We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with Service and Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed with Service and Food”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

While Fairfield Inn is clean and offers several desirable amenities such as continental breakfast, a pool, and free Wi-Fi, I just can get over the poor quality of service we received. We stayed here for one evening as we were attending a wedding nearby. I called the evening before our arrival to inquire about the possibility of an early check-in as their regular check-in time is after 3PM and that cut a little too close for us to be able to get ready and make it to our event in a timely fashion. We were told they couldn't guarantee anything would be available early, but they would make note of our request and to call about an hour before we arrived to check again. Fast forward to the day of our arrival. I called ahead to make the same inquiry and was told there was still nothing ready and to call back 20 mins prior to arrival. I follow their advice and call again 20 min prior to arrival and they still have nothing available for us. Get to the hotel, still nothing available for us and only when we get to the hotel do they notify house-keeping to prioritize prepping a room for us....FINALLY our room is ready about 20 minutes later. The room is nice enough, and clean.

Upon returning from the event for the evening (mind you it was very late) there was absolutely no parking in the parking lot. How do you not have enough parking for all your guests? My husband had to drop me off and park the car down the hill.

One of their desirable amenities is their free continental breakfast. Now continental breakfasts are fairly standard in terms of what they serve etc. which is fine. However, we were thoroughly disappointed with the food and beverage served here. The apple juice tasted like it had been cut with water...(I mean it was like apple-flavored water...it was bad) How do you screw up apple juice? The OJ was the same story. Same with the eggs. Everything was just watery and poor quality.

We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Addison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Addison V,

Thank you for writing a detailed review of your experience at our hotel. We are sorry to hear it did not meet your expectations; providing excellent service is one of our biggest priorities and we will use your feedback to do a better job of accommodating our guests in the future. We also apologize that our complimentary breakfast did not meet your expectations, but are glad you enjoyed the variety of amenities and facilities we offer. If you'd like to discuss anything further, please reach out to me at the number below. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to have another opportunity in the future to give you a great stay.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    153
    57
    23
    12
See reviews for
115
114
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois US
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This property seems well maintained and has a pleasing layout. Lobby is large and not overwhelmed at breakfast. Fresh cut melon at breakfast was appreciated. Outdoor pool provided a welcome respite. Grocery within easy walking distance (like right out the door).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Richard B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay; we're glad you had an excellent stay and enjoyed the variety of amenities and facilities we offer! We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Charlottesville. Thanks again for your comments and high ratings!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etters, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our way home from a vacation and found it to be quite pleasant. We were allowed to check in early and enjoyed a nice, quiet atmosphere. From the people dressed up in the lobby to a couple of shuttle vans, it appeared as though there was a wedding nearby but we never heard a peep during our entire stay. The front desk staff was helpful in suggesting a nice restaurant to us where we could easily get a table and walk around a new shopping district. All in all, a great stay and a relaxing night. The location was excellent, as our attraction the next day was just a few miles up the road, and easy to find off I-64.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Penlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Penlady,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review - we're very pleased you had a quiet, comfortable visit! I'm also happy to hear our location worked well for your needs and our staff was able to help you out with where to eat. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Charlottesville!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The first room I checked into had an offensive smell and dirty refrigerator. I was moved to another room upon my request which didn't seem to have as strong of an odor. When I asked at the front desk about recommendations of attractions in the area, the Head Engineer happened to be there with the woman working the front desk and he (instead of the woman) took the time to talk with me and gave me some helpful tips. The breakfast room/lobby of the hotel was spacious and offered an average variety but it was quite chilly. In the four days I stayed at this hotel I had one front desk person smile and greet me. Most times, people working the front desk never looked up or acknowledged me. I was thankful to have met some friendly guests from all different states and enjoyed our conversations. The best thing about this hotel is proximity to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Tiffany S,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at our Fairfield Inn & Suites. We aim to provide friendly, helpful service and are sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations during your visit - our team will discuss your feedback in order to make sure all of our guests know how much we value you. I'd also like to apologize again for the inconvenience with your initial room. If you'd like to discuss anything further, please feel free to reach out to me at the number below. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to have another opportunity in the future to give you a great stay.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed one night on our way through to visit family.

First off, the beds are doubles--not queens--so they're a little small. But our room smelled like wet dog, and even with the loud ac running, we couldn't get the funk out.

Once we went to bed, I realized how old the poly fill pillows were. They had clearly been used for several years before our visit, which is pretty gross.

The staff was great, especially the breakfast staff, but overall, we don't plan to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nenegooseus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Nenegooseus,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at our Fairfield Inn & Suites. While we're happy to hear you found our staff great, we apologize for the aspects that didn't meet your expectations. Keeping a clean environment is one of our biggest goals and we appreciate your feedback to do better in the future. If you'd like to discuss anything further, please reach out to me at the number below. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to have another opportunity in the future to give you a great stay.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hotel was very clean and located off the freeway so no truck noises. It had complimentary wifi and a good breakfast. We did not hear any noises from our neighbors and bed was comfortable. Conveniently located in town next to a grocery store and an Applebees. It was only about a 5 minute drive to the downtown walking street where there are numerous outside restaurants and fantastic people watching.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Dave S,

Thank you for reviewing our Fairfield Inn & Suites; I'm very pleased you had a quiet, comfortable stay and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast! It's also great to hear you were able to get downtown and explore the area a bit. We're grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board; thanks again for your praise and we look forward to your next visit!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed one night recently - the facility and rooms seem nice and clean. Maybe recently redone? My big complaint was the beds - ours was rock hard. Very uncomfortable and I tossed and turned all night. They had a decent breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaDebfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear VirginiaDebfrank,

Thank you for leaving a review of your stay - while I'm glad you found us clean and enjoyed our recently refreshed look, we're sorry to hear your bed did not meet your expectations and we appreciate your feedback as we aim to provide the most comfortable environment we can for our guests. If you'd like to discuss anything further, please reach out to me at the number below. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to have another opportunity in the future to give you a great stay.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
971 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,350 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Address: 577 Branchlands Blvd, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1791
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#10 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Charlottesville hotel is located near the nationally acclaimed University of Virginia Cavaliers in the heart of beautiful Charlottesville, Virginia. We offer free breakfast, free WiFi, fitness center, and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charlottesville North Hotel Charlottesville
Fairfield Charlottesville
Charlottesville Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing