We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and a Really Nice Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I am a huge fan and regular patron of the Hampton Inn brand and really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. My family of four stayed here for a visit to UVA and Charlottesville. This hotel is very clean, quiet and very comfortable! The location is perfect as it is on the edge of the UVA campus (10 minute walk to the Rotunda) and right on the edge of town (5 to 15 minute walk to great restaurants). The hotel also has a free shuttle to take you places, plus it sits on the free city trolley line! Our suite at the hotel was very clean and comfortable, as was the whole hotel. The breakfast area was very clean and there is plenty of seating. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and had good variety! My family of four was very happy! The hotel staff was very helpful and made some great recommendations for restaurants. I will definitely stay here again on my return to Charlottesville!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

I missed the friendly staff although they were competent I was hoping for a little more "love" from them. Upon check-in while there were two staff there, one didn't work with the line of customers waiting to check in and the other was changing several reservations from the gentlemen in front of me for various future dates. We were tired and just wanted to get to our room. Had a 2 queen suite on the 5th floor. Quiet room location except it was in the back of the hotel. If you are a light sleeper do not stay in the back as there are train tracks right behind the hotel with trains running all night. At 5a a delivery truck backed into the hotel and of course you could hear the beeping of the truck which woke us up as well. Room has those smushy, feather pillows that who on earth could sleep on. Free breakfast was "ok", fruit not fresh at all but for the price (i.e., free) you cannot complain. Would I stay here again? Probably not as it is not convenient to historic downtown Charlottesville, quite a walk and the free trolley was a nightmare.

Room Tip: Caution: train tracks right behind hotel. If you are light sleeper, stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was a remarkably nice Hampton Inn. The service was outstanding, and the rooms were very nicely appointed. Bed and pillows were awesome!.........best sleep I've had in some time.

We weren't really within walking distance of the main part of the university, but we were close to and within walking distance of several restaurants. (Maya is really good!) The hotel also provides a free shuttle to and from the downtown area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Li C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Fantastic staff. Ready to assist with any concerns or needs. Room is comfortable and clean. The hotel is easy walk to the University of Virginia and the UofVa hospital. Shuttle service is available for short trips to the downtown area and if it is apart of your travel plans the hotel can provide a shuttle to Monticelllo.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank 519maggiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed at this property while my husband was a patient at the hospital for 4 nights. The entire staff was professional, courteous, helpful and polite. I require a roll in shower and the handicap accessible rooms worked wonderfully for me. Parking is easy and the location from the hospital is terrific. The breakfast was good and a nice bonus. The entire hotel is spotless. Many thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 130 is a suite, would be great for small family or extended stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank imlgmd2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Excellent location, staff, accommodating to every need. Have stayed in many Hampton Inn's, and would rank this one right up there. Location near the university, and decent walking distance to locations was a plus

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great service at this hotel. A big Thankq to Matt from the Front Desk for helping to book a cab when our connecting flight to DC was cancelled. It was also at a reasonable rate. Besides the great service, this hotel also provides a good spread at the morning breakfast. My colleagues and I enjoyed the daily breakfast and the coffee to keep us going.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KG S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
975 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,049 reviews
0.6 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#3 of 35 in Charlottesville
785 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
974 reviews
5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University

Address: 900 W Main St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-2847
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £106 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charlottesville - At The University Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Hotel Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing