever one of us moved. Would have been a good hotel if not for a fitful sleep experience. Location is good with plenty of places to walk and run behind the hotel. Excellent Breakfast. If you sleep like a rock, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask about the location of the Air Units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wowmeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. I have instructed my engineering staff you look into the noisy AC unit and jiggly bed; it is always helpful when we receive great feedback like yours to ensure the next guest has a great stay. I was happy to hear that our location worked well for you and hope we see you on your next trip to Charlottesville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,743 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
751 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
201 reviews
1.3 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
303 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlottesville

Property: Residence Inn Charlottesville
Address: 1111 Millmont St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4868
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#13 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Charleston is just minutes from downtown Charleston, Yeager Airport CRW, Charleston Civic Center, Clay Center for the Arts and Charleston Town Center Mall. Our hotel lets you relax and stretch out with separate sleeping, living and dining areas. Enjoy full kitchens, pullout sofa beds, and work desks with high-speed Internet access in all suites. Additionally, our Charleston extended stay hotel delivers Marriott service and offers complimentary breakfast daily and social hours on weeknights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing