We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 21 August 2010

I stay at this hotel once a month when I travel to Charlottesville for a business meeting and highly recommend it! It's truly like "home away from home" for me and it's very convenient. There are numerous shops and restaurants within walking distance and it's only 2 or 3 miles from the historic downtown district. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are excellent. Very comfortable and clean!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotrod_Hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    315
    105
    24
    13
See reviews for
355
301
59
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

In the past 50 days, I have spent 20 nights at 9 different hotels. Most of these have similar features (Comfort Suites, Holiday Inn Express, etc.) as the Hampton Inn and Suites.
Pros: The hotel is located on a main route, yet is off of a side road giving it a more quiet external environment. As other reviewers have noted, easy walking distance to a major shopping area and grocery store. Staff was friendly and helpful. Price was good. Rates go up on the weekends. Hotel was very quiet even though there were several youth baseball teams staying there for a local tournament. As we were at the half way point in our trip, the staff helped us find a laundry mat in the area.
Cons: After staying in so many hotels, I grew picky about bathrooms and counter space. I found the bathroom to be dinky. Not a huge complaint, but I need space to spread out.
Not really a con, but a comment. The hotel has a shuttle that they will only allow to be used for the hospital and airport. I heard several guests ask about shuttle service to Monticello. If you do not have a car, you will have to take a taxi up to Monticello. If you do so, arrange for taxi service to take you down as cell phone reception is limited on the mountain. We took a couple who were stranded back to their hotel near the U of VA. I saw the shuttle sitting there most of the time, so from a customer service perspective, the hotel may want to include Monticello as a shuttle destination (for a small fee).
Overall, we had a very good stay and enjoyed our visit to Charlottesville, VA............

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHROrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2010

As usual we had a good stay at Hampton Inn. The bed was comfy, the room was clean and the compl. breakfast was great. The staff was very friendly.. the only complaint I have was the air conditioner wasn't as cool as we like it... not sure why.. told frontdesk, but it didn't change... but it wasn't too hot.. We just like it very, very cool.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SharonKayDoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesapeake, va
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

I have stayed at Hampton Inn before elsewhere, the rooms look identical. I think all Hampton Inn rooms are on the narrow side compared to other hotels. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast had variety including bacon and western omelets. There were 2 wonderful clerks at the desk-- both at check in and later when I asked them about close places to eat and for directions to Monticello. They were helpful and cheerful. We walked to Cheeseburger in Paradise and to other stores across the street. Getting to Monticello was easy. This is a busy hotel. I don't like that the elevator is outside the double doors because there is no security or ablity for staff to watch for suspicious activity.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrinaalvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleigh nc
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I stay in Hamptons all the time and was let down by this hotel. The guy at check in was rude as I had been gtold I would have a different room when I made the reso, he just said sorry full house....Very crowded breakfast area, not much help on how to tour the town overall not a terrific hampton..

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lauren624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Because the beautiful well-kept "neutrality" of the hotel (good value, pleasant but not over the top in extras and excesses) stayed out of the way of one of the most enjoyable, initimate, lovely, loving evenings and nights anywhere in C'ville. Listen - do NOT get me wrong. I do like high end. I do like hotels loaded up a little more, I do like Dinsmore Inn in C'ville for it's rustic historic and AUTHENTIC charm in spades. What I liked most is how this hotel gave us a quietly surprising respite away from everything else (but it's in C'ville -stay with me here) to detach, not worry about who's in the lobby, where's the room service (we brought our own - wine, cheese, crackers from Foods of All Nations) is the phone going to ring (left cells in cars, unplugged room phone I think) turned on the simple radio, talked, caught up, laughed, loved, slept like the dead yet got NO sleep, and this hotel- it's like a good disguise. It's so Obvious no one notices it. Polite staff, well-kept, a good home base value when you have for example an expensive silly required professional education class nearby but just dont feel like doing the Boar's Head Inn. A great escape from all the nattering heads wanting to talk after your fantastic presentation at UVA/ Boar's Head/ the reception at Farmington/that special fundraiser that always goes on too dang long in the dome at Monticello after hours. Trust me, you know who I am talking to. You WANT to STAY HERE.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Very friendly staff, even got a courtesy call an hour after check-in to make sure we liked the room and had everything we needed. Paid a fair price for the room, and the AAA discount made it even better. The room was well-kept and very comfortable, although not much in the way of a view. Perfect hotel for a business trip or a quick stay in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
904 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
929 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
713 reviews
0.6 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlottesville

Property: Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Address: 2035 India Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2854
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlottesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing