We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay property, but shaky front desk operation and poor value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Laurinburg, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Okay property, but shaky front desk operation and poor value”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stay in many Hampton Inns throughout the eastern half of the USA, including small town and big city properties, and in the bustling college town where our own children go to school, but the value received for what we paid for this room on U.Va. Parents' Weekend was without a doubt the poorest value we have ever received at a Hampton Inn. Modifying our original reservation was a nightmare, and once we finally got to the hotel, the first clerk could not locate the reservation and gave us that "who the heck are you?" attitude. Apparently there was some sort of disconnect between this property and the Hampton Inn website, because when our plans changed and we needed to modify the reservation, it took an Act of Congress involving two long phone calls to make what should have been a simple online change. If I'm ever back in Charlottesville for a football game or whatever, I'm definitely going to exhaust all other possibilities before going back to this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    205
    50
    10
    6
See reviews for
296
178
51
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Overall, the property is very nice, close to everything and very clean with an extensive breakfast selection.
The front desk clerk, although not terribly friendly, was efficient and was gracious enough to give us an early check in since our plans had changed. Unfortunately, we were given the one room that's practically in the lobby. It was across from the lobby restrooms, maintenance office, and still had the lobby tile floor outside it (which sounded great all night and morning long when suitcases were rolled across it). I'm not even sure why a hotel would have a room there. I used my loyalty points (which is probably why we got it), which certainly didn't make me feel like my loyalty was being rewarded in any way.

Room Tip: DO NOT accept room 123 unless you're an already drunk college student.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

The location of the Hampton is very convenient to downtown, the University of Virginia, and Monticello. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was delicious with a great variety of foods. The room was clean and comfortable. Everything you expect from a Hampton Inn. If you are in the Charlottesville area this is the place to stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DHG309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Located smack between the university and the pedestrian mall area (about 10min walk either way) this is a great location when visiting Charlottesville. Room and common areas clean. Friendly service. Hard to find anything healthy on the breakfast buffet. Completely fine stay, but nothing outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARL2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The breakfast was standard Hampton Inn fare, but everything else about this hotel was much nicer than other Hamptons. Because of my Hilton status we were upgraded to a suite and it was huge! Living room, full kitchen with dining area, separate bedroom - if you are visiting a child at UVa, this would be perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTMomCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is first class. We had a king size bed, nice stuffed chair, good business desk. I have my standard concern - room sleeps 2, seats only 1. But that's standard for the industry. My real complaint is the glasses. Top class hotel, paper cups to drink from. They are advertised as green, but I'd suspect that washable glass would be as green, and more appropriate for the hotel class.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank charles819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

During a recent trip to Charlottesville, my husband and I stayed here and we were really delighted with every aspect of our stay. The hotel is situated perfectly between the downtown area and UVA. Perfect walking distance to both, with plenty of options for food and shopping along the way. Our room was super spacious and cozy, and very clean.
Also, all of the employees we encountered, from the front desk to housekeeping, were very friendly, warm, and inviting. These folks either take customer service very seriously, or they're just super happy, pleasant people! Either way, they know how to make guests feel welcome. :)

We will definitely stay here if we're in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sardawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.6 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,716 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
892 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
294 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
912 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Address: 900 W Main St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-2847
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charlottesville - At The University Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing