We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Huntingtown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK Stay”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I stayed at the Fairfield Inn in Charlottesville, VA last week for a night, and used a free night's stay from Marriott. I have stayed at this hotel before, and also commented on it on TripAdvisor, and gave it a top ranking. This stay was different, however, due to the front desk staff.

I checked in somewhat late after midnight, and the entry doors are locked in the vestibule requiring you to push a bell to gain access late at night. I rang the bell four times before I was let in the building, and when I proceeded to the front desk, it was obvious the person had been sleeping. No apology, and not very friendly service.

When I checked out, I didn't get a warm feeling either. I asked for a receipt at checkout, and no "Happy to help you!" Also, no "thanks for staying", or "come again", or "thanks for your business!".

The hotel itself is a great place to stay, and is affordable, still in proximity to the city, and close enough to UVA, etc. The hotel has been updated, and restaurant choices are abundant, and the hotel is clean. I rated this stay "average" because I know everyone has an off day at times, but hope the next time I stay the service is a bit more friendly and appreciative.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanG697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    148
    54
    22
    12
See reviews for
110
112
18
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

We travelled to Charlottesville for a long weekend of wine tasting and fly fishing. Fairfield is a pet friendly hotel and we had our dogs with us. The room was clean and met our needs. Free wireless Internet and breakfast. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canesgirl2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel and had a very good experience. Room was large, clean, well-appointed, good wi-fi. There were no luggage carts so we had to make two trips to our room with luggage. One staff member who checked us in was very helpful, knowledgeable. The second person was not as friendly but not rude. Getting to University of VA means a car but then we parked it and walked around campus. Lots of reasonably priced restaurants, probably because of the heavy student population. We had a good night's sleep, and the breakfast was very good. The staff in the breakfast room were very helpful, the food was in good supply with a good selection of hot and cold items. Coffee was pretty good. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumzie1039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This hotel is clean and convenient and staff is knowledgeable of the area and helpful.
Breakfast is adequate and it appeared that staff was shorthanded. I would stay here again if
traveling in the area..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiVirginiaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I stayed here for 4 weeks on a business trip, at first it was hard to get all my luggage in. There were no carts and i had a lot of luggage. I had to park out back and make 3 trips up and down the steps outside. The night staff isn't the best, she wasn't rude but just not very pleasant. The room was really nice and clean and smelled very clean. There was a refridgerator and mucrowave. A nice tv and coffee maker. They breakfast was very nice with waffle makers, fruit, cereal, microwavable biscuits and juice. It's also has a small workout room with weights two treadmills and elyptical machine. It's a very nice place to stay and I was happy to call it home for my extended stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
442 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This Fairfield is on the north side of town, but its location is still convenient to downtown Charlottesville and UVA. It was one of the larger Fairfields that I’ve been to, and it has been renovated to the new(er) Marriott look. The breakfast area was able to accommodate the large number of hotel guests. It was a pleasant stay. I can see myself back at this hotel on my next trip to Charlottesville.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLT1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
118 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here for a weekend and really enjoyed the hotel. The hotel is very convenient: just off the highway, only a few miles from downtown, and minutes from other great attractions. Every staff member we spoke with was helpful, cheerful, and genuinely cared for our well being. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was excellent. The hotel was recently renovated and it looks great. The bed was a little too firm for me, but I am very picky about beds! Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Charlottesville area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzustarTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.4 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville North
Courtyard Charlottesville North
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Address: 577 Branchlands Blvd, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1791
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#10 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Charlottesville hotel is located near the nationally acclaimed University of Virginia Cavaliers in the heart of beautiful Charlottesville, Virginia. We offer free breakfast, free WiFi, fitness center, and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charlottesville North Hotel Charlottesville
Fairfield Charlottesville
Charlottesville Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing