We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some Friendly Staff/Security Issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Florida Panhandle, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some Friendly Staff/Security Issues”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 weeks to attend a course at the Army JAG School. Most of the hotel staff is extremely helpful, including those who work the front desk, and especially the ladies who prepare and serve breakfast. They are the best part of this place! Theoretically, one benefit of this hotel is the Manager's Social (aka dinner) that occurs Mon-Wed evenings. However, the person who runs the evening food service is inattentive, unresponsive, and essentially goes and hides in the kitchen or elsewhere during the meal. He does a poor job bringing out more food, and usually doesn't bring out anything close to what was on the menu for that day.
I stayed in a one bedroom which was roomy and comfortable. However, the room was not as clean as I would have hoped when I arrived. Also, the thermostat was stuck at 71 even when the room was much hotter than that, and did not allow for adjustment up or down.
Lastly, I have a problem with the safety and security. Beware--unlike other hotels in the area, the Residence Inn is not equipped with video surveillance in the parking lots. My vehicle was hit by another resident who failed to report the damage. The hotel was unable to help in any way and gave the party line, stating they are not responsible for any damage that occurs in their parking lot.
Although I enjoyed some aspects of this hotel, if I came back to the Charlottesville area, I would likely stay elsewhere due to the lack of security.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jordan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Jordan,

Thank you for your feedback and comments. I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. We are in the process of upgrading our offerings during our Evening Social Hour and did experience a few snags in our delivery during your visit. I am glad that your One bedroom Suite was comfortable for you, your parents your children.

We do try our best to ensure the safety and security of all our guests and I do apologize that your car was hit by another resident. I do hope that when in the Charlottesville area you will give us another change to wow you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    97
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
104
62
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hollidaysburg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Enjoyed our 4-day stay, including 3 generations. The customer service provided was beyond outstanding, especially Susan and Maria during breakfast. I would only have minor suggestions for improvement (double-bowl sinks in the suites, in-room wifi instructions). Within walking distance to shopping plaza and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ves2Travell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I love this Residence Inn. I'm staying for two weeks and the kitchenette is so helpful. The room is very comfortable. It's really a nice studio apartment with a large sofa, large work desk, small eating table with two chairs, fridge, full size microwave, coffee maker, toaster, two burner stove. The vanity area is separate from the bathtub and toilet. I am attending a course on the campus of UVA close to the law school and can walk to campus in 5-10 minutes. The front desk employees are very friendly. You can walk to a CVS or a Kroger from here. There is also a Starbucks in the Barnes and Noble that is in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCOTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A great hotel if you are looking for a home away from home. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were updated recently and are clean. There was plenty of food at the free breakfast. The location of the hotel is great as it is close to the university, restaurants, shopping, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Brian S,
Thank you for the feedback on your most recent stay at the Charlottesveille Residence Inn, I am always glad to hear when our guests enjoy thier stay. We look forward to see you and your family in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

How wonderful to start your mornings off with a genuine smile from Susan at breakfast followed by front desk personnel who acknowledge your presence always with a smile and housekeeping who never seemed to miss an opportunity to ask you if you require anything for your room and always with a warm smile! Hmmmm, am I sensing a theme here????? Well worth the stay and in a excellent location for easy access to downtown or if heading out of town! Amazing!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H20T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
H20T,
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I will certainly let Susan and the Front Desk Staff know about how pleased you were and that their efforts to deliver outstanding service have not gone unnoticed. We hope to see you back in the area soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Location is great if visiting the University or attending a sports event. It is located behind a large shopping center with several fast food choices for a quick bite if needed. Even better you are less than 5 minutes from the corner/ main campus by car. Hotel is clean the staff is excellent, especially the ladies who run the breakfast. Pool was nice and the room was a typical Residence Inn Suite (thats a good thing). This was a pleasure trip to spend a quick weekend visiting my wife's Alma mater with our young kids.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiremanTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Booked this Residence Inn for a group of 5 families to get together. Everything was great. The rooms are a nice size with plenty of bathroom space. Full kitchen which is a great convenience. The rooms were clean as was the rest of the hotel. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was very nice and the social hour was a plus. The pool area was adequate and they even have a half court basketball and small tennis court as well. We used the two gas grills twice during our stay. Convenient area near everything in Charlottesville. My only suggestion would be that maybe they do need a door from the bathroom to the bedroom because my husband would get up at 6:30 in the morning and wake me up with the light from the bathroom. Also, it's dog friendly so if you don't want to run into the dogs in the hall, you should probably stay on an upper floor. We were on the first level, but we loved tpseeing the doggies.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.8 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#18 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.3 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlottesville

Property: Residence Inn Charlottesville
Address: 1111 Millmont St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4868
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#13 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Charleston is just minutes from downtown Charleston, Yeager Airport CRW, Charleston Civic Center, Clay Center for the Arts and Charleston Town Center Mall. Our hotel lets you relax and stretch out with separate sleeping, living and dining areas. Enjoy full kitchens, pullout sofa beds, and work desks with high-speed Internet access in all suites. Additionally, our Charleston extended stay hotel delivers Marriott service and offers complimentary breakfast daily and social hours on weeknights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing