We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre hotel, smells musty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mediocre hotel, smells musty”
Reviewed 14 September 2010

I stayed at the Fairfield from May 2009 to August 2009 and then again from May 2010 to June 2010 before switching to the Marriott Courtyard down the street for a decent corporate rate. This hotel is a good deal if you can get a discount but it's not anything special. The rooms always smell musty and the A/C units are so loud it sounds like you're sleeping on the side of the highway. Most of the time I can't walk barefoot on the floors because they are sticky (ew). Most rooms have a fridge and microwave. The walls are pretty thin so hearing the occasional loud snorer and door slam is normal. The staff and service is so-so. Don't ever leave anything in your room after you check out if you're expect to get it back. They have a lot of employees with sticky fingers. All in all, it's your typical 2 star hotel that's the best deal in the area if you can get it for a discounted rate.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMS1342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    148
    54
    22
    12
See reviews for
110
113
18
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
234 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We have stayed at the Fairfield twice now when bringing our son to UVA. It's your typical Fairfield Inn, but starting to show some wear and tear. OK if you can get the room at a discounted rate.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leom5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

My husband and i stayed at the Fairfield Inn this past weekend while on a trip to do some wine tasting, hiking, visit Monticello, and just relax. It was very centrally located to wineries, Monticello, as well as downtown Charlottesville. it is also right a main road with tons of shopping, restaurants, etc.. The hotel is very clean and the staff is very nice. We also really enjoyed the pool, as well as the continental breakfast which had lots of choices. We were also really pleased that when we needed to leave a day early because i wasn't feeling well (bad cold) we were able to cancel our last night with no fee.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurafifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed here for two nights while vacationing. Upon check-in, we were greeted by Sarah, the evening desk attendant. She was very pleasant and informative about the area restaurants and attractions. The hotel was clean, and in a great location...outside the downtown area but close to wineries, UVA, Monticello and shopping. We were unaware that we were booked during UVA orientation, but despite being busy, the hotel staff remained friendly and quiet. Very good free continental breakfast with hot items, fruit, cereals and muffins.
Don't follow your GPS instructions, they will get you close, but not directly to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassygirlemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

good location, just off Hwy 29. Convenient. Clean and the staff were friendly. Hoped to find something for around $80 but those were right next to the highway. thinking I may need to change my priceline a bit higher (around $100) to get something clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxyAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

The hotel was full for graduation weekend. Everyone was trying to get breakfast at the same time. But somehow this wonderful staff managed to make it all work. Rooms were nice. Nothing special but big, quiet and clean. When I asked for a feather pillow I got it immediately.

Nice stuff for breakfast and staff kept all the various things well stocked. One woman there was just wonderful. She was pleasant and helpful, helping the guests and monitoring the food situation.

Front desk staff juggled questions and requests with a smile.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcdogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Stayed over a Saturday night with my wife and infant. This was my first Fairfield Inn, though I stay at lots of similar hotels; this one was pretty average, with a few annoyances. Water pressure was low, the AC didn't work, and the room was smaller than the Courtyard we stayed at the next night (for less). Also, not the property's fault, but my GPS (a Nuvi 255) directed me to the Babies R Us across the street (via back roads). This wouldn't have been so bad except the hotel was not visible from the road. Next time I stay in Charlottesville, I'll try the Courtyard around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demigrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.4 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville North
Courtyard Charlottesville North
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Address: 577 Branchlands Blvd, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1791
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Charlottesville hotel is located near the nationally acclaimed University of Virginia Cavaliers in the heart of beautiful Charlottesville, Virginia. We offer free breakfast, free WiFi, fitness center, and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Charlottesville North Hotel Charlottesville
Fairfield Charlottesville
Charlottesville Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing