We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay while visiting UVA!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level Contributor
356 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay while visiting UVA!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel is WELL maintained, CLEAN, FRIENDLY STAFF - shout out to Trudy at the front desk who is just so fantastic, and most of all they are welcoming and so helpful. This is well worth the price and it is really a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    310
    100
    22
    11
See reviews for
341
294
57
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This Hampton Inn was exactly what I expected. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was good. Decent location for visiting Charlottesville. Lots of hotels in this area (some newer and nicer), but this Hampton Inn was a great value. The staff was above average.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel from 08.19.2014-08.21.2014 and as always, I had a great visit. I've stayed at this hotel many times and it is the only place I will stay in Charlottesville, VA. The location is great with many nearby attractions and restaurants. Directly behind the hotel there is a Chili's, an easy walk down the street one will find an Outback Steakhouse, and in the shopping center beside the hotel their is a good Chinese restaurant. If you are looking for something to do at night that doesn't involve sitting at a bar (which I love to do) there is an IMAX theater right near the property. Finally, for my fellow record collectors there is an excellent record store right beside the hotel called Plan 9 Music. It always has an excellent selection and excellent prices.

While I would always give this hotel and "Excellent" rating, this trip was very different than other stays. I was traveling with my father for a medical appointment at the University of Virginia and at this time he is confined to a wheelchair. We rented a handicapped accessible room and a room directly beside it with two queen beds. The handicapped accessible room was perfect for my father. Using a sliding board technique he was easily capable of getting in and out of the bed (the bed height is perfect). There was plenty of room to keep the wheelchair beside of his bed. The bathroom was very spacious and had plenty of room for my father to move around. The toilet and shower seat provided was perfect height for him to transfer onto from his wheelchair. The shower in room 118 actually can be rolled into. This hotel is very accessible for those traveling in a wheelchair.

Finally, not enough can be said about how excellent the staff is at this hotel! As my father said when he entered the hotel "It's good to be back home." Anyone staying in this hotel will feel right at home and the staff does everything possible to ensure that they do. Out of a lifetime of travel, I have not met a more friendly and welcoming group of individuals. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Charlottesville, VA.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bull C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I was fortunate enough to be in a close friend's wedding in Charlottesville. A few of us decided to stay in separate rooms at the Hampton Inn, Charlottesville, and we were all surprised and impressed by the level of service provided. The staff here is incredibly warm and welcoming, and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The best benefit of staying in this hotel was the complimentary shuttle service that took us all around Charlottesville for the various wedding events we all had to attend. The hotel rooms were clean, pleasant, and spacious (we had 2 1-bed King rooms). The hotel is about a 10 minute shuttle drive from the main downtown mall, and is close to nearby shopping. A 10/10 experience for us, I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A very nice property located close to the University (<2 miles). Free transportation to UVA and the downtown area. Of course breakfast is on the house with a breakfast bar that has a nice assortment. Rooms are comfortable with down comforters and quality pillows. Hotel staff are very accommodating. They really go the extra mile to ensure you are comfortable and they are always available to assist in travel plans. Located on the fringe of the UVA campus, it is easily accessible without getting tangled in rush hour traffic. There are numerous restaurants in the surrounding shopping district that make this an attractive location. Use of the nearby Gold's Gym is a definite plus.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stay to visit monchello. The rooms were small. The breakfast was good as usual but Tue breakfast area was really small. The location f the elevator was not in a safe place. It was placed between the exterior doors. Anyone could walk in take the elevator. It did not feel secured.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bbgalccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I arrived late to this hotel after a long drive and was greeted in the most lovely way by the receptionist! I don't recall his name, but he was very nice and funny. As I was thirsty I poured myself a glass of lemon water from the pitcher in the lobby and I have to say that it was the best 'lemonade' I ever had! Check in was quick, the room spacious and the bed very comfortable! I slept like a baby. I always stay on a high floor for some peace and staying on the 5th floor of this hotel was perfect. Make sure you have a good GPS as I can see it being a little bit tricky finding this place without it. I wish I had the time to explore Charlottesville as there is apparently a lot to do. Jefferson's Monticello is very close. I definitely recommend this hotel for the friendly staff and restful stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyDi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
861 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
728 reviews
0.6 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
892 reviews
2.2 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlottesville

Property: Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Address: 2035 India Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2854
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlottesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing